2015 Noel

Anybody else have a hard time saying goodbye to Christmas? Me too. In fact, I suggested to Terry that we wait until late January to put up our Christmas tree. It’s so festive and I think our dining room really benefits from it. Terry says he will give me until the end of the week…

The last few days were spent with people I love dearly. On Wednesday, I spent the day with my three best friends since childhood. We ate lunch at Groucho’s, which is right next to Baskin Robbins. With all the mint chocolate love everywhere, my first love was calling my name: mint chocolate chip ice cream. So dang good.

friends1

We had a great time catching up and exchanging gifts. Funny enough two of them both gave me a recipe card box. Apparently we know each other too well. Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Christmas eve was spent with my Dad’s side, which involves lots of cousins.

cousins

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

My biggest accomplishment was making overnight cinnamon rolls from scratch for Christmas breakfast. Oddly when I was making them I had to add almost a whole extra cup of flour to get the dough to the right consistency. It was a very humid day!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

You don’t even know how excited I was to wake up in the a.m. and see how big they grew. Yeast is the coolest thing… at least the kind you put in bread.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We enjoyed our sweet with a savory egg white sausage casserole. I am going to share the recipe tomorrow. Terry was really impressed with it and I was relieved it all meshed together so nicely! Since there was just the two of us, we had plenty of leftovers (not mad about that).

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

After gift giving and breakfasting, we headed down to see our families.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

My sweet niece Abbi looked adorable in her Christmas get up. One of my favorite parts of the day was taking her outside to try out her new bike. It is kind of funny to see someone try to ride a bike for the first time- mostly because you know that in no time they will be zooming around!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I spent the evening with my parents and siblings, eating yummy foods and wrapping the night up with a little game of Apples to Apples. Mom kicked our butts.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

On our way out of town we grabbed Chipotle (I’ve missed it!) and walked through the Fresh Market with my friend Rachel.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I ended my Saturday evening by finishing, The Art of Racing in the Rain. I saw it on Meghan‘s Instagram and it peaked my interest. It was a really fun read, but it was totally a heart tugging kind of book. It’s told from the point of view of a dog, so I have to admit it gave me a new appreciation for my pup, Jules. Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Sunday we got some news that brought some uncertainty into our lives. While part of me wants to freak out, it is hard to do so after having a weekend like this one. Knowing that I have a supportive and loving family and friend group, there is little room for worrying. Knowing how BIG my God is gives me little room to freak out. Uncertainty is a weird place to sit, but it doesn’t have to steal my focus and attention. I love this quote by Maya Angelou: “You may not control all the events that happen to you, but you can decide not to be reduced by them.

Anyways, I have some fun blog posts planned for this week, so check back tomorrow for a yummy recipe!

Tell me…

Favorite gift received or given?

How did you relax on Christmas/post-Christmas?

17 thoughts on “2015 Noel

  1. Lovely post! I thoroughly enjoyed your photos and recap of your holiday celebration. I’m feeling the same as I just did a mental recap of the last few days with my family and close friends. Hope your family is doing well and dealing with the news in the same positive way you are. Best wishes

  2. Looks like some wonderful memories were created. I was actually just about to try overnight cinnamon buns, but chose to go with something else. Yours look incredible so they will stay at the top of my list of things to try. Apples to Apples is just the best family game – a total favorite in my household. What a wonderful memory for both you and your niece to share her first riding experience. Isn’t it nuts to think about learning to ride a bike? Its so foreign when you start, but then it is just engrained in you for life.

    1. You definitely want to try the rolls! Surprisingly easy?
      “Family game” is the perfect way to describe Apples to Apples. It’s so much more fun when everyone knows each other so well.

  3. Aw so much togetherness and JOY 🙂 Your Christmas morning spread looks amazing! I am 100% amazed by the rising process too. Every single time haha. I really enjoyed that book also – such a unique perspective to write a whole novel in.The Maya Angelou quote is beautiful and good for you for declaring that whatever uncertainty you’re going through does not have to have power over you.

    1. The rising is insane?!
      Yay, I’m glad you read the book too! It was such a fun one.
      Thanks for your kind words. I am doing my best to stay postive and that helps a lot.

  4. We love apples to apples!! It’s such a fun game! And I made homemade cinnamon rolls for Christmas morning too! It’s such a fun tradition!
    I’m glad you had such a lovely time to with your family. And your wrapping paper is the best!
    I’m sorry that your dealing with some uncertainty right now. It can be such a scary thing, but faith will see you though! Thoughts, prayers, and love your way!!!

  5. The one thing that stood out to me through this post was how very happy you look in every picture. Probably odd to say but it’s appartent you really enjoyed the time with loved ones and relaxation after the past stressful weeks. A break you well deserve.
    Apples to apples? I’ve never heard of that game but have to look it up if it’s a good one for a family get-together. We sadly don’t play often enough.
    Whatever news you got bringing uncertainty into your life: I hope everything will fall into place again soon.

    1. It was such a relaxing and happy time, I’m so glad I was able to convey that through this post.
      Apples to Apples is a funny game! It is great to play with a group of people you know really well.
      I appreciate your kindness- I have a lot of hope.

  6. Wow, the cinnamon rolls look so amazing, good job!! It looks like you spent an awesome Christmas, I hope that everything is okay with the news you got, stay strong, I will be thinking of you! 🙂

Leave a comment