Nashville eats (WIAW)

Helloooo, I’m alive! 

I was in Nashville visiting some of my friends the past couple days, so I decided to let the blogging world go on without me for a few days. While I fully intend to catch up my usual reads, it was nice to be in the zone spending time with friends. This next week is my last week finishing up everything school related- three tests and one paper! I am so close to that graduate degree. 

I had such a great time in Nashville and enjoyed a lot of good eats. Today I am sharing all the goodies from Monday. As you may see I was in vacation mode, fully enjoying it all. Nashville is my favorite place to vacation, because who I consider to be my “soul sisters” live there. Plus my brother while he’s in college. I’d love to live there one day. Look forward to a more detailed post about my trip soon!

The morning began with a simple breakfast, much different than my usual breakfasts.

Breakfast: potato skins with butter (leftover from a recipe I made for dinner the night before), two scrambled eggs, and some diced pineapple. Coffee of course.

Later in the morning I had a spoonful of peanut butter.

For lunch we went to Sloco, a restaurant I learned about from watching Chopped. The owner was on one of the episodes and I told Terry that if he won, we would have to go when we were there. What do you know? He won! 

Lunch: Vegan meatball sub (meatballs made from quinoa with Daiya cheese) plus a few salt & vinegar kettle chips.

I was so happy that the owner himself was there. Very cool meeting him! I loved that they had large jars for water. We made a toast to being together. 

After walking around the area near Sloco, Rachel suggested we try out a popular popsicle place, Los Paletas. I opted for the pistachio flavored one. It was so refreshing on a warm day!

Don’t think dessert stopped there. My friend Anna is the shopkeeper for one of the Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream stores in Nashville. I couldn’t not stop by her shop to see her while I was there. After sampling several of them, I settled for the darkest chocolate and espresso flavors. Seriously the best ice cream ever.

(I like to eat ice cream with the sample spoon so I can savor it for longer!)

Dinner was later that night after hunger (somewhat) struck again. We opted for Moe’s (burritos for $5 on Monday’s!). I was in the mood for all the veggies!

Dinner: burrito bowl with light rice, chicken, corn, pico, salsa, guacamole, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, onions, southwest slaw, and three different salsas. I didn’t eat the jalapenos because one of the salsas was literal fire in my mouth. 

Post-dinner activities included lounging around and playing word games. I snacked on one Paige’s Graze box surprises. Checking out all her good looking snacks made me want to try Graze out again! (sorry for the terrible picture)


Looking over this day of eats, I have to tell you- I am so happy to live a life without food rules or restrictions. Do I eat two desserts everyday? No. Then again, how often do I get the opportunity have two special desserts in one day? Acknowleding special occassions is just one step in appreciating them. Remind yourself, “wow, I hardly to get to spend time with these friends, I’m going to be present for every moment. I am going to taste and feel every bit of it.” (Bonus points if it tastes like chocolate 😉 )

You tell me- 

Favorite place to vacation?

Do you like to try restaurants that are featured on the Food Network?

 

42 thoughts on “Nashville eats (WIAW)

  1. I need a moment to process this… Woah, omg, WOAH. This is actually my perfect definition of a day of eats haha ;). If I were eating the ice cream on that sample spoon, Id be piling on the most ridiculous amount for the size of the spoon (no control at all). Everything is awesome about this post and it is so cool that you got to enjoy a weekend away amidst all the craziness 🙂

  2. A place that only sells popsicles?? Magical! I think ice cream is one of those things I could have 5 times in a day and still want more.

    I think I’ve only tried one place that was featured on the food network (it was actually a food truck) but then again I don’t really watch TFN much anymore. I’m sure I’ve been places that have been and I just don’t even know!

    1. Yes, they only sell popsicles! Isn’t that weird? But it was so good! I agree about ice cream, it just makes me want more! Though I will say this ice cream was especially rich, so I felt satisfied!

  3. I’ve been to Nashville many times, but never tried Jeni’s! That chocolate/espresso combo sounds amazing!
    I’m glad you had the opportunity to visit and fully enjoy time with your friends!

  4. Yay I’m so glad you got a few days away and with friends during this busy time! Your ice cream order is mine to the ‘T.’ And I’m definitely stealing your small spoon strategy.
    I have a secret buckletlist goal to do a road trip of the states trying every food truck I’ve ever seen on the food network / the show Eat Street. Lofty, but I’m up for the challenge.

  5. Wow what incredible eats!! I would love to visit Nashville. I’m such a country girl and there is so much history there! And that ice cream…holy drool fest girl.

  6. Nashville has always been one of those places I’d love to visit. I have been to a couple restaurants featured on the food network. I like to try the restaurants on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. There are a lot of them in the Buffalo area which is where I grew up.
    I hope you have a restful week!

  7. Yes! Life without food rules and restrictions is so much sweeter, sometimes literally. All of this looked so good and I think you may be onto something with potato skins for breakfast!

  8. I tried out graze a long time ago, when they were still very new and you needed a referral to join, but I think I need to give it another shot. I had a bunch of comments for this, but then I got distracted by your using the sample spoon!!! I do that with EVERYTHING and it drives Alex crazy. Like I’ll eat with Ryan’s baby spoons.

  9. 2 desserts in one day on vacation sounds a-okay to me! I’ve heard so much about Jeni’s but haven’t tried it yet- I’ll have to soon because their flavors sound incredible.I think I would’ve ordered exactly what you did 🙂

Leave a Reply

