Rambling & meals (WIAW)

Hello friends!

How is life? My brain is a million places right now. Good things are happening, but my plate is full! I’m trying to soak it in, but in all honestly my mind is on graduation! I had a hard time putting together this post- concentrating is tough, haha. It’s Wednesday, so today I am sharing my eats from this past Saturday. Be sure to check out the link-up party for more deliciousness.

Breakfast: oatmeal pancake (1/3 cup oats + 1 egg + 2 tbsp Greek yogurt + 1/4 tsp baking powder), sunflower butter, piece of 85% dark chocolate, 2 cups of coffee.

I live in a breakfast rut! Not that I mind… no matter how many times I eat some combination of oats and nut butter, I find it to-die-for-delicious. When I see smoothie bowls, yogurt concoctions, and scrambled eggs, I am tempted to try having something different, but my taste buds long for routine in the morning.

Later in the morning, I had an orange for a snack.

Lunch: 2 fried eggs over veggie hash (carrots, zucchini, onions, lots of spices) plus two slices wheat toast

Maybe this is why I don’t have eggs for breakfast, I love them for lunch or dinner. This was a slam dunk meal, very reminiscent of my favorite meal in town at The Yolk. The bread was the perfect companion for this meal.

Snack: banana with chocolate hazelnut butter and peanut butter. Unpictured handful of wheat thins.

If you can’t decide what nut butter to have… have them both!

Dinner: cheddar turkey burger over spinach with leftover veggie hash. Baked fries (best eat of the day!) plus the usual condiments.

Have I told you how much I love potatoes? I could eat potatoes like this everyday. All they need is a teensy bit of oil and salt, garlic, and paprika. Plus, look how many fries one potato will make!

Dessert: raspberry cheesecake gelato in a cake cone

I bought the gelato at Aldi’s on a whim, but boy was I happy with my purchase! This stuff has just the right amount of cheesecake flavor. I had trouble not eating too much of it before I could even put it in the cone! Yes, I love cake cones. There is something about their styrofoam-ness that I actually really love. I enjoyed this while watching the new Chopped episodes Netflix just added. Sad to report I’ve already watched them all :(.

So you tell me:

Do you switch up your breakfast often?

Are you a Chopped fan?

Favorite way to eat potatoes?

 

 

50 thoughts on “Rambling & meals (WIAW)

  1. Drool. Your eats look extra salivating today. That cheddar turkey burger and hash and fries… Oh ya I’ve got a potato craving now.
    I haven’t had one of those cones in ages! I totally remember their styro foam – ness!

  2. I am totally on board with having eggs for lunch or dinner which is probably why I don’t eat them more for breakfast. I love my oatmeal and nutbutter for breakfast too. Now, I need to go get cones – memories from my childhood – I always used to have cones on hand! I love chopped. Have you seen Masterchef Junior? It’s my new favorite – I learn so much from those kids!

  3. Well, when I found my favorite breakfast I can eat it forever. I ate two eggs with toast for 2 months in a row once. #sorryiamnotsorry Now I all about eggs with bacon in the morning.

  4. Yum!!! I am totally obsessed with baked sweet potato fries too and am always amazed at how much one potato makes! I pretty much eat the same 3 things on rotation for breakfast too–too delicious to stop! oh man you’re done chopped?! I’m almost done! Did you see the teen tournament? So intense!

  5. I switch up the flavor of my breakfast, but it is generally the same thing. Some version of mashed bananas and flour/protein powder topped with nuts or nut butter. My favorite was to eat potatoes is in latke form. I love that Passover is happening soon because my job is Jewish owned so they always have all the Passover staples. I agree with you on the “if you can’t decide, have both” Once I topped walnuts in peanut butter hahahahahhahahahahahhah that was a long day….

  6. Do you switch up your breakfast often?
    In a sense, yes! It’s always oatmeal, some sort of fruit, nut butter (always!) and usually yogurt is involved as well. A warm, sweet, and nutty bowl of oatmeal never bores me, but I like switching it up with pancakes as well (still with nut butter and fruit!).

    Favorite way to eat potatoes?
    I like scalloped potatoes with lots of cheese and a slightly crispy topping! Or in the form of gnocchi. So yummy!

  7. Mm… There’s so many egg hashes this morning on the ‘What I Ate Wednesdays.’ My favorite way to eat potatoes is probably… mashed potatoes or ‘home fries.’ I’m totally a breakfast rut person, but when we run out of what I usually eat, it makes me do something else. I love a bowl of yogurt with toppings for breakfast.

  8. I’m the same way with breakfast!! I love looking at other people’s toast creations and smoothie bowls, but I’m a creature of habit. It’s either oatmeal with egg whites and PB, or eggs and fruit.

  9. People look at me like I’m insane when I say this, but I am actually not a big fan of white potatoes although I will tend to go for thin french fries when I do what some kind of potato. I am a sweet potato aficionado at heart though. The baked fries you had for dinner do look pretty good, I must admit.

  10. I’m late to the party today!!! My body craves routine as well. The pancake will be my forever favorite, but sometimes I change up the look of it by microwaving it. #lazy
    Roasted potatoes are so, so good, but I haven’t made fries in forever. Thanks for the reminder!
    I hope you are having a fabulous Wednesday!

  11. My breakfast every day is oatmeal with pb, cinnamon and banana. Sometimes I feel weird about eating the same thing every day, but I know that it’s guaranteed to fuel me up, and it’s always delicious.

  12. Ah, you’re this close to the finish line – exciting! I just saw your other post and need to read it.
    Overlooking the turkey burger for obvious reasons 😉 I want your dinner. It looks so good. I should really make baked fries again sometime. My issue with them is that I find potatoes don’t fill me up like, say, cooked grains. It’s a pity because I do like their taste – especially when all creamy and mashed.

  13. I go through these phases with breakfast–each one lasts about three months. Waffles with peanut butter, oatmeal with peanut butter, eggs with toast, and now it’s eggs with sweet potato “home fries”. Other than these four meals I don’t think I ever eat anything else for breakfast!

  14. I like eggs for lunch better too!! I typically have the same 3 breakfasts just for time reasons, and my favorite ways to eat potatoes are baked, or made into fries!

  15. 1. I can’t do the same breakfast in a row! I’m odd in that way hehe
    2. YES. I probably watch Chopped too much if that’s even possible. Do you watch any other Food Network shows? Iron Chef America is on Netflix too!
    3. I like my potatoes sweet 😉

    Yay for graduation! Hope your week is going swell. ☺️

  16. I am forever in a breakfast rut too! I have my occasional oatmeal bakes, but more often then not I am eating a pancake or just plain old toast.
    That supper you made… omg. Your potatoes look so restaurant-worthy! I wanna slam my face into that plate, if that doesn’t sound too dramatic haha :p

    1. Toast is something I forget but it is so satisfying! i love it for snacks.
      Can I just say how I feel like you are food soul mate? I feel your enthusiasm for food and I totally vibe! 😉

  17. I love having eggs for lunch or dinner! When I was little and we would have “breakfast for dinner” I thought it was the coolest thing-now it’s routine!

Leave a Reply

