Spanish Rice

Hello friends!

Thank you all for your sweet birthday wishes for Terry. He had a great day!

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

Have you guys been enjoying warmer weather? I’ve been getting outside everyday. Thanks to podcasts + beautiful weather, I am daily lacing up my shoes to go running (gasp). I am taking the whole running thing very casually, because I want to love it and not feel like it’s a burden. So far, so good, but I’m not making any promises.

Flat Easton has been enjoying the warmer weather too…

Who is Flat Easton? He is a traveling paper boy. My nephew is doing a school project that involves sending Flat Easton to someone so he can go on adventures. I took pictures of him in a few places and will be writing a few notes for him too! I think this is the cutest activity. It is based off this book (link!).

Now, for  I have an incredibly easy recipe for you today. Spanish Rice. 

Rice is one of those humble ingredients that makes the perfect canvas. When I was a child, my very favorite food was rice with stewed tomatoes on top. My mom said I requested it so often that at one point I even broke out in a rash from eating so many tomatoes.

I still love rice and tomatoes, but now I prefer a little more than a pinch of sugar in my tomatoes. I am so glad that I wrote down the recipe for this rice recipe, because the spice level is perfect.The recipe is very versatile. I’ve used it in several dishes-

img_0134
Runny egg, rice, and stir-fried cabbage

 

Buffalo chicken burgers + steamed veggies + rice

This makes great leftovers, but I won’t lie. It is SO good fresh. Fresh out of the pan, it really brings an average meal up a level. The cumin add as a unique flavor, the chili powder gives it oomph, and the garlic makes it the ultimate savory dish.

[Speaking of meals, I love seeing meals that hit all three macronutrients: fat, protein, and carbohydrates. Too often I see meals that leave off carbohydrates completely. Yes, I know broccoli and spinach have carbs, but I’m talking about the substantial carbs- rice, potatoes, farro, whole grain noodles, beans, lentils, and breads. Carbohydrates are the brain’s favorite source of fuel, and your body needs those carbohydrates to help you utilize fat and protein. The recommended carbohydrate intake is 45-65% of total calorie intake. This means a minimum 225 g of carbohydrates on a 2,000 calorie diet. So yes, enjoy your carbs. Like this rice!]

Add in chicken sausage or ground turkey or black beans for a full meal! And a sprinkle of cheese while you’re at it.

Spanish Rice

Ingredients: 
1 cup uncooked rice (I prefer white rice here for it’s fluffiness, but brown would work great too!)
2 tsp canola oil
1 medium onion, diced
2 tsp minced garlic
15 oz can diced tomatoes, no salt added,
1/2 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp salt
Directions:
Cook rice according to package. (This would be a great thing to do during meal prep, if you do that!)
After rice is done cooking, saute diced onion and minced garlic with 2 tsp oil in a pan on medium-heat until onions are clear.
Add rice and can of tomatoes to the pan, mixing well. Add in the spices. Let simmer until most of the tomato juice is absorbed.

 

So you tell me- 

What is your favorite way to use rice?

What is your favorite carbohydrate? I love my spuds!

24 thoughts on “Spanish Rice

  1. I always see spanish rice in those boxed/processed quick meal things – and everytime I almost buy one. I’m glad to see its super easy to make – and looks delicious! Especially with that egg. I can definitely see how rice and tomatoes would be a childhood favorite.

  2. This looks like a great recipe and I will definitely try it out! I think my favorite carbohydrate currently is sweet potatoes 🙂 but you can never go wrong with some good bread!

  3. Yum this looks great Kate. I think my favorite way to use rice with just with cheese 😛 Cheesy rice will always be a comfort food. I’d have to say my favorite carb is bananas. I am a sweets girl (working on that…) and I could live off bananas. I’m glad Terry had a great birthday

  4. My favorite carbs are usually sweet potatoes. I feel like I could eat my body weight in those.
    This rice dish sounds delicious and so versatile! Pinning for later!

  5. Amazing! This is saved to my favourites. 🙂 I’ve been drooling over it in the last couple of your posts and now I can finally buy these ingredients and enjoy the deliciousness for myself – muahahaha.
    My favourite carbs are oats in any form, sweet potatoes, and any kind of quick bread (muffins, zucchini bread, etc.).

  6. Ouh, this looks so good! I loveee these types of rices so much, kind of like Mexican rice.
    By the way, could you send some of that warmth over here?!? I have NOT been lacing up my shoelaces and enjoying the outdoors haha, it’s coming though, I am just so fed up with the cold!

  7. If I skip carbs at a meal I end up eating EVERYTHING in sight afterwards. Need me my carbs! My favorite one? I do love potatoes but I would be lying if I didn’t say some good quality grainy bread. I don’t care if it’s not the best for you–it’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

