Happy birthday, Terry

Hey Terry,

It’s Saturday at 4 pm. Tomorrow is your birthday. Right now you are mowing the lawn. Or weed eating. You are good at those things. You are also very good at ironing clothes, being on time, thinking before you speak, folding the laundry, making the floor look sparkly, keeping secrets, explaining football, and making our dog feel loved.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

How blessed am I that you are my person? For you 25th birthday, I thought I’d tell you 25 nice things about you (in case you didn’t know already).

  1. You are the most dependable soul I know. No matter what, you will be there.
  2. I’m in awe of your ability to never say mean things about people, even when they hurt you.
  3. You have really beautiful skin. I hope that’s a dominant trait for our kids’ sake.
  4.  The times when I wake up and coffee is already brewing because you set it up the night before or when I get home from a hectic day at school and there are no dishes in the sink, I realize I have the best roommate a girl could ask for.
  5. Somehow you’ve turned me into a dog person. Now I want to hug every dog I see.
  6. Even though I know you don’t love school, I admire your perseverance in completing all your classes. Online classes are the worst, but somehow you manage!
  7. You’ve got amazing musical talent. I turn back into the 16 year old girl you first met whenever I hear you play & sing.
    unnamed (2)
  8. I love how much you love Jesus.
  9. You are our dog’s biggest supporter. I think it’s funny how you take the blame for anything she does. And how you’ll get on the dirty floor to cuddle with her.
  10. Thank you for all the coffees, forgotten clothes, tylenol, etc you’ve brought to me at work.
    IMG_2976
  11. Your laugh is infectious. Even your fake one.
  12. Thanks for being so cool when I have people over for dinner and thanks for helping to make the house look descent.
  13. You are my reminder to relax (and often)! I’ve never gone through series of TV shows so quick in my life. I’ve never ordered extra cheese on a pizza.
  14. Even though I see myself as pretty average, you make me feel really special. And beautiful. And smart.
  15. I believe in the work you are doing with the youth. I am here to support you through it all. I am so glad to be married to a man who followed the call of God.
  16. Our road trips are my favorite. I like how we can sometime talk, sometimes sing, and sometimes you just let me sleep.
    unnamed (12)
  17. If there’s any proof to the saying “you know how a man will treat you by the way he treats his mother”, you are it. Your mom and I both got off good.
  18. You’re really good looking. Sometimes I’m shallow and can’t help but think I am pretty dang lucky to have such a hot husband.
    hhi
  19. I love hearing your opinions on different topics. You help me to see the other side many times.
  20. Though I may roll my eyes, I am glad you still have a bit of a kid heart. I love your goofy voices and they way you make kids laugh.
  21. You are the ISFP to e ENTJ.
  22. You rocked my world by introducing me to Star Wars. I never thought I could feel the same excitement I had when I was caught up in Harry Potter.
  23. I love that you are an adventurous eater. Makes my foodie heart sing! Trying new places with you is one of my favorite things to do.  
  24. You are probably right, you could be a comedian.
  25. Thank for your big heart and soft love. I owe so much of who I am to you.

I could go on, but you’re only turning 25. I hope it’s your best year yet.

XOXO,

Kat(i)e

35 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Terry

  1. Adorable, you guys! Happy birthday Mr. Domestikated Life! Terry looks like such a wonderful person, like you 🙂 Hope his 25th revolution around the sun is totally awesome.

  2. Thank you commenters! 😁

    Thank you Katie for being my best friend and my biggest supporter. You always keep me from giving up even when that’s desirable. Thank you for always reminding me why I do what I do.

    I love my life with you in it. You have made the last seven years of my life the richest.

    I love you so so much, Newman. 😘

  3. This is so sweet, Kate!
    Sounds like you are incredibly lucky to have Terry, and he is lucky to have you.
    (For the record, my husband is awesome at ironing, too!) 😉
    Happy birthday, Terry!

  4. Happy belated birthday, Terry! From what Kate wrote about you she really got off very well having you in your life – and that’s definitely not just appearance-based. Both of you are such kind and wonderful people. I hope you had a fabulous day!

  5. Happy birthday to Terry! You two are the sweetest. Also, you guys look like babies in that first picture! I swear, I look at pictures from just 2 or 3 years ago and I’m like, dang I was young! I hope you guys have a wonderful time celebrating Terry’s day!

  6. So sweet! 🙂 Young married christian couples unite!! haha 😀 Hope Terry had a wonderful birthday!
    (PS You inspired me to make baked oatmeal for this weeks breakfasts! I did pumpkin chocolate chip its so good!)

Leave a Reply

