What I was thinking (WIAW)

How you know it’s going to be a hard week:

unnamed (6)

Even though I am an avid diet soda drinker, I rarely buy it to be in the house. This week, however I faced the cold hard reality of week’s exams, projects, and to-do lists and bought them. I also never buy frozen meal foods and packaged granola bars because they to increase my grocery bill and often have unnecessary ingredients. Usually I believe homemade is better. This week, however, I am giving myself a break. Bring on the cardboard.

I am sharing my eats from Monday with a side of my thoughts.

Breakfast: pumpkin cranberry baked oatmeal that I made on Saturday morning. Topped with peanut butter and then placed into the toaster for melty goodness. Coffee & dark chocolate as usual.

unnamed (8)

What I was thinkingbreakfast is SO dang easy when I make baked oatmeal ahead of time. Thank you past self.

Snack: Popcorn trail mix with popcorn, raisins, peanuts, and sunflower seeds.

unnamed (11)

What I was thinking: I’m glad I finally realized that I need to bring a big enough snack to tide me over to lunch.

Lunch: Yogurt bowl with plain Greek yogurt, unsweetened coconut flakes, ground flax seed, a super sweet kiwi, and honey nut cheerios.

unnamed (12)

What I was thinking: This is what you get when you don’t food prep. But hey, this kiwi is juuuust right. I just wish I had another one!

Snack: Chick-fil-a’s Frosted Coffee (iced coffee + ice cream)

unnamed (9)

What I was thinking: how convenient that terry needed me to take him to the car shop on the same side of town as Chickfila? I was craving this all day. But WHY CHICKFILA IS THIS A LIMITED TIME ITEM?

Dinner: (failed) turkey cabbage roll casserole. This had ground turkey, an egg, onions, cabbage, carrots, and celery wrapped in cabbage leaves topped with a tomato sauce.

unnamed (13)

What I was thinking: okay so this didn’t turn out quite as expected. Wow, it’s incredibly meaty. But I love all these veggies!

PS I also had a spoonful of homemade peanut butter and a diet coke. A three hour online class is hard. (Zzzz).

Snack: Cream cheese toast with a side 3rd Rock From the Sun.

unnamed (14)

What I was thinking: this is kind of like a bagel. The cream cheese to toast ratio is perfect. Hahaha, this show is freaking funny.

And bed time!

So you tell me…

Have you tried the new frosted coffee?

What’s your favorite casserole?

What did you have for lunch yesterday? I could always use more ideas!

 

40 thoughts on “What I was thinking (WIAW)

  1. I LOVE this Kate, because it’s so real. I love packaged food when there is no time… There’s quite a bit of packaged food out there that has really quality ingredients. And I have to remind myself that the biggest thing is thankfulness. Am I thankful? Sometimes I’m more thankful for a packaged candy bar than a salad.

  2. I had rice with beans for lunch yesterday. It is simply meal but always leave me full and happy 😉 Beans was cooked already so it was ridiculosly easy to mix everything.

  3. I haven’t tried the frosted coffee but it looks incredible! For lunch yesterday, I had a turkey sandwich with cheese and thought, “Why don’t I make this more often?” I love sandwiches!

  4. I eat soooo many granola bars. I really want to cut down. What’s your favorite granola bar recipe?

    Also, we don’t have chic-fil-a’s up here. What exactly is a frosted coffee? I’m intrigued.

    1. I really like the soft and chewy protein bars from running wth spoons! I just hate buying them because they are usually pricey!
      The frosted coffee is just iced coffee blended with vanilla ice cream. It is soooo good!

  5. Today for lunch i packed a repetition of my breakfast. That is what happens with no food prep nor the energy to make anything nor any cravings for vegetables. But I’m sure I will be thinking “damn I love breakfast.” Your lunch looks perfect to me. And there’s nothing wrong with a decapitated casserole… Everything’s better mixed together anyways.

    1. Breakfast is so good and sometimes I don’t want raw veggies! So I respect that. 😉
      Lol I love that you called it a decapitated casserole. I literally laughed out loud!

  6. There is no shame in packaged foods once and a while! I hope they help to make your week less stressful!!
    I have not had Chickfilas new frosted coffee!! That looks amazing!!!

  7. I’m with you on the diet Coke – I am a total junkie, but I rarely ever buy it. Mostly because I will immediately drink it all. No restraint. When I came home from the hospital, though, Alex had bought me 3 bottles, so I was a happy lady haha

  8. Ok I have a great lunch idea that I made up! It’s essentially hummus pot pie: I mixed sweet potatoes and tomato sauce and then topped it with a few big globs of hummus. So the sweet potato and tomato soup thing had like hummus things on it. Check my WIAW today to see it. It was glorious!

  9. Keeping my fingers crossed you’ll get through this busy week a-okay! Also, cut yourself some slack for the packaged food. In an ideal world, we’d grow our own vegetables, bake granola bars/cookies/whichever treats and bread. But this is utopic so: you’re totally fine and not alone there :).
    Lunch was vegan chili with some vegetables I quickly sautéed at the beginning. I’m sick and it’s a) easy + quick to prepare and b) spicy [so I can at least taste -something-].

  10. That drink looks great!! We don’t have chic fil a’s around here unfortunately, but I know I would love that. Yesterday for lunch I had a veggie wrap (hummus, tomatoes, pickles, lettuce, cucumber, spinach, peppers) on a whole wheat wrap with pretzles!! Have a great Wednesday girl!

  11. Okay I am so glad you eat cream cheese on toast as well. Everyone makes fun of me for doing that but I love it…it’s like a skinny bagel right?

  12. yeah sometimes i go for quick and easy=cardboard haha! Its okay every once in a while! Sometimes we just don’t have the time! Yesterday I had a salad with veggies pasta and pesto. sooo good!

  13. Double comment…sorry! I forgot to ask you…Did you post the peanut butter baked oatmeal recipe before? Id love to try it out!

  14. I haven’t been to Chick-fil-a in a looong time. I’ll have to check out the frozen coffee. I’m a major coffee and ice cream lover so it’s right up my alley 🙂

    Blessings,
    Edye // Gracefulcoffee

  15. I think the world knows I’m a total Diet Coke addict, and I’m cool with it. 🙂 I also love Chick-Fil-A and food prep, but I know food prep doesn’t always happen. School gets rough, but I hope your week went well! Oh, and my favorite casserole is a black bean one from Pinch of Yum – super easy and delicious!

  16. I always add salted peanuts and chocolate to my popcorn, it’s the best! 🙂 I admire your ability to cut yourself a break when you know you’re going to have a busy/stressful week. I aspire! I totally went out to lunch yesterday, so that probably doesn’t help give you any good ideas but my artichoke brie grilled cheese was heavenly.

    1. Chocolate and popcorn are perfect together. I think since it’s my last semester of grad school I am just a lot more real with myself, lol!
      Anything with brie makes my heart sing!

Leave a Reply

