What I loved (WIAW)

Well, hello there Wednesday of my spring break. You came in a hurry.

One of my favorite things about spring break is being able to cook all my meals at home if I want too. And yesterday, I did! I’m joining the WIAW link-up to share them.

Today my theme is what I loved about my meals. We tend to focus a lot on the nutritional value (or lack of) in our food, but I believe it’s also a good practice to focus on what we love about the food we eat: the taste, the experience, the beauty, the novelty, etc.

As a future dietitian, I think a love for food is critical. While there is lots of science and numbers to focus on in the field of dietetics, I see a passion for food as foundational. So today I’m telling you exactly what I loved about my meals.

For breakfast: pancake made with 1/3 cup rolled oats, 2 tbsp greek yogurt, 1 egg, and 1/4 tsp baking soda. Topped with almond butter and teensy bit of honey.
1122

What I loved about this: the pancake came out super fluffy thanks to the yogurt.

For part two of breakfast: frozen blueberries with a splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk.1

What I loved about this: the milk froze around the blueberries.

For lunch: chicken salad made with Greek yogurt with spinach, carrots, and celery. A side of the hottest potato chips on the planet.1112

What I loved about this: the chicken salad was perfectly dip-able.

For a snack: pumpkin peanut butter cups (loosely based of this recipe, but with extra pumpkin)112

What I loved about this: using half honey/half stevia made for the perfectly sweet coconut oil chocolate. I am in love with these.

For dinner: “huevos rancheros”. Egg poached in tomatoes, onions, garlic, and spices. Couscous with kale and spices. Refried beans topped with cheddar. Shredded iceberg lettuce. 11

What I loved about this: the various textures, flavors, and colors made for a seriously satisfying meal. Also, I freaking adore refried beans. Anyone else?

For a snack: popcorn

 
What I loved about this: Terry and I shared a bag while we watched The Big Short, which I found fascinating!

Now you tell me-

What did you love about your last meal?

33 thoughts on “What I loved (WIAW)

  1. I ate buckwheat with cheese and it was very simple but hearty meal. Also I watch The Big Short in last weekends and find it… interesting. Feels like I know more about the economy after this film ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. My last meal was a subway sandwich…Soooo I guess I loved the ham I chose versus the turkey. SO much more flavorful and it’s a swap I very rarely make.

  3. I think we should all theme our wiaws like this more often. There’s so much more to enjoy about food – especially the little things.
    I just opened a can of Refried beans on the weekend… Suchhhh a perfect food.

  4. Love refried beans, and love the creativity behind this post. I need to do another WIAW with colors or letters or something. Also, pumpkin PB cups?! What I liked about last night’s dinner was the marinade that Ed (!) made for our salmon – it coated perfectly and added just enough flavor!

  5. Can you believe I’ve never had huevos rancheros? I’m sure I’d enjoy it – except I just can’t get behind retried beans. Maybe if I made my own?
    I’m totally with you on loving food and eating for pleasure as well as fuel. How boring life would be if we didn’t enjoy what we ate!
    We got like 10 minutes into The Big Short last month but had to stop because of a sick baby. We need to try again because I know it will be interesting.

    1. Next time you go to a Mexican restaurant, try it! Just get extra rice in place of the beans.
      I think about how my dog eats the same thing at every meal. I’m glad I have a choice!
      Definitely try to watch it again! I found t fascinating.

  6. My last meal was oatmeal with raisins and I love that it’s so easy to make and clean up (basically rinsing out my bowl) takes about 30 seconds. AND somehow I never get tired of it. mmm, love using Greek yogurt in my chicken salad!

  7. Breakfast was my last meal and I loved the way almond butter melts on top of my pancakethe most.
    I’ve heard good things about the Big Short! I want to see it!
    Also, refried beans are the best!!

  8. The frozen blubs + almond milk intrigues me- looks so yummy! My last meal was banana chia overnight oats. I loved it not only because it tasted delicious, but I felt great after knowing I didn’t need to buy breakfast this morning at work and it was healthy

  9. I loved this and think it is so important to look at food as something more than must numbers!! I had grapes+cheese and sushi for lunch, and what I loved about it was that it was super tasty and satisfied my sushi craving! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Amen. I think we’re pretty lucky to be able to choose what we eat and at least make it something we want! The last meal was a recipe which crumbled upon shooting…but I ate it with Greek yogurt so c’est la vie!

  11. i think huevos ranchers is probably one of my favorite foods! So good! ๐Ÿ™‚ I ate a delicious stir fry and had my parents over my apartment for dinner. I loved how colorful it was!

  12. Loved this! Lately I’ve been so much more lax about nutrition and have just been eating what I want. I find I still get all the nutrients I need throughout the day, but I’m less stressed and enjoy my food more! Win win!!

Leave a Reply

