Spinach & turkey meatballs

Let’s chat.

Today I have some delicious meatballs for you. These spinach & turkey meatballs are incredibly easy, super versatile, and very flavorful.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

But first, other things.

Terry and I enjoyed some banging fajitas last night at a local Mexican restaurant,Tequila. Does anyone else live in a town that has a Mexican restaurant on every corner? It’s pretty common here in SC.

2

We got the fajitas for two, which comes with two plates of rice, beans, lettuce, sour cream & guac, and one skillet pilled high of meat (we chose chicken) and vegetables. Can I just say that refried beans and Mexican rice are the equivalent to bananas and peanut butter or ketchup and fries? So dang good! When I get fajitas I usually forgo the tortillas in order to save room in my belly to clean my plate.

After dinner my friend Kelly and I went to an event hosted by Siggi’s Yogurt for RDs and dietetic students in Charlotte.

7

We were treated to a yogurt bar at our arrival. On the bottom I had pepipitas, hemp seeds, chia seeds, granola, then a nice blob of vanilla yogurt, with a sprinkling of blueberries. There were a ton of other delicious toppings too.

6

^Siggi was standing right in front of Sarah in this picture!!

Siggi talked about his history and how the business started. In short, he wanted to bring the yogurt he loved from back home in Iceland to America. The yogurt totes having more protein than sugar and minimal ingredients. It really is quite delightful. My favorite part of the presentation was watching him teach us how to make yogurt. I’m taking on that challenge soon!

8

I also loved just chatting with him about his experiences in America compared to Iceland. Such a cool guy. Read more about Siggi’s at their website!

In other random news I found the secret to a good hair day: blow dry my hair. I know, earth shattering news. TBH, I am super lazy about beauty rituals and go to bed with my hair wet half the time. However, seeing as my hair is thin and take 1 minute to dry, I think I should dedicate myself to the dryer.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Now, onto these delicious turkey meatballs. They may be the easiest meatballs you’ve ever made.

3

Spinach and Turkey Meatballs

Serves: about 22 meatballs, depending on size.

Ingredients
3/4 pound lean ground turkey
1 cup fresh spinach
2 slices bread, whole grain preferred
1 egg
1 tsp salt
2 tsp italian seasoning
1/2 tsp black pepper

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 F. Spray with cooking spray or adequately oil a baking pan.
2. Place bread in oven until to well toasted. Once toasted, pulse in a food processor until it resembles fine crumbs. Pour crumbs into a bowl.
3. Pulse spinach leaves in food processor until chopped finely. Transfer to bowl with bread crumbs. Add all other ingredients to the bowl.
4. Using your hands, mix together all ingredients until well combined. Roll meatballs (about an inch thick) by hand and then place on pan.
5. Bake for 15 minutes.
6. Remove from oven and serve.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

So simple. So delicious. They are already on my meal plan for next week! I’m thinking meatballs subs…

Anyways, that’s all of the randomness I have for one day. You guys tell me

What’s your favorite brand of yogurt?

Are you a Mexican food lover?

Plans for the weekend?

26 thoughts on “Spinach & turkey meatballs

  1. That’s so cool that you meet Siggi!!

    With my lactose intolerance aside, Fage is my favorite yogurt!

    I’m not a huge Mexican food person (the spice!) But I do like tequila…

    My plans for this weekend- go to UConn tomorrow with my friends and then I have a family get together on Sunday.

    Happy Friday!

  2. This post has so many things that I want to comment on! First of all, yes we have a TON of Mexican restaurants here in Knoxville and everyone has their favorite- this one has the best salsa, this one has the best enchiladas, etc. I never think to get fajitas- I always order the enchiladas, but YES to the rice and beans!
    It’s so cool that you got to meet Siggi! I don’t think I’ve ever tried their yogurt because I’m cheap…
    And those meatballs sound delicious! Pinning for later!

    1. Enchiladas are soooo good. I love the warm sauce that goes on top.
      I don’t usually buy Siggi’s b/c of the price. We got a few coupons, so now I will be able to try more of them!

  3. Haha so funny, I have a picture from last night with him standing in front of you! So good to see you. The event was so fun, and the yogurt bar was incredible. I really like Fage 2% plain because it’s so so creamy, but the yogurt last night was amazing, so I may be turned onto Siggi’s! I can’t wait to try these meatballs. Have a great weekend, Kate!

  4. Omg I always go to bed with my hair wet and always regret it but I just hate showering in the morning! Montreal is different with Mexican food, it is not as popular and the places that do make Mexican aren’t very authentic. The turkey meatballs look so yummy!!
    Oh and I just thought of something, is the yogurt he was talking about the new Icelandic yogurt I’ve been seeing on the shelves? Looking forward to trying that yogurt out!

  5. Mexxiccaaannnnn. My favorite. Those fajita plates look ridiculous. I would just want to take one on its own and call it dinner.
    I didn’t know “Siggi” was the name of an actual man! That’s cool. I don’t think we get it in Canada so I’ve never tried it. Must have been really interesting – I’d love to say I made my own yogurt one day.

    1. Sure! I used 1/2 cup hummus, 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar, 1/4 cup plain yogurt (not greek), 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp dill. Plus salt/pepper to taste. If it seems too thick, you can add a little more vinegar.

  6. I made meatballs this week but they did not look or sound as good as those that is for sure! I used to love Chobani but I recently got diagnosed with IBS and need to lay off dairy 😦
    Mexican food is the best, i mean how can you ever go wrong with Chipotle.. and sadly we don’t have it where I live but when I was in Paris, I went quite often!
    I’m actually planning on recovering from a stomach bug this weekend.. not fun at all! Have a good one 🙂

  7. Ummmmm… yes Mexican. I live in San Diego, which means there’s a Mexican restaurant every 5 steps. And it’s really, really good. 🙂

    You’re balls look really good, btw. (Gotta keep up with Gigi’s dirty comments…)

  8. Kate! I have so much to say about this post. First of all, it’s amazing that you got to go to such a cool event! I’ve read amazing stuff about Siggi’s yogurt but it isn’t available in Canada from what I know. 😥
    Your hair is gorgeous! And I would love to see you tackle the challenge of making your own yogurt. Oh, and to keep up with the trend, I want your balls. 😉

    What’s your favorite brand of yogurt?
    I like Liberté 2% plain Greek yogurt, or just the President’s Choice (no name brand) when I’m feeling cheap!

    Are you a Mexican food lover?
    Yes! I like homemade Mexican burrito bowls the most, because I can add lots of extra avocado, get seconds and salsa, and top it with a massive amount of cheese.

    Have a wonderful weekend Kate!

  9. I am sitting here (pre-breakfast) and am SO hungry after seeing all your food photos in this post! Seriously! That mexican food looks unreal and these meatballs seem like the perfect protein-packed meal. Off to get something to eat 😉

Leave a Reply

