Ice cream cake tutorial

*Ice cream and cake and cake / Ice cream and cake and cake / Ice cream and cake / Ice cream and cake*

I hope you sang those words.

cake3

Ice cream cake is one of my favorites. The are so many possibilities. Chocolate cake and chocolate chip ice cream. Vanilla cake and strawberry ice cream. Chocolate cake and cookies and cream ice cream. Pineapple cake and coconut ice cream. Chocolate cake and mint ice cream. The options are basically ENDLESS.

There’s no doubt about it, Baskin Robbins kills it with their ice cream cakes. My bff Rachel would always have one af her birthday parties and I thank her for exposing me. However, those babies aren’t cheap. Around Valentine’s Day you can find a heart shaped cake for maybe $15.00, but usually they are $20+. So instead of forking out the big money, I experimented with making my own. The most expensive buy for the cake was the quart of ice cream, but I found a good one on sale for $3.00.

Now I am going to show you how to do the same.

Warning: this cake was not healthified. Maybe I’ll do that in the future, because it sounds fun, but this one is pure celebration time.

Assemble the following:
-Ingredients needed to make an 8-inch cake (you can halve a double layer cake)
-8-inch round pan
-plastic wrap
-one quart of ice cream
-frosting

  1. Bake your cake in the round pan. The cake recipe is up to you, but I recommend picking one from this list: Freeze ahead cakes. These cakes freeze well so your texture won’t be hurt as much. I made the mistake of using a vegan cake recipe, so it ended up being a little gummy once it was frozen.
  2. Freeze your cake. Wrap in plastic wrap very tightly.
    cake5
  3. Make your frosting. A whipped icing (made from cool whip or truwhip) is ideal here.  I used this frosting recipe with light cool whip and vanilla pudding. Put prepared frosting in the freezer and allow to thicken. It will still be spreadable since cool whip does not completely harden. Remove one minute before time to frost.
  4. Form ice cream in the pan. Take the ice cream out of the freeze and allow it to sit out for about 10-20 minutes. Lay plastic wrap down in the same pan that the cake was baked in.Using a rubber spatula, spoon ice cream into pan until completely filled. Flatten with spatula to make it smooth. Freeze until hard.
    cake1
  5. Assemble the cake. When both the ice cream and cake are totally frozen, remove from the freezer. Stack ice cream on top of cake and prepare to frost. It’s okay if your ice cream and cake aren’t perfectly symmetrical, you can fill it in with the frosting.
    cake2
  6.  Frost cake and add sprinkles or chocolate chips on top if desired, then immediately place back into freezer until hardened.
    Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
  7. When ready to serve, remove from fridge about 5-10 minutes prior.cake4

Totally achievable and delicious.

So you tell me…

Are you a fan of ice cream cake?

Dream ice cream & cake combination?

20 thoughts on “Ice cream cake tutorial

  1. Ooooh brilliant! I love ice cream cake but have never had one from Baskin Robbins. I like the Dairy Queen ones with Oreo bits 🙂 Your version looks so cool. Which frosting recipe did you use? It looks so silky smooth!

      1. Excellent! Thanks for another wonderful recipe Kate 🙂 You are such an inspiration no matter what you post – whether that’s about family, friends, or food.

  2. When I was a kid, I ALWAYS had an ice cream cake for my birthday! My favorite was yellow cake and chocolate ice cream.
    Although it’s been years since I’ve had one, I love this easy recipe! It may have to make a comeback!!!

  3. Ice cream cake is the BEST!! This looks amazing. I haven’t had ice cream cake in a while and that needs to change haha. Hope you have a great day Kate!

  4. I actually don’t like ice cream cake because it was always chocolate and vanilla with these gross chocolate crunchy things in the middle. I think if I made it like yours it would be delicious! Thanks for the recipe Kate. My ideal would be a cookie cake bottom and peanut butter ice cream top 🙂

  5. I’ve made two types of ice cream cakes…one just required layering those ice cream sandwiches with fudge and cool whip…the other was a margarita ice cream cake and that was very boozy but very delicious!

  6. I’ve been craving cool whip all week. Very random. This didn’t exactly make the craving go away.
    It did, however, make me want summer!! We would have ice cream cakes from Dairy Queen all the time when I was younger. They had a bit of a strange taste, but I still loved them. Tricky to handle the melting factor around kids and in the summer though. But that’s the extra fun!

Leave a Reply

