Valentine’s Day Weekend

Well hello lovely people!

Thank you so much for all your kind words after regarding my not-so-great post exam feelings. I’m doing my best to SHAKE IT OFF and I must say this weekend really did me well.

Friday morning I kicked the love weekend off by making Terry’s breakfast. I don’t usually get creative for myself, but it’s fun to make someone else’s food beautiful.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Later in the day we made our way to Mellow Mushroom for lunch.

We both got the lunch combo of a greek side salad and slice of pizza. Spinach for me, pepperoni for the Mr.

mon3

mon4

After browsing a few stores, we settled in at Nova’s Bakery for coffee and a work session. Getting out of the house really helps. Friday may be a no work day, but the school work never ends!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

That night we finished The Office and there were plenty o’ tears. I will miss them… Dwight… Kevin… Pam… Phyllis… Erin… the whole gang!

On Saturday morning I celebrated Galentine’s Day with my grad school girlfriends. We hit up Bruegger’s Bagels for a late breakfast.

mon1

Whole wheat everything + plain cream cheese for me. This may forever be my favorite combo.

mon2

Celebrate your girlfriends. Women rock.

Later that night my church had our annual Valentine’s Day banquet. Those who put it onΒ did a fabulous job with the decorating and food. I’m always so impressed by people with an eye for decorating! Our youth group served as the wait staff as a way to raise money for various events. I’m happy to report that was a success too.

mon6

Terry preached both Sunday morning and Sunday night, so it was a busy day for him. Rather than going out to eat, I decided to cook dinner. We hadΒ sirloin steak, cheddar scalloped potatoes, roasted broccoli, and bread.
mon9

This was my first time ever cooking steak and I used Alton Brown’s broiling method which was fine except my fire alarm would.not.stop.going.off from all the heat. Terry approved of the steak after we had to put it back under the broiler for a bit because apparently Alton likes his steaks very red.

Now the potatoes… those were glorious!! Meghan, you made my Valentine’s day dinner a true success. The broccoli was fine, but it’s just broccoli and since we like it a little burnt it wasn’t the most aesthetically pleasing, if you know what I mean.

For dessert we both had a slice of this homemade ice cream cake, which I hope to share an how-to for this week, because it was awesome and did not cost $20+ bucks.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Terry hit the ball out of the park with my Valentine’s Day gifts. It is quite obvious he knows me: lots of dark chocolate, almond butter (which I never buy b/c I can’t justify the price), gum, a new wallet (mine was falling apart), and some tights.

mon5

I got him a pair of fun socks (his request) and made him these cards:

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

My love language is clearly “quality time”, so I arranged a quality time date for each month for the next 12 months.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

The only thing that might make this weekend better is if my school closes due to the weather. Anything could happen, right?!

So tell me,

How was your weekend?

Did you celebrate V-day?

38 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Weekend

  1. What a lovely weekend!! And Terry DID a great job with the gifts!! And yours to him are so sweet!! I’m filing that idea away for future use!
    I’ve never made steak before either. It seems pretty intimidating, but I love and trust Alton Brown (and you!) so maybe I’ll give it a try sometime.
    And, by the way, the breakfast you made for Terry is so sweet!! You two are the cutest!

  2. Oh that’s so creative! A couple I babysat made coupon books for each other for Christmas one year and the ideas inside were so cute! I worked on Valentine’s Day but it was fun to see all the pastries decorated with hearts and all the men coming to buy gifts for their wives. I enjoy the idea of love πŸ™‚ have a great week!

  3. Those scalloped potatoes are now getting added to my list – thanks Meg and Kate! It’s ridiculoussss how much AB is, I usually avoid it for the same reason. terry got you some of the best of the best! I was so so sad when I finished the office. I really felt like I worked in the office and was best friends with all of the characters.

  4. You are a genius! Your gift to Terry is marvelous. This is the kind of thing I love to give – something personal and ongoing and made with your own hands. Though he pretty much hit the jackpot in spoiling you as well. You two are lovely πŸ™‚
    Your weekend looks so full of wonderful things! I hope it made you feel a bit better after those damn exams.

    1. Aw, I wouldn’t say genius. I just personalized an idea I saw on pinterest!
      the weekend helped tremendously to help de-stress.
      I’m ready to see your blog again. I hope everything is going smoothly with all of that.

  5. So much love shown – not just said – in one weekend. There’s way too much to comment but I don’t want to get infamous for novel-length comments. …
    Terry truly knows the way to your heart – a gift I’d have approved of, too. Lindt forever!
    Your idea of a gift lasting all throughout the coming year is totally sweet. That’s the kind of prolonged gift I like.
    I hope Monday didn’t overwhelm you with yet more school work.

  6. Your weekends sounds fabulous! I had a great Valentines day, my boyfriend spoiled me rotten and we made a lot of great memories together at the Florida State Fair πŸ™‚ Love is just the best !

  7. Brueggers is my fav place!! In love with their bagels. Terry did great with the gift this Valentines day too πŸ™‚ That almond butter is the best hehe. And your gift was such a good idea!! Glad you had a great weekend Kate. πŸ™‚

  8. Love that you celebrated with your girlfriends and LOVE your gifts for each other. I’m feeling totally inspired by your 12 quality time cards as a future gift idea. I hope you’re getting past the grief of having finished The Office…. stay strong. haha!

  9. Your gift is too cute! Bravo for being able to think of it/think that far ahead into the future! I think I’d be lost trying to think of one for each month (clearly, I’m a lot of fun..) My love language is very obviously food – hahha. Alex’s present was a stupid amount of sausage that’s being shipped here from Texas. Because why not. ahhhaha

  10. Love your gifts to each other! Quality time is definitely my #1 love language, too, so I’d be all about the 12 date cards. So fun- the present that keeps on giving all year! And I can’t wait to hear how you did your ice cream cake. Those were always my favorite growing up!

Leave a Reply

