Banana Cocoa Baked Oatmeal (WIAW)

Hey guys!

I hope everyone is hanging in there. I’m feeling a little worn down… but I mostly blame myself for staying up too late. Now, that’s something I should work on.

It’s Wednesday, so I’ve got some yummy eats to share with you! This post is a little last minute (aka it’s time for bed), so excuse my lack of chattiness.

Be sure to go and check out all the other awesome WIAWs!

wed

Breakfast: banana cocoa baked oatmeal topped with sunflower butter with two cups of coffee and a piece of 85% dark chocolate.

I COULD EAT THIS BREAKFAST EVERYDAY.

Recipe for the baked oatmeal: 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 mashed banana, 1/4 cup almond milk, 1 egg white, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, 1/2 tsp baking powder. Combine all ingredient and pour into a greased oven safe container. Bake at 350 F for 15 minutes, then broil for 3 minutes.

Snack: Unpictured very average apple, sliced finely.

A VERY necessary diet coke.

tues12

I was struggling at my desk and knew that cold, crisp DC would do me right.

wed1
Lunch: big salad with spinach, honey mustard baked tofu, farro, carrots, and celery all tossed with apple cider yogurt dressing.

Downside of food prepping? I have to use mixing bowls to pack my lunch because I’ve run out of storage containers. Also, this is my first time cooking farro and I love it! It’s like a softer and heartier brown rice. Plus, it’s much cheaper than quinoa.

wed4
Snack: Cashew cookie Larabar

This was my second Larabar, which I bought because it was on sale. I didn’t love the first and I didn’t think too much of this one either. It’s certainly fine, but I think I’d rather just eat nuts and dried fruit in their whole form. Truthfully, I think I was expecting a cashew cookie and felt like it was lacking both the cashew and the cookie.

wed3
Dinner: slow cooked ancho-chipotle drumsticks with slaw (made with Greek yogurt) and a baked potatoes with butter and mozzarella. Finished with a few sips of OJ.

This looks like a very humble dinner, but it was so good! The meat was really well seasoned and tender. I don’t usually buy drumsticks, because I hate eating off the bone, but then I realized I could just pull the meat off before eating it. Duh. Plus, drumsticks are rather inexpensive!

wed2
Snack: S’mores bar with a glass of cold unsweetend almond milk.

FYI: I made this batch with whole wheat flour and it was definitely fine, but I’d say you couldn’t fool anyone that it was unhealthy. I’m sure all my health food loving friends don’t mind though! 😉

That’s it for me today. I’m about to repeat that snack and head to bed.

So you tell me…

Favorite “humble” meal to make?

Larabar fan? What is your favorite bar? I’m forever a Cliff bar fan. 

42 thoughts on “Banana Cocoa Baked Oatmeal (WIAW)

  1. Ohhh see I LOVE larabars! But you should give Cliff Kit Bars a shot (try the chocolate PB one!). They are the Cliff Bar’s Larabar. But better.

    Also thinking about eating and apple and then drinking a diet coke makes my stomach hurt! Two of my biggest nemeses yet sooo good!!

    1. I will have to cliff Kit bars! I’ve read good things about it.
      Diet coke actually makes my stomach feel better! You would think that carbonation would add to the problem, but it actually help.
      Apples, however, have the ability to make me feel really bad. When I do eat them I try to slice or them up really finely or heat them. Helps a good bit! Also helps if the apple is on the softer side.

  2. Sadly, I can’t eat many larabars (or bars in general) because I’m allergic to tree nuts – I have to be super picky. So this actually makes me feel better that it wasn’t great. I’ve had the chocolate PB flavor though and I liked that! I guess you just can’t pump something up to be so great without having that flavor before. My favorite humble dinner is scrambled eggs with a little bit of spinach and toast with jelly! I eat this so so often 🙂

  3. I’m not a fan of most bars, but I really dig Larabars! Actually, I mostly just like the chocolate chip cookie dough (DO IT. You’ll thank me. But like you said, it doesn’t taste like cookie dough per say, so keep it in mind.) and the cherry pie one. Both are amazing to me, the girl who is usually not the biggest fan of “health food” bars

  4. Yeah, your cocoa baked oatmeal has got to get in me this week. Enough fighting the craving.
    I’ve never tried faro, but now that I get your review, I’m so on it.
    Never been a larabar fan. Or any type of bar fan, to be honest. I have a hard time justifying the price.
    I only ever buy drumsticks or thighs now. Them breasts just are not cheap!

  5. I do like Larabars- the coconut creme pie one is my favorite, but they are pricey and are definitely not the dessert that their titles claim to be!
    I love the sound of that baked oatmeal! I love any excuse to eat chocolate for breakfast.
    I’ve never tried farro- I even saw some at Aldi last week. I need to try it if they still have it.

  6. I really need to try farro! Though is it gluten-free? I know literally nothing about it besides that a lot of people like it. lol And I love Cliff bars too! The chocolate brownie kids one is really good warmed up in the microwave 🙂

  7. My favorite humble meal is beans and rice. I could eat that every day and never get tired of the comfort it brings my tummy. I am also a Clifbar fan. I love the trail mix one they just came out with because it had chocolate chips and no dried fruit. I love dried fruit but not in my trail mix lol
    I also have been loving Luna protien bars because they came out with a salted caramel one. Be still my beating heart it’s so good!
    Have a great day Kate!

  8. I’m feeling worn down this week too! I neeeed that oatmeal in my life though- looks so so delicious. Larabars aren’t my fav; I love the peanut butter cookie flavor but I like quest bars/luna bars/ cliff bars more! Hope you have a great day Kate 🙂

  9. I am gonna have to make that oatmeal recipe, and I still can’t wait for the minute I get to make those Smore’s bars! I’ve actually never tried Lara bars, I find those types of bars expensive for nothing! All your eats look great!

  10. I’ve never been a fan of Lara bars either, like they’re just okay in my opinion. I’ve been obsessed with sunflower seed butter lately! That stuff is AMAZING!

  11. Hi Kate!
    I just wanted to let you know that I have been making your baked oatmeal the past few days and I am in love! I use 1/3 cup oats, a whole banana and a tsp of chia seeds instead of the egg white and it is so good! Thank you so much for that great, simple recipe!
    Also, your blog has become one of my favorites. I love that you let your faith be your guiding force, I get some really great recipe inspiration, and I love being able to see an amazing example of what it is like to live an abundant life after an eating disorder. Keep doing what you’re doing, Kate!

    1. Ah this made me smile so big. You mentioned all the thing that I hope will shine through.
      Thanks for the reminded of this- I think I’ll have it for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

