S’mores bars (my favorite treat)

Happy Monday! Anyone else have an icy weekend? We got what us southerner’s consider a “winter storm”, but I’ve seen much worse in other places. Stephanie kindly reminded me what a real blizzard looked like via Snapchat. I don’t know how y’all do it!

s'more

I basically got 3 days to stay in my house and do whatever I pleased. This involved baking, eating, blog reading, and getting ahead in some of my classes. Not bad!

Today I am sharing the recipe I promised on Wednesday.

This recipe has a very special place in my heart… or should I say belly? This is probably my favorite thing to bake up. It’s actually a s’mores version of something I bake quite regularly. Inviting marshmallows and graham crackers to the party was a very good idea. While I haven’t been able to enjoy any real s’mores by our beloved fire pit, these do quite a nice job substituting.

s'mor

This recipe turned me into a batter eater. I am usually able to resist batter, knowing that I will greatly enjoy the finished product. Plus raw egg whites freak me out, so that eliminates a lot of batters anyways. But this recipe… I want to lick the spoon and the bowl. Maybe I took the chance because there are no eggs, but once I took one bite I am surprised there was a finished product at all ;).

s'

Yes, they are orange. And yes… it’s pumpkin. If you try to tell me that pumpkin season is over, I will just have to let you know that my pantry disagrees. One time last year Aldi had canned pumpkin on clearance for just $.25 and ever since I’ve kept an inventory of at least 5 cans. So no… there’s no stopping me.

s'm

You’ll be glad you added the pumpkin. Heck, you’ll be glad you made these. And if you’re like me, you’ll be lucky if they last 3 days.

S’mores Bars

Makes 8-9 bars

Ingredients 
1/2 cup peanut butter
3/4 cup canned pumpkin
1/3 cup flour (white or whole wheat)
1 sheet graham crackers, crushed
2/3 cup baking stevia (or brown sugar)
1 tsp baking powder
Handful (about 1 cup) of mini marshmallows
2 tbsp chocolate chips

Directions
*Heat peanut butter in the microwave for 10-15 seconds, so that it will be easier to stir.
Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease 8×8 baking dish.
In  a large bowl, combine peanut butter and pumpkin until smooth. Add flour, crushed graham crackers, stevia (or sugar), and baking powder. Stir until well combined. Fold in marshmallows.
Spread mixture (it’s thick) evenly into the 8×8 baking dish.
Bake for 15 minutes. Take out of oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes.
In a microwave safe dish, heat chocolate chips in 15 second intervals, stirring in between, until melted. With a spoon, pour melted chocolate onto bars, moving the spoon to make desired design.
Place in fridge and allow chocolate to harden before cutting.
Store in the fridge.

s'mo

So you tell me…

Is there a seasonal item you want year around?

Did you do any baking while stuck inside? Or were you lucky and never were stuck inside?

36 thoughts on “S’mores bars (my favorite treat)

  1. YAY I am so excited for this recipe! I agree with you – never too much pumpkin, it doesn’t go out of season, plus it’s so full of nutrients! I did a little baking through this storm too – lots of chia seed themed goods, as I talk in today’s post. Have a great day, Kate!

  2. Pumpkin is way too versatile of an ingredient to only be relegated to the fall! I have at least one can in my pantry year round.
    We had a bit of a winter storm over here as well. It was a nice excuse to hang out in sweat pants in front of the fire all day. But there was also some baking going on 😉.
    These s’mores bars sound delicious! I’m not much of a batter eater either, but I could make an exception for these!

  3. Oh my goodness YUM! I thought I had officially said goodbye to marshmallows since giving up meat (because the gelatin) but recently someone made a dessert and assured me that the marshmallows they used were gelatin-free so I need to get my hands on some of those!! And with the pumpkin… wow. Hope you had a great weekend, Kate 🙂

  4. I’m drinking a s’mores latte right now and this bar would go perfect! I have some pumpkin in my pantry and have been looking for a way to use it up. Thanks for the recipe!

  5. Give meeee! I need that in my life. Also, I don’t mean to laugh at your Southern ‘snowstorm’ but it’s pretty funny ahahaha I wish that was all we got! Living in the North East my whole life means I’ve definitely seen my fair share of storms. Ick.

  6. Good lord Chile. I’m pinning this and it is so happening. I cook with pumpkin year round, but it definitely revs up in the fall. Zucchini is another something that I cook and bake with at all times!

  7. YASSSSS!! I cook with pumpkin year round for SURE, so you can bet these bars will be in my belly soon. Though I need to make some alterations for gluten, these sound so so good!

  8. If it was available I’d be all over pumpkin all year round, too. So while I’ve neither had S’mores before [not a thing over here] nor can get my hands on canned pumpkin or graham crackers I still imagine these to be fabulous.

  9. Oh wow these look delicious!! I love baking during a snow storm. I need to try these though, putting pumpkin in is such a good idea! Hope you have a great day Kate 🙂

Leave a Reply

