A date & dessert

Who’s snowed in?! My school is closed down for the day… but what do you know, I don’t have classes on Friday anyways! I’m writing this on Thursday night, so I can’t tell you if it is a beautiful snowy day or if it’s just an icy mess.

Terry and I found out really good news. I mentioned some uncertainty in our lives a few weeks ago, and the uncertainty was around Terry’s job. Things were up in the air for a little bit, but on Wednesday night we got the confirmation that we were here to stay. I’ll have to admit, I was a little freaked out for a brief moment, but I just had to practice the “put it in God’s hands” message that I preach.

So to celebrate, we went out to dinner to one of our favorites, Maggiano’s Little Italy. They have this INSANE deal called “Marco’s Deal for Two” which gets you two salads, two classic pasta entrees, two classic pastas to take home, and a dessert to share all for $39.95. Say what?! Terry went with the fettuccine alfredo and I went with eggplant parm, both wonderful. The real winners, however, were the spinach salads (blue cheese, sweet peppers, pine nuts, red onion, and white balsamic vinaigrette) and our dessert, warm apple crostata.

salad

dessert

Seriously, that apple crostata with the vanilla bean ice cream was just too good for words. I ate past fullness, so I left with my jeans unbuttoned and my heart wide open 😀

I also went to the GI doctor yesterday for a follow-up from the colonoscopy (which was fine).

*please excuse the hints of self-pity scattered throughout this rant post*

I went in feeling tough. Since my colonoscopy, I have diligently recorded the medications I took (Amitiza and Linzess) and all the fun stuff happening (or not happening) with my bowels. I was ready to be stern and not accept the standard answers.

I don’t know went wrong.  When the nurse called me in to check my vitals, I noticed that I had gained 6 lbs since the day of my colonoscopy. Barely over a week’s time. It made sense- I felt that much heavier thanks to my slow-moving intestines. Seeing the number frustrated me. I could feel myself wanting to cry, but I knew that was silly.

IMG_9687

^Why are they all smiling?!

When I finally spoke with the doctor, all I could do was not just burst in tears. I choked. I didn’t want to talk too much in fear that my voice would shake and tears would fall. For that reason, I barely got to ask any of the questions I had. The doctor was very kind. He sat down and talked with me and didn’t seem (overly) rushed. Still, as I knew but didn’t want to admit, he didn’t have the kind of answers I wanted. The truth is… the doctor was right. There is no “tried and true” method. If there was, we’d all be fixed. So I am going to try a new pairing of meds, but also continue to do research on my own. I’m also trying to be better about not eating too much fiber, which has proved to be a challenge.

Thankfully our date night was the same day as the appointment, because the night ended on a great note.

self

^Jackpot of leftovers and the take-home pastas!

That’s all for now. I hope everyone has a great weekend and stays safe & warm. I’ll be doing some sl work and plenty relaxing.

So you tell me… 

Best restaurant dessert?

Favorite thing to do to ward off cabin fever?

 

 

14 thoughts on “A date & dessert

  1. Aw Kate, I’m so sorry you didn’t get answers you were looking for. I know how frustrating that can be, but you will certainly figure this out because I know how determined you are. Thanks for sharing, I will be thinking of you! Umm talking about restaurant desserts is really entering my forte here – my overall favorite ever had to be the vanilla tres leches cake with roasted banana and cocoa nibs I had out in Portland (such a hard decision). I love creme brulee’s and anything with frosting too! PS – Charlotte restaurant week is now happening, I hope you and Terry make it to a place or two! It’s my favorite week of the year!

    1. Woaahh that sounds good!
      Last year we tried Maggiano’s creme brulee after hearing it was the best in town. Unfortunately neither of us liked it, but I think we may just not be fans of the dessert in general. So if you’re a fan, you should give theirs a try!

  2. Oh Kate. I’m sorry the appointment made this turn on you. I know that feeling all too well – that choking in the back of your throat when you are trying not to cry, and the feeling of not having been able to ask the questions you had wanted to. Both are hard. I know you will continue fighting for those answers, and one day, they will appear.
    Huge congrats to Terry. That is a lovely sigh of relief I am sure.
    Enjoy those take home pasta leftovers (Unless they are now gone, of course) and I hope this weekend is a relaxing one for you

  3. Hoping that you get your tummy issues figured out ASAP- I know how frustrating that can be 😦 During a snow storm my favorite thing to do is drink a cup of hot coffee and watch movies 🙂 Hope you have a great day and weekend! Xoxo

  4. I read no self pity in this post! Only very understandable frustration!! I’m so sorry that you have to go through this. Hopefully this new medicine, more research, and (unfortunately) less fiber will help.
    I’ve been praying for you the past few weeks and I’m so glad that the news was good! And that restaurant sounds like the perfect way to celebrate!
    I’m partial to tiramisu, but chocolate cheesecake is always a favorite!

  5. I knew as soon as I saw the title that I was gonna love this post! Congratulations to Terry. I am so happy for both of you 🙂
    I laughed out loud at “why are they all smiling?” HAHA that’s hilarious. You always make the best of frustrating situations and that is really the right way to go.
    My favourite restaurant dessert is usually chocolate cheesecake, but anything warm with ice cream calls my name every time (sticky toffee pudding, chocolate lava cake, oh my). My all-time favourite restaurant dessert to date was a flaky butter puff pastry topped with almond paste, crushed pecans (like a butter tart filling) with vanilla caramel sauce, a scoop of ice cream, and crushed nuts on top. Still drooling. 🙂

  6. Oh, I am so sorry to hear about your appointment, it must be hard to accept that you can’t find an answer easily. I am sure, eventually, it will all fall into place! Now, about that apple dessert… woah. I need that! And I laughed when I saw the pictures of all of those people on the pamphlets smiling, I mean come on!! haha, have a great weekend 🙂

  7. What a great restaurant deal! Congratulations to Terri for answered prayers. Getting a job is so fulfilling. When I have cabin fever I usually read or play the Wii. Gets some of the energy out

Leave a Reply

