The little things

Happy Martin Luther King Jr. day! I hope this holiday is both reflective and relaxing.

mlk

Do you have the day off? I am free as a bird minus a meeting for a group project. Luckily we are meeting at a coffee shop, so I have my eyes on an afternoon cappuccino.

WEEK-IN REVIEW (joining in with Meghan’s link-up)

Week-In-Review-Button-Final

-I completed my first full week of classes! No lie, by Thursday I was wanting to take a nap on my work desk. Switching back to waking up at 6 am instead of 7:30 or 8 is going to take me a few weeks to get used to. I think I am going to really like my classes and I’m really excited about some of the upcoming projects.

coffee

-The most exciting thing from last week was finding out I was accepted into the dietetic internship I applied to! All your support on my “celebration time” post made me smile ear-to-ear. You rock.

-I celebrated with a burger and fries while Terry had wings. (Fun fact: this was the first time I’ve ordered a burger with fries at a restaurant in 8+ years!) Based off y’all’s responses, the majority of you agree that burgers > wings.

bowli

-I had successes in the kitchen. Like homemade tortillas. I cooked venison to fill the tortillas and the meat tasted GOOD, which really surprised me. Who knew I’d be cooking venison by year 2016?

tortilla

-I have a fun recommendation. Next time you make a box of Annie’s mac and cheese (or any of the relatively healthy boxed ones), add a fried egg on top. Totally kicks up the somewhat bland flavor up a notch. I also recommend boiling some finely chopped cauliflower with the noodles for extra veggie power.

bow

-I made a bangin’ frittata for two for Saturday’s lunch (which my Instagram friends affirmed that I could indeed call brunch). Four eggs, chopped chicken sausage, ~1 ounce of cheese, 1/2 cup almond milk, and spinach was all it took to create a yummy frittata for two. On the side was roasted yellow potatoes, my favorite of the potato family.

brunch

-I went to the gym 5 times! I was starting to worry myself that I had completely tanked any motivation to workout, but it turns out I just needed a routine to reorient myself with the gym. My friend Kelly even taught me how to use a few new-to-me machines, so my excitement for the weight room has also increased.

-I went grocery shopping AND wrote us a nice little meal plan. Here’s hoping that helps with organization!

-I had a really nice, long conversation with my bff Rachel who turned 25 this past week. She’s been my best friend since fourth grade and I honestly feel like our souls are connected. You know that connection I’m talking about?

-Finally, I sat on my booty and watched the entire Panthers vs Seahawks game. I was feeling nervous in last half, but luckily we pulled through! Check out Terry’s 1998 jacket that happens to be a snug fit for me. I could pull it off, right? Maybe?

panth

Welp, that’s all I got. It’s probably best that I don’t write down all my mini-accomplishments since I tend to be a little long winded explaining most of them, haha!

Happy week’s beginning!

28 thoughts on “The little things

  1. Sounds like a great week, Kate! Yay for gym time, and YAY FOR THE PANTHERS! Next weekend will be so crazy. Mac ‘n Cheese with an egg? I am the biggest egg lover and I don’t think I’ve ever thought of this – simple yet brilliant. 🙂

  2. Happy MLK Day to you too. It’s lovely being free as a bird isn’t it?! I too have the day off and I fully intend to enjoy it and accomplish all the things in equal parts.

    Great job on getting the workouts going again. It’s always tough to find the motivation, but once you get going, it’s easy to stay in the routine.

    Spinach frittata and potatoes for the win. #spudlove. Also, I love tossing veggies in with my Mac and Cheese, but you already knew that. 😉

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

  3. Seeing how I’m loving a drippy egg on top of just about anything these days – your mac and cheese idea should be a no brainer. What a perfect compilation of such great achievements from last week. You made some awesome meals, treated yourself in a new way, got some excitement back and did some planning. You go rockstar. Enjoy your day off! (jealous)

  4. Another great tip for Mac and cheese, add crushed BBQ or salt and vinegar chips. It is so good! The flavor and crunch from the chips is so worth it! Again, congrats on the internship!

  5. so many yummy eats here! congrats on the internship too btw- that is awesome! Sounds like you had a really productive week, you rock girl! xoxo

  6. Yay for so many accomplishments!! I’m so jealous of those tortillas- I really need to try that!
    That jacket looks cute on you! New fashion trend!

  7. First, CONGRATS on getting your internship!! I hope you love it and I can’t wait to hear more details on the blog as you start working there.

    And I love your Annie’s mac & cheese suggestion. I love adding lots of black pepper, too!

  8. That’s awesome about the renewed zest to work out – that always feels so good after a bit of an exercise slump. And I love the fried egg on the mac n cheese idea! I so know what you’re talking about in terms of those best-friend connections. Truly the best 🙂

  9. Congrats on making it into your internship! That must be a great feeling – and you are totally going to have an awesome time and learn so much! Just, try to stay awake 😉

Leave a Reply

