Celebration time

Why celebrate?! Well for starters, it’s FRIDAY! Which is always a reason to celebrate in my opinion.

This week, however, I’ve got another reason to celebrate. Much to my relief, I finally found out about the dietetic internship I applied too… and much to my heart’s deepest desires- I was accepted!! I am so dang grateful I will be that much closer to reaching my goal to be an RD. When I started the journey summer of 2014, I had no idea how much my confidence would waver. One day I’d feel really confident in my skills, and the next day I’d be comparing myself to others and fearing that I wouldn’t measure up. Some days I would tell myself to just enjoy the ride and continue to grow, but other days I would feel like there was so much pressure on me to perform. Throughout my undergrad, I lived in the latter- always feeling like I had to prove myself. Luckily, as I have gotten older, I am able to mostly stay in a healthy state of mind, but I’d be lying if the pressure of getting a dietetic internship didn’t get to me quite often.

What makes me really happy is that some of my really close friends were also accepted and that we get to continue on this journey together. I think building friendships in grad school has made a huge difference in how I view academia. I don’t feel as much need to compete, but I feel like supporting others is just as important as bettering myself.

Needless to say, I am excited to begin the internship in the fall and super pumped to share all about it with you!

Last night, Terry and I went on a fun date, part to spend time together/part for me to celebrate. We started with dinner at Buffalo Wild Wings, which is fav for Terry because he loves wings. [Sorry for the crappy photo quality]

bowlin

He opted for the boneless wings in a few different sauces.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I, on the other hand, do not care for wings, so I stepped out of my box and ordered a burger with buffalo chips. The burger was yummy- especially with the garlic parmesan sauce I got on the side. The buffalo chips were basically flat fries, but no one’s complaining about that! πŸ˜‰ (Also, no fiber to be found here!)

bowli

After dinner we went bowling with our friends Kelly and Harry. (Kelly will also be an intern!!!)

bowling

Turns out they are actually good and we are not. Especially me. Kelly scored over 100!

It was a fun night and a busy week at school, so I am happy for the weekend! I hope you guys enjoy your weekend and I’ll hopefully see you Sunday for my Sunday series.

Are you a bowler?Β 

Wings or burgers? (if pizza was an option, we know that answer!)

22 thoughts on “Celebration time

  1. YAYYY! Congrats!! I was just thinking of you and this recently since you said you would know soon. So happy for you and that you can have some relief this semester, just focus on enjoying your classes! Can’t wait to stay along for the journey. And, definitely a burger over wings for me. I’m a burger gal!

  2. Congrats on the dietetics internship, what an amazing stress relief that must of been!!!!! Also, congrats on eating that fiber free meal, seems like you’re getting better at this! Now, I’m gonna have to choose wings because, fun fact, Ive never eaten a hamburger, like ever haha. I think my mind has been stubborn since the day I was born and simply refuses to accept hamburgers, the meat and bun combo is what my brain can’t accept haha, I love any type of burger except the ones with meat patties!

  3. Congratulations Kate!!! Oh man, what a thing to celebrate. I remember the feeling of pure intimidation about getting into internships while I was taking nutrition… and I was only in first year! They seemed to instill the pressure on us, and harp on us how important it is, right off the get go. I felt nervous even though it was 3 years away. I think it is a positive sign when your career/education instills a balance of some pressure/nervousness and still enjoyment. It means its important to you. So glad you celebrated! You deserve it!

  4. CONGRATULATIONS!!! That is such exciting news!! I completely agree that making friends definitely takes away that competitive edge.
    I would choose a burger over wings any day. And I am no good at bowling. But, it looks like you guys had a great time! Have a great weekend!!

  5. SO HAPPY FOR YOU KATE! What a big sigh of relief that must have been πŸ™‚ Very much looking forward to being able to follow along. We started getting details yesterday about the internship we have coming up this summer and it got me so giddy. Happy weekend Kate… enjoy the high I’m sure you’re on πŸ™‚

  6. I think I’m more of a burger gal because I don’t like spicy food and buffalo sauce is spicy. They are also kind of messy and I’m already messy so that’s a recipe for disaster. Congratulations on your internship!! God has great plans for you!

  7. Congrats, Kate! Obviously your hard work is paying off and you’re one step closer to your career as an RD. How awesome!
    I used to love bowling. I’m ok but definitely not a pro. I’m known to get really competitive, though… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

