A great start

Man… I am pooped! This past weekend officially wiped me out!

Before I go any further, however, I have to give a shout out to Heather. I was in her town for a retreat and we were able to meet-up at a local Panera Bread.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetI must say, she is even more beautiful in person! If you don’t read her blog yet, I highly recommend it! I was also super impressed by how well behaved little miss Matilda is! She is such a cutie.

From Friday-Monday I was at our youth group’s annual winter retreat in Tennesee. It’s my husband’s favorite event of the whole year and he begins planning for it in June.

w14

The trip was such a great reminder of how grateful I am to be married to a youth pastor. I love being with these students and seeing them grow. They all got along so well and I felt like we were a big family.

We had a lot of fun playing games like checkers, Apples to Apples, and Jenga.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We even got to do a little sight-seeing. Everyone’s favorite was the Sun Sphere at the World’s Fair Park.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

One of my favorite parts was all the good music. We have some talented musicians in our group who are willing to share their talents. Seeing Terry play will always be my favorite <3.

w12

We stopped at the Oak Ridge mall. because these kids sure love to shop! Lucky me there was a cooking class happening at Williams-Sonoma. I went to a class on the Vitamix and got to taste a super warm and comforting (but healthy) celery root puree.

w9Terry and I had some yummy truffles from Godiva. Mine was cappuccino crunch and he had gingerbread. Both very tasty! I followed this up with a real cappuccino from Starbucks.

w11

The days were fueled with plenty of goodness… like this match made in heaven.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

It’s still kind of hard for me to share Terry on these trips, but seeing him lead these guys and live out his callingΒ makes me so proud.

By the way, the weather was so cold! Winter is finally here (dun dun dun….)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

But we didn’t let the cold bother us too much… there was football to be played! Even though I never got the ball (oh, boys) I loved running around and breaking a sweat.

w1

I’m 23, so I’m not too far off from being a teenager. Still,Β I know that I am definitely considered an adult by these guys. The fact that they let me in and are willing to share their lives with me means so much. I am learning so much from them as I hope they are from me. The girls, of course, have a special place in my heart, since I remember many of the struggles of being “not a girl, not yet a woman”. I pray for them to see themselves as God sees the- wonderfully and fearfully made. I hope that sharing my experiences will help feel more at ease in their skin. It’s what I would have wanted as a teen.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Even though I’m sitting here struggling to keep my eyes open, I’m so thankful for this past weekend. It was a perfect way to kick of my new year.

12 thoughts on “A great start

  1. Whoa! Kate, is this post title-less? It’s so cool! I have so much to say about this post πŸ™‚
    First of all, I thought the Heather you were referring to was Heather from Heather Eats Almond Butter, whose recipes I adore. But your Heather is equally awesome and I’m going to check out her blog ASAP.
    Go Terry! I’m sure he’s such a talented musician. Aren’t shows and performances 10x more entertaining when people you know/love are in them?
    I’ve never tried Justin’s nut butter but I WILL before I die! It looks so yummy and a match made in heaven with that ripe banana.
    Have a yummy and beautiful week!

  2. I am SO GRATEFUL that we got to meet!! It was wonderful getting to know you ‘in real life’. Matilda and I had the best time!! I’m so glad that you had such s good time at the youth retreat and I’m even more glad that it brought you to TN!!

  3. I think I’ve said this before, but it is so cool that Terry is a youth pastor. So, so cool. The youth leaders I had throughout my sunday school – especially the ones brave enough to take us on our retreats and over night ventures – still hold such cool, special places in my heart. Those retreats were always equally full of learning and ridiculous antics (secret to the adults. shh).

    Can I just say how jealous I am of your meet up with Heather (and Matilda)? From both sides. This was SO nice to see!!

    1. Thank you for the compliment! I love that he is a youth pastor too, but especially love when others say the same.
      We will need to figure out a way to make Canada and South Carolina closer! Or maybe you will just have to be in a traveling show?!

  4. When I was 16, being 23 was an adult. I wish I knew then that I am still about as clueless now as I was then. Now I’m clueless about car repairs, bills and cleaning up after myself hahaha

Leave a Reply

