Balance isn’t a percentage (WIAW)

You know those times when you indulge in a special “treat” and tell yourself it’s a special occasion? You know how you swear it’s not how you normally eat, but special occasions seem to be occurring every other day? You know how your eating seems to not want to follow a routine whatsoever during the months of November and December?

You do know that you’re not alone, right? I hope so.

Sharing my eats from Monday for What I Ate Wednesday– join the party!

wed1.jpg

Breakfast: coconut flour pancakes (1 ripe banana + 1 egg + 1 egg white + 1.5 tbsp coconut flour) with cinnamon raisin peanut butter (it’s a thing). Plus coffee and a piece of 85% dark chocolate.

I won’t deny it- there were many days over the holidays when I had to remind myself that french fries aren’t really much of a vegetable. There were handful of times that I realized I ate dessert twice. I got a little too excited when the Carolina Panthers scored 20 points, because I knew Papa John’s pizza would be 1/2 off the next day. I suggested we have a bonfire multiple times a week, because S’MORES.

Lunch: Turkey noodle soup made with leftover turkey,  with handfuls of rice crackers (I freaking love this brand!) and raw veggies topped with cottage cheese and pepper.

On the other side, amidst all the groans of “I’m going to gain 100 lbs” and “I have to work out after that meal”, I had to reassure myself that food has no business flirting with guilt. The two were just never meant to be together. Sure, I was eating way more sugar and far less veggies than I normally would, but they don’t call it the holidays for nothing. Refraining from homemade gifted goodies is not a sign of strength if I really want to partake. At least not for me. For me it is demonstrating that I am letting outside messages get in my head.

wed

Afternoon Snack: Brie bite (a winner from Trader Joe’s) with pomegranate arils. I popped the brie in the microwave for several seconds so it was all melt-y and wonderful .

The holidays are meant for celebrating! Your eating may look a little different than normal, but not everyday is holiday… (unless you want it to be). I have spent many holidays thinking way too hard about how I was going to manage my intake and how I was going to make everything “balance”.

wed6

Dinner: Sausage egg white casserole with a sweet potato roasted as little bites and ketchup.

Yet, now I know. Balance isn’t really about one day. It’s not even about a week. I guess you could say it is about a year because boring ol’ March will balance December… but that’s not what I’m saying. Balance isn’t a percentage. To me, balance is about you- on the inside. The balance from within will balance all other aspects of life- including your food. Balance sees the big picture and knows that two back-to-back indulgent dinners balance out if they are in good company.

wed5

Netflix Snack: Whole grain toast with a smear of Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter, almond milk, and an orange.

Maybe I’m just trying to say -trust yourself. Don’t second guess everything you do (or eat). Especially if you are like me and love plants. They aren’t going anywhere. So don’t think of them (or exercise for that matter) while enjoying the double chocolate cake I made you. When you happen to have several special occasions in a row, no need to fear them- relish them. I mean, how blessed are we?

So tell me…

Do you struggle with understanding what balance looks like for you?

What is the most delicious thing you ate over the holidays? Probably that sausage egg white casserole. Or peppermint mocha cookies. Yum!

 

24 thoughts on “Balance isn’t a percentage (WIAW)

  1. Love this post, Kate, and wholeheartedly agree with everything you say here! We need to try to reframe any negative thoughts about balance, especially in regards to the holidays. An extra cookie here or there won’t change anything (including our weight!) in the long run.

    Mm that Brie cheese with Pom seeds looks like a class A snack. Is that turkey noodle soup homemade or store bought? Looks delicious!

    My most delicious meal this past week was a butternut squash pizza out with friends and a few too many cocktails! Company and memories > negative thoughts of calories, fat, sugar, poor self image.

    1. Butternut squash pizza? That sound delicious! I’d love some of that. The brie bite was honestly just too good. The turkey noodle soup is homemade! I overcooked elbow noodles so they were kind of like dumplings. 😛

  2. I definitely agree with you – although I’m preggers so, gimme all the goods, there have been times in the past when during the holidays I start to guilt myself about what i’ve eaten – but you know what? To me, the holidays kind of are about eating junk. I mean, if you can sit there and eat an apple while everyone else chows down on homemade cookies, more power to you, but that’s not Christmas to me. Plus, it’s not an every day of the year thing. A few days of not eating perfect won’t kill you!

  3. I don’t know what balanced is, so I don’t really think about it. I eat mostly the same foods throughout the week so I usually know what my body wants and can handle. Though admittedly, I go overboard sometimes when I get excited (I made my own almond butter! Come on it was awesome!!) but then the next day I don’t want it as much. I like it that I can trust my body to tell me what it wants 🙂

  4. I definitely have to remind myself that even though I’m going out to eat/indulging more, exercising less and drinking more, I’m not doing that at every single meal or if I am, it’s always no more than a couple of days in a row. Thanks for that message today 🙂

  5. Balance is challenging for me at times, and I’ve definitely come away from the dessert table wondering if I’ve had too much. However, I’ve found that it’s a little easier to not fixate on it now that I’m a mama and have somebody else to worry about!

  6. “To me, balance is about you – on the inside.” —-> This. I think we are all struggling to find “balance,” and yet we look for it in the wrong places. We feel we will find balance through food/exercise etc., but those things, as hard as we try, never end up satisfying that craving. In order to have these things feel balanced, I really believe we need to first find a balance within ourselves – a balance of compassion and self acceptance.
    Brie bites? That is genius. Trader Joes please come to Canada.

  7. Great post, Kate! (And your eats look delish.)
    I look forward to the holidays because I *know* I get to enjoy all the special treats. I don’t worry if I had cake for breakfast or have gone days without a salad because I make up for it eventually. I am *not* what I eat! I can, however, tell when I’ve had enough because I start to feel sluggish and foggy!

    1. Thanks! I think that is what “normal” looks like. Being EXCITED for the special treats and not worrying about how many you’ll eat. I think the more comfortable I get with it the better attuned I am at knowing when is a good stopping point.

  8. Yum, everything looks so delicious! I don’t know if I should sometimes care a little more, but I really don’t feel much guilt when it comes to food, and I eat a lot of sweets haha! I feel as if some people would judge my day of eats (especially recently) and call it unhealthy, but my body has a way of telling me when I’m being too unhealthy. I get sluggish, my heart beats a little harder (it sounds weird I know, but that’s what it feels like to me), and I generally feel uncomfortable. A healthy day of eats and hitting up the gym always helps with that. So I guess it really is about listening to your body after all!

  9. I can definitely relate to the “finding balance” struggle. I try and listen to what my body and what my soul wants. But, at times it can get confusing and frustrating. You’re definitely not alone. Happy New Year! ❤

Leave a Reply

