All star day of eats (WIAW)

Hey friends!

It’s a Wednesday, and not just any Wednesday- it’s Christmas Eve Eve! Who’s ready? I’ve heard a lot of people say that it doesn’t feel like Christmas. While I totally get the feeling, because I’ve said it in prior years, the saying kind of makes me sad. You know who makes Christmas feel like Christmas? We do! So turn on your Christmas tree lights, listen to some Christmas tunes, call up your friends and family you haven’t spoken to in far too long, get a little surprise for someone you love, and bake a million different Christmas cookies. I’ve done all of the above and I’m totally feeling it. Even if it was 65 degrees yesterday.

Today I am sharing my eats from Wednesday. Head over to the What I Ate Wednesday party to see some more good eats! I’m calling these “all star eats”, because nothing passed my lips that I didn’t love!

__

Confession: Since it’s Christmas break, I’ve been sleeping in a little later than usual. Hard to believe, but Terry has actually woken up before me a few times. Who am I? Nonetheless, breakfasts have been enjoyed and coffee has been sipped a little slower.

break

Breakfast: Whole grain toast with peanut butter, banana slices, and cinnamon. Plus coffee and a piece of 85% dark chocolate.

My parents came into town to join us for an early lunch, so I started off with a lighter breakfast. Toast doesn’t usually fill me up, but this breakfast is such a classic! This is my go-to if I am ever in a hurry.

My parents came and we went to my favorite spot in Rock Hill, The Yolk. There is almost always a wait, but if you’ve got the time it is totally worth it. They’ve got a lot of creative foods plus the creamiest grits ever. You southerners know what I mean. It was great to relax and chat with my parents. They agreed it was worth wait and I did NOT bring the hype for nothing :D.

lunch

Lunch: Egg white omelette with smoked gouda, tomatoes, and spinach. Plus a side of delicious, creamy grits that were so rich I couldn’t even finish them all. But I tried my best. 😉

With my new found free time, I’ve been baking. A lot. I spend 1-2 hours a day in the kitchen and I don’t hate it. Yesterday I cleaned my fridge and it looks BEAUTIFUL. Anyways, one of my latest creations was Pumpkin Pecan Granola (sub almonds for pecans) thanks to the sweet Stephanie. Too dang addictive!

snack

Snack: Microwaved pear, plain yogurt, and slightly burnt pumpkin pecan almond granola (recipe)

Later that evening, Terry was sweet and went on a run with me around the neighborhood. Thank God for the warmer weather! We came back ready to eat, so I threw a quick dinner together on the fly. The plan was for turkey burgers on whole grain rolls + carrot fries. The bread was moldy though, so blue corn tortilla chips subbed in and we had “salads”. Terry had the genius idea to put the cheese IN the patty and it was a good decision. These little sliders turned out so good I think I need to write up the recipe.

din

Dinner: Turkey burger sliders with mozzarella cheese on a bed of spinach with carrot fries and blue corn tortilla chips. Ketchup and mustard for dipping.

Our friends gifted us with an old Wii, so we spent the evening playing a dance game. Want to fall over on the floor from laughing so hard? Play dance games with your husband who doesn’t normally dance, but is too competitive to not turn it up!

After dancing, working on some future blog posts, and wrapping gifts, we settled in on the couch to watch our newest show, The Office. Yes, I totally get the love for it! It’s hilarious.

snack1

Snack: skinny chocolate muffin (recipe here also I used stevia and it worked well) with a smear of peanut butter and almond milk.

This was a yummy day, if I do say myself. I’ve been loving the life without a packed lunch. It’s amazing how much I can pack in my days without any real responsibilities!

So, tell me how YOU are getting into the Christmas spirit? 

 

25 thoughts on “All star day of eats (WIAW)

  1. Creamy grits are the best!! And that omelette sounds delicious! Gouda is one of my favorite cheeses ever, especially smoked Gouda.
    I would love to hear about the turkey slider recipe!
    I hope you have a wonderful Christmas Eve Eve!!

    1. Omg sometimes I have to turn away because I am so embarrassed for him- haha!! I think I would personally take on being his guide to being socially acceptable, because he is so lovable!

  2. I completely agree about how WE make it feel like Christmas. I think the only time it was hard for me to “get into” Christmas ever was last year because I had a little baby and I was just damn tired ahahaha I didn’t even have energy to decorate, so it was pretty ho hum.

  3. I’m pretty sure I never ate grits until middle school (#pickyeater), but now I love ’em. Those do look extra creamy and rich!

    I miss our Wii. We still have it but it’s hiding in a closet since we have no time to play. I loved Wii bowling and hit preeetty darn competitive when I played.

    Merry Christmas Eve Eve! It’s 70-something and rainy here (survived driving through 2 flooded streets today) but it’s all about the spirit!

  4. Looks like a great day of eating! I enjoy toast with PB and banana most time of the day 🙂 I eat it as a preworkout before my long runs with a low-carb tortilla instead of the toast.

  5. Such a great attitude towards the [missing] Christmas spirit. In the end, it really is us creating it.
    Oh and I’m not a Southerner – not even from the US – but creamy grits sound really delicious.
    I hope you’ll have an amazing holiday with your family, Kate!

  6. I feel like you and Terry would kick down some pretty major competition on the dance floor. I’m now wondering what Terry’s main grooves are…
    Toast/pb/banana is also my go to quick breakfast – a standard that will never get old. I have yet to try grits but man those look satisfying
    I love that you’ve been enjoying so much baking… and yes to getting that fridge done!! 🙂

  7. Man I wish I could sleep in, but my body naturally gets me at by 630, so thats as late as I go! Which is ok for me, considering Im typically up by 445 to get to the gym by 5am. So I guess I have been sleeping in? haha MERRY CHRISTMAS!

  8. I LOVE grits! I had them at my aunt’s house the other day for the first time in years and they were so good.

    And the Office- so glad you’ve started watching it! It’s the BEST.

    I also love what you said about how WE make it feel like Christmas, not the weather. Merry Christmas, Kate!

Leave a Reply

