Pumpkin Lentil Patties + the weekend

It’s Christmas week!! Eeee! I’m so pumped for all the excitement. Last night we had a really fun church service just to celebrate the season and THE reason. Our youth led the program and did a wonderful job.

My weekend definitely felt like a “true weekend,” mainly thanks to no homework. As I laid on the couch watching the Panthers game Sunday afternoon I thought to myself, “this must be life after school”.

This weekend was a good one. Friday we saw the new Stars Film. Terry bought me this really cute shirt to sport. He was Han Solo himself, which of course made me feel like the coolest chick in the theater. I wanted to go as Leia, but couldn’t get my stuff get together in time.

We went with our two friends who marathon-ed it with us over the last two weeks. We were all super pleased with the movie. Terry and I even shed some tears. He did so on more than on occasion. I think I realized what I love about the saga is that it makes you feel every emotion. Truly. The movies make you happy, scared, sad, nervous, romantic, daring… and the list goes on.

After the movie, Terry and I went on a special date to Jim N Nick’s, a popular BBQ spot in Charlotte. Thanks to my aunt & uncle for the gift card!

The place is definitely popular for a reason. It was PACKED and I was thankful it was just the two of us needing a seat rather than a group. They start you off with these delicious cheesy cornbread muffins. So warm and southern. I got the Greek salad with smoked chicken and the chicken was SO good and tender. I’m kind of meh on most meats, but this one had me wanting more. Terry’s BBQ was extremely tasty. The meat was just so tender. He also got some yummy collards (they had a kick) and what he dubbed as the best mac n’ cheese ever. I’d say the cheese to noodle ratio was 3:1. All in all it was a wonderful date night!

Saturday we had Christmas with my granddaddy and my grandmother Iola. My little brother who is home from college was sporting a strange mustache when I saw him, but luckily it didn’t last very long. Also, I love that picture of my dad!

My nephew Easton was gifted with a cool play 4 wheeler and it was love at first sight.

The food was amazing, of course. I brought green bean almondine that I made from fresh green beans, and it was a hit! My granddaddy’s fried turkey was the real winner, as always.

Terry’s heart was satisfied with Iola’s signature red velvet cake. He even let me sneak a few bites! 😉

Before going to the Christmas party at my parents’, I wanted to cook us a healthy lunch. I made us salads with pumpkin lentil patties.

lentilc

I am a true lentil lover. They are so versatile, but I also find them delicious on their own.They are a great source of fiber, protein, folate, and other B vitamins. Not to mention, they are super cheap! I made these patties up on the fly, but found them to be so good I had to share.

Pumpkin Lentil Patties 

Makes 6-7 patties

Ingredients
2 cups cooked lentils
1/3 cup canned pumpkin
1 egg
1 tbsp tomato paste
1/4 cup diced onion
1 tsp minced garlic (or one garlic clove)
Cumin, salt/pepper, and paprika to taste (I used heavy dashes)

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 F. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper. Mix all ingredients together until well combined. Spoon out about 1/3 cup of mixture onto pan. With the back of a spoon, flatten out and shape like a patty. (I find this technique a lot less messy than making patties with my hands). Bake patties for 25 minutes. Set on broil for one minute. Patties should be firm, not mushy or wet. Serve on salads, sandwiches or by themselves.

lentilb

The tomato paste gave these a really nice savory flavor. For leftovers I reheated them in the toaster. So easy and yummy!

lentil

Try these out for a really easy and healthy lunch. Let me know what you think!

Are you a lentil fan? I bet I could make you one 😉

Did you see the Star Wars movie? Any movie you looking forward to this Christmas?

11 thoughts on “Pumpkin Lentil Patties + the weekend

  1. I’m a huge lentil fan! In fact, I done in a soup last night! I’ve had lentils on their own, in soups and in salads, but never in a veggie burger. I’ll have to give that a try!!
    I’m looking forward to the new Tina Fey/ Amy Poelher (sp?) movie. I think I’m going to see it next week.
    I bet you and Terry were the cutest couple at the movie!!!

  2. YAY for finally having a real weekend (I reveled in the same feelings this weekend – its amazing how good it feels to even have one or two days of “freedom”). Yay for starting the festivities early and seeing family! And yay for awesome dates – you guys are way too cool with your star wars get up. Yay for all of this, really. Lentils are a dream ingredient – so versatile and soo cheap. You are on a role with your kitchen creations! These patties look fabulous.

Leave a Reply

