Ritz Truffles

Good morning lovelies!

So, yesterday it rained pretty much ALL day. I slept in until about 8:30 (!!!!) and woke up to a heavy down pour. What else could be done except for… holiday baking?!?!

bake6

I’ve been wanting to bake some treats for some of my friends and yesterday was the perfect day for it. After brainstorming and searching the web as well as my pantry I came up with a few ideas.

1st: Ritz truffles

We bought these fudge covered Ritz on impulse on a Target trip. While they are tasty, I was kind of over them after having two.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I wanted to use them up and after no help from the interwebs, I decided to make truffles.

Ritz Truffles
For the base:
3 sleeves of fudge covered Ritz crackers
1/4 cup peanut butter
For the coating:
3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 tbsp peanut butter
1 tsp coconut oil

First, pulse the crackers in a food processor/blender into a fine crumb. Add the peanut butter until well combine. Roll the mixture into ball shapes. Freeze for ~15 minutes.

bake 1

Next, put all of the coating ingredients into a small sauce pan. Stir on low heat until melted. Dip each ball into the sauce until completely coated. Place on parchment paper. Once all are coated, sit in the freezer until hardened. Keep refrigerated for best results.

bake5

2nd: s’more squares

I also made these Crispy Cinnamon Cornflake Squares (click for recipe). I added chocolate chips (about 1/4 cup) to make them s’more squares! So good.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I added chocolate drizzle for beautification! 😀 I also used a 9 x 13 pan instead of 8 x 8 like the recipe suggested. They would have been really thick if I used the later.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Both turned out really tasty! I am especially excited to hand them out- aren’t food gifts the best? I actually wish I could give everyone of you five of them.

bake8

My baking fever did not stop there. I also made peppermint mocha cookies (click for recipe.) OH MAN WERE THESE GOOD.bake7

In fact, I am pretty sure these will be a new Christmas tradition. Way better than the latte from ‘Bucks that disappointed me last week.

Since I am planning on bringing healthier items  (think fruit and veggies) to Christmas get-togethers next week, I really enjoyed this day of baking!

Do you have a Christmas baking tradition? 

23 thoughts on “Ritz Truffles

  1. Those Ritz truffles!?!?! Wow! It’s like sweet and salty heaven! I’ll be trying those for sure (with almond butter 😉). I’ve never made chocolate peppermint cookies before, but they look amazing!! I’m doing some baking tomorrow with my mama and Monday with John’s mom. I think I need to add some new treats to the list! Have a great weekend!!!

  2. You are a little baking genius!! Microwave baked oats to ritz truffles? You definitely have a talent for figuring out your own baking creations – keep it going! Now I’m going to need some of those cornflake squares on my table reallll quick.

  3. I thought it was just the truffles, and then BAM! Those gooey, sticky and delicious looking squares. Then I was ready to comment, and DOUBLE BAM! The peppermint cookies! As usual, every shot is making me drool. Sounds like a Christmas tradition that I need to get in on! The Ritz truffles are absolutely genius. I think you need to sell that idea to a bakery 😉 And I agree with Jack about your friends being some dang lucky people!

      1. You would be a fantastic bakery owner! If I lived in your town, I’d visit your bakery just to say hi. I’m sure lots of other people would be regulars too, not only because the food is good but because the owner is so thoughtful and passionate about food 🙂

  4. Holy smokes girl – you got to creating didn’t you?! So many tasty treats in this post! Though I’ve never seen those Ritz truffles before. If they were gluten-free I would be hunting those things down STAT!

Leave a Reply

