Chickpea Monday (WIAW)

Today is a good day.

[Today is my first day of Winter break. I am officially finished with my third semester of grad school. I am feeling great right now!]

Today is also Wednesday, so I am bringing a full day of eats to the What I Ate Wednesday party. These are Monday’s eats. Monday was a day of work / gym / exam / movie night.

Breakfast: Microwaved “baked”  pumpkin oatmeal. To make it I combined 1/2 cup oats, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1/4 cup almond milk, 1 egg, and cinnamon into a greased bowl and microwaved it for 4 minutes. For full enjoyment, I plopped it on a plate and topped it with peanut butter. Served with coffee and followed by a piece of dark chocolate.

wiam5

For a mid-morning snack, I had 3 banana oatmeal cookies I made the night before. I regretted eating these so early in the morning, because I was trapped in a room for 8-1:30 and my stomach started eating itself around 11.

wiam

The cookies were made simply with 1 banana + 1/2 cup oats + 2 tbsp peanut butter + cinnamon all mixed together and spooned out on a pan to make 15 or so blobs. I baked the pan of blobs on 350 F for about 12 minutes.

Lunch: snack plate of sorts with carrot chips, homemade hummus, rice crackers, slice of brie, and an orange.

wiam3

This simple meal was so satisfying that I had it the next day too. I have never bought rice crackers before this recent purchase, but man are they tasty! I will definitely buy them again.

Following a lower body work out, I had an afternoon snack consisting of this Honey Bar.

wiam4

I liked that the bar was marked down to $.50 and that it had very few ingredients: sesame seeds, almonds, honey, and chocolate liquor. It left a lot to be desired, honestly. I think because I expected chewy, like the Kind bars, but got hard instead.

Dinner: Crockpot Chickpea, Brown Rice, and Broccoli Casserole Crockpot Chickpea, Brown Rice, and Broccoli Casserole by Hummusapian plus unpictured frozen grapes.

wiam2

This is an ugly meal, but it was very tasty! I used a California blend vegetables instead of just using broccoli. I also left the crockpot on low all day instead of high for 2, so it turned kind of mushy, but I kind of liked it like that. The hot sauce put it over the top! Super yummy and cheap meal.

After watching Star Wars Episode IV, I had thick slice of chocolate banana bread and a cold glass of almond milk for a late night snack.

wiam1

This was one of those days that everything I had left me feeling really good! I honestly didn’t intentionally make it a meatless Monday, but it just worked out that way. I like going meatless for a lot of my meals, because it helps me to be more creative and consume more variety. You know?

That’s all from me today, but I’ll be back tomorrow!

You tell me…

What’s your favorite granola bar?

Favorite ugly food?

24 thoughts on “Chickpea Monday (WIAW)

  1. I recognize that Krause MNT textbook! Those oatmeal banana cookies are whats up; so simple yet perfect for on the go snacks. Any breakfast topped with PB and followed by chocolate fits my book. Congrats on finishing your 3rd semester of grad school – you are well on your way! Enjoy the break 🙂

  2. Yay for winter break!! I hope you enjoy some much deserved time off!
    I love the sound of that breakfast! It make such a cute little cake!
    Those banana cookies do sound like the perfect snack, even if the timing did not quite hold you over till lunch.
    Do you just roast your carrots to make chips? They look delicious!

  3. Congrats 🙂 I just love snack plates like that with a whole bunch of tastes and textures going on – truly so satisfying when you’re in the mood! Funny timing… I have a really similar crock-pot meal from the Hummusapien in my WIAW today. Didn’t think to add hot sauce though – great idea. Ahhh enjoy the freedom and rest, Kate!

  4. SUCH a good day of eats. I’ve never thought of doing a “quick” version of baked oats. I love baked oats but am often too lazy/dont have time/the batch makes too much for one person – so this is awesome. And I’m not a snack plate person but for some reason your combination sounds perfect. I’m all for mushy food. I’m going to do really well as a senior. And I just love that you love Star Wars – have I said that before? Congrats on being donnnneeee!

    1. I was searching for a microwave version of the oats and couldn’t find one, so I just had to do it myself!
      I am now a Star Wars fan and I never thought I would be, but it has my heart!

  5. That title alone got me intrigued because I’m a serious chickpea addict. Only two cans left in the pantry mean equal a shortage and need for a grocery run. Thanks for the remainder to finally try Alexis’ casserole. It’s been on my to-try list forever though I don’t have a crockpot but I figure there will be a way to prepare it without one.
    Random but that dress you’re wearing in the cookie picture is cute. I hope you’ll get to enjoy a very restful break!

  6. For some reason, I’m always checking and rechecking your blog (it’s in my favourites) because I just want to know what you’ve been eating lately! 🙂 This post certainly did not disappoint – your pumpkin baked oats look so convenient and delicious. How did you make your peanut butter SO creamy?! My favourite ugly food is any “mixture” of things – veggies, a grain like quinoa, a protein (chickpeas, hummus, egg, whatevah) and a sauce (curry, Thai, peanut sauce, etc). Everything is so yum when mixed together! Also eggs. Scrambled eggs turn out ugly but SO creamy and delicious! 🙂

    LARABARS! My favourite “granola” bar by far. The peanut butter chocolate chip ones are heaven.

      1. SO true. And pesto scrambled eggs – so freaking delicious – but they look like coagulated speckled slime. Not attractive but I could devour plate after plate! 🙂 Have you tried pesto scrambled eggs?

  7. LOL. Favorite ugly food. Love that.

    Whenever I make bars or brownies to share, the side bits which don’t make the picture get that prize! I’ve also totally had one of those bars before, and my sister lost her first tooth on it haha- It’s SO hard!

  8. My favorite granola bar would have to be Clifbars. It’s like a bowl of oatmeal on the go. My morning bowls look kind of crazy when I use my hemp protein powder. It was a great price…but the color makes me realize why =P

Leave a Reply

