Baking for Christmas Break

Happy Friday, folks!

First things first: Happy 2nd birthday to my little girl, Jules. We’ve had our ups and downs, but I can always count on you to snuggle with me.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Sorry for the late post- it was late evening and early morning. I am actually still trying to get over the sadness I have after watching “Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith”. I didn’t think that I would get so into the movies, but they have such a good story line, strong character development, and a ton of spiritual references/symbolisms. It is things like that that made me OBSESSED with Harry Potter. I’m excited to see 4-6 now! But still very sad at the same time… I will just leave with this image. 😦

anakin

ANYWAYS, Star Wars is not what I wanted to discuss today. I have the holidays on my mind and for the past month+ I have been thinking about all the things I want to bake/make over break. Most of them are sweets… but that’s because sweets tend to be the most time consuming and school/work life don’t like to leave me with time.

Here are a few on the top of my list:

Pumpkin Pecan Chunky Granola by Stephanie

pumpkin_pecan_granola_cover_photo (1)
Source: Mindful Eats and Treats

I haven’t made granola since LAST Christmas, but I do say it is time! I love it as a snack, plain or over cottage cheese. The “pumpkin” is what sold me on this one.

The Best Chocolate Cake Ever by Robyn

chocolate-cake-DSC_1788
Source: Addapinch

Can we just take a minute to appreciate that beautiful work of art? Double chocolate cake is one my all time favorites, but I’ve never actually made it before. I am going to make it for a Christmas party this weekend and I am SO excited to see how it turns out!

Peppermint Chocolate No-bake Bites by Alexis

IMG_3939a
Source: Hummusapian

I can always use more on-the-go healthy snacks and this peppermint + cocoa combination is one of my favorites!

No- bake Peanut Butter Cup Pie by Kylie

peanut-butter-cup-pie-5
Source: Immaeatthat

This one is especially for Terry, the biggest PB cup lover I know. When I saw it, I knew it had to be done. I love Kylie’s blog- all her recipes are so fun and unique. She’s got a great food philosophy, too.

Baked Homemade Pizza Rolls by Cassie

pizzarolls
Source: Back to Her Roots

Would you look at that childhood favorite all re-done and sophisticated? I don’t know if I could enjoy the original pizza rolls like I used to as a kiddo, but these look fantastic. What a cool idea to use wonton strips??

Easy Cinnamon Rolls by Sally

cinnamon
Source: Sally’s Baking Addiction

Cinnamon rolls are another thing I’ve never made from scratch. These babies have Christmas morning written all over them. I love that these are a little easier than most recipes too- yeast is no cake walk to work with.

One Pan Enchilada Pasta by Melissa

One-Pan-Enchilada-Pasta_-5
Source: No. 2 Pencil

Yum! Mexican food in pasta form. The love for one-pan meals is real. I think this will serve as an excellent meal to switch up from all the holiday food. Terry loves these kind of meals too- meaty, cheesy, and saucy (but not too spicy for him).

_

So while that is definitely not the end of my must make list, these are certainly on the top!

Do you have a recipe on the top of your list for holiday baking/making? I can always add to mine!

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Baking for Christmas Break

  1. Double chocolate cake is definitely one of my favorites as well! Let me know how it turns out!
    I always make homemade cinnamon rolls for Christmas morning! It’s such a fun tradition! And we ALWAYS make peppermint bark- (3 ingredients dark chocolate, white chocolate, and candy canes) and one of my favorite holiday treats EVER!!

  2. Collecting recipes to make once your exams – or in my case my show – are all over is so fun. And whats funner is then finally being done so you can make them all!! I definitely have a list going – mostly sweets as well (duh – christmas). I know I won’t get to them all but half the fun is browsing and choosing. Can’t wait to hear some reviews!

  3. Ouh, I love this list! I especially love that you are wanting to make my granola ;)!! That chocolate cake is also absolutely beautiful, seriously the picture is amazing. Everything you are wanting to make looks so good and definitely more time consuming (I can see why you wouldn’t have time to make these during the school year), but oh so very worth it!

  4. You always share the best recipes! 🙂 Happy birthday, Julie. That no-bake peanut butter pie just made the top of my to-bake list! Other things I have to make include cheesecake, lentil loaf, and veggie meatballs during my winter break. Oh, that granola looks so good. I think I will make a batch for myself sometime soon and probably demolish it in a day or two (okay, more like two sittings). Thanks for sharing – I feel so inspired now! 🙂

  5. Baking is so fun! Especially when it’s not stressful or taking you away from the other things you should be doing 😉 I had a whoopie pie yesterday and love the idea of giant Oreos. You should make them…and then send them to me =P

  6. I think we have similar cooking/baking tastes because because I would love ALL of these. I love one pot meals and the enchilada pasta looks great! I also love making lots of little treats to give out as Christmas gifts. At the top of my Christmas baking list are usually chocolate peanut butter buckeyes and sugar cookies to decorate.

    P.S. Google black magic cake! It uses coffee as one of the ingredients (you can’t taste it- it just makes the chocolate flavor really rich and delicious!) and it makes great chocolate layer cakes!

    1. I am really excited for the one pot meal- it is on our meal plan this week.
      My mom wants me to make buckeyes for our christmas get together-they are so yummy!
      And thanks for the google tip!

Leave a Reply

