Thanksgiving 2015

Happy Monday everyone!

I hope all my American pals had an amazing Thanksgiving weekend that included time with  those you love and one too many helpings of your grandma’s special casserole. My grandma’s asparagus casserole took the cake for me- I think I need to try and recreate asap.

I had not one, but THREE Thanksgiving feasts. Luckily each had a day of their own.

Terry and I were lucky enough to spend 3 days with our family and I cannot thank God enough! Soaking up all that time really made me realize how much I have to be grateful for!

[Prepare for a photo dump]

My Thanksgiving break started with my friends coming over for dinner. I loved getting off from my internship and coming home to cook a big dinner. We also enjoyed our fire pit (and s’mores of course).

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Thanksgiving morning Terry and I started the morning with a run/walk. It felt good to be active early in the day!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

First stop: my Uncle’s house. We had a huge gathering of cousins, aunts, uncles, and everything in between. It was especially fun because we have a whole new generation of children coming up!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Thanksgiving lunch… Grandma’s asparagus casserole was the BOMB, but I thought my carrot raisin salad and cranberry corn muffins turned out pretty good too!

thank7

Here’s my family including my Grandma, but minus my older sister. Can’t you tell more than one person is trying to snap a pic?

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Second stop: My mother-in-law’s house where I got to see this cute little niece of mine.

thank9

Third stop: Our friend’s home where I got to meet this new 7 lb. little human! She was the sweetest and let me hold her without any issues!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

The next day we stopped at my Granddaddy’s. He fed us leftovers, and I have to say, his fried turkey is the best ever. More time with little cousins. Here my sister is making little Sophie giggle endlessly.

thank18

What really made me happy was to see my BFF, Rachel. She’s living in Tennessee, so I don’t get to see her nearly often enough. I definitely treasured this visit!

thank2

Later that night I had my little brother and nephew help make some cookies. What is it about pre-made dough that makes it wonderfully chewy and unlike any homemade cookie?

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Day 3 and final day away from home was spent at my Aunt’s for one last time of feasting and fellowship.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Play time!

thank14

Feast #3- this side of the family always makes butter beans and I love it!

thank12

Of course, there was plenty of football watching. Dad + cousin.thank10

The weather the last couple of days could NOT have been better! I wanted to be outside all day long. Terry and I even took a late night walk around my parent’s neighborhood, because it was still 70 degrees! Woop woop!

thank

Of course, I can’t not talk about the weekend without mentioning my team, the Panthers! 11-0!

thank19

 

I honestly could NOT have asked for a better last couple of days!

What was your favorite part of the weekend?

Did you enjoy beautiful weather too?

Favorite Thanksgiving dish?

25 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2015

  1. Aww your heart must have been SO full all weekend. I love all the pictures and how cute is your niece!!! By the way, I got behind on blog reading last week but just caught up on your last couple of posts and just had to say how beautiful they both were. Thanks for your honesty and transparency. Your space here is one that has a way of uplifting and I (and I’m sure many others) really cherish it! Hope you have a great week 🙂

  2. Asparagus casserole looks so delicious! The photos of you and your family are so lovely. I am sure you had a fantastic weekend. Great meals as usual 🙂 I love your photography and honesty!

  3. Yay for morning/night walks! They are so perfect for getting my mind right. I’m so glad you were able to relax for a few days, looks like a great time with friends and family. I’m sure you enjoyed taking in every last bit of it!

  4. Our weather was really great on Thanksgiving! It got up to 60 degrees and it was sunny. I’m so ready for colder temperatures now for Christmas. Let the snow fall and music blare. My favorite part about the day was listening to the Glee Christmas music greatest hits. No shame I love that album!
    The most delicious thing I ate…probably pie and my sweet potato cheese cake bars. My brother nailed the pie, I was extemely impressed 🙂

      1. Christmas music all day! I am putting it on in the store and feel so festive 🙂 It also was fun making paper snow flakes today to decorate the windows that the shoes are displayed in. I’m not hating.

  5. I love all the pictures!! You can tell there is just so much love and happiness going on! I’m so glad you had the chance to spend time with so many people you love!!!
    It was ridiculously warm here too! We had Matilda’s birthday party on Saturday and the kiddos got to run around outside and play. They love it!
    The carrot raisin salad looks delicious and I want your recipe for the cranberry corn muffins!

  6. What an amazing weekend, don’t you love holidays that just bring everyone together like that? It’s such a fun time to look forward to, especially with christmas coming up. I can’t believe you can still be wearing a dress outside, it is so cold here haha, lucky!!

    1. Yes, I love it so much! The fact that Christmas is so close makes the goodbyes a lot easier.
      This weekend’s weather was strangely warm, but it still not yet frigid. But frigid for me is 45 degrees F, so I doubt I could make it up there!

  7. Sounds like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving(s)!
    I’ve never had asparagus casserole, but it sure does sound delicious. I haven’t had fried turkey in years, either, but it’s sooooo yummy! We had nice weather too, but now it’s just hot and humid (perks of living in the South, I suppose).

  8. I am SO glad that you got the chance to surround yourself with all of your favorite people for the holidays! There is nothing more refreshing than family time. It totally grounds you :). Plus, all that great food isn’t too bad either 😉

Leave a Reply

