Pear & Chia Baked Oatmeal

I have something to make your Monday a little brighter. It’s for breakfast and it won’t disappoint.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

One thing about me that seems to be consistently true: I only want a warm breakfast. Smoothies, cereal, and yogurt are all nice at snack time, but I want my breakfast to be warm. The only exception is the occasional overnight oats, but I really only have those when I have an almost empty nut butter jar on hand.

My stand-by warm breakfasts- oatmeal, single serving pancakes, eggs, & toasted bagels.

l5

This semester I’ve discovered the joy of baked oatmeal. First in this glorious pumpkin form. My fall semester has turned out to be pretty darn hectic. I have lots of assignments to get done and I usually have to use my time in the morning before I go to work to finish them. Not having to take a lot of time to fix breakfast has been a saver.

This recipe came out of my need to use up two very soft pears. I thought about making muffins, but no recipe I saw caught my attention. When I can’t find just the right recipe, I usually just try to make something on my own.
l

Thanks to a couple of food science courses, I understand the function of various ingredients. However, what I’m learning as I recipe test is that finding the right quantities can be challenging. Yet, I’m here to tell you one thing- it’s kind of hard to screw up baked oatmeal. I threw together ingredients I knew would make a good base, then I added chia seeds for a nutritional boost and to help everything gel a little better.

l4

Lucky me, this turned out SO good. I used d’anjou pears which are known as “winter pears”, so you have a few months to make this with the sweetest pears available.

Another bonus is that servings are really hearty. I suggest having it with sunflower butter or maybe even cottage cheese. It won’t disappoint.

Pear & Chia Baked Oatmeal
Serves 4

Recipe
1.5 cups rolled oats
1 cup milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
2 tbsp chia seeds
1 egg
1 tsp baking soda
2 small/medium soft pears, diced
dash of salt / several dashes of cinnamon

Instructions: Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray an 8×8 pan. Combine all ingredients in a bowl, stir until all combined. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Allow to sit for 15 minutes before cutting.
Enjoy the next day by toasting in the oven.

Enjoy with a smile and hot coffee!oatDo you have a favorite oatmeal recipe?

31 thoughts on “Pear & Chia Baked Oatmeal

  1. I am 100% trying this! We unfortunately just finished all our pears but I’ll make sure to get more to make this, this looks like some type of crumble and it would make me SO happy to eat this for breakfast, thank you sooo much for this recipe!!!

  2. My favorite oatmeal breakfast is oats cooked with egg whites, almond milk, and lots of cinnamon. Plus PB and blueberries on top! It’s my absolute go-to when I don’t have vegetable omelet materials on hand.

  3. Mmmm this looks perfect! And congrats for not relying on a recipe and creating it yourself – so fun! I am SO with you in terms of warm breakfasts. I just can’t do smoothies.. can rarely do yogurt… and even overnight oats are a stretch. So baked oatmeal is great because it is fast to grab, can be reheated to get that warm oatmeal feel and as you said, a small ish serving can be sooo hearty. Looking forward to trying your recipe!

  4. I think my favorite part of this recipe is the ‘Enjoy with a smile!’ With a breakfast this yummy, how could you not smile!
    I don’t think I’ve ever cooked with pears before; I’m glad I can try it now.

  5. This looks sooo good and it had never occurred to me to include pear in my oatmeal but YUM. The morning tends to be a pretty productive time for me too so I love not spending tons of time on breakfast so that I can get to work a bit quicker. Lovely pictures by the way…. love that golden sunlight streaming in 🙂

  6. This oatmeal looks delicious! I typically just make quick cooking oats in the microwave with water and then add dried fruit and cashew or almond milk because it’s so easy. I love baked oatmeal, too, though and will have to make some soon! I LOVE pears and love your idea of adding them 🙂

  7. This looks fantastic! I love how it’s only 6-7 ingredients and makes enough for four servings. I would love adding a little vanilla extract! Your photographs are extra-beautiful here. 🙂
    My favourite oatmeal recipe involves a super-ripe banana mashed, with cocoa powder and topped with raspberries, muffin, and chocolate chips, with a massive scoop of nut butter! Yummy.

  8. I couldn’t resist telling you that these are in my oven baking at the moment! I’m so excited, I’ve never made anything like this before! I added vanilla and an extra tbsp of chia seeds, because why not! Can’t wait to eat these for breakfast tomorrow, I’ll let you know how I like them 🙂

Leave a Reply

