Confessional (WIAW)

It’s Wednesday aka hump day aka let me show you a full day of eats!

I’m writing this on Tuesday and not exactly looking forward to tomorrow, because I will be on a clear liquid diet in preparation for a colonoscopy on Thursday. I’m curious to know how a day subsisting on pure sugar (jello, popsicles, and juice) is going to make me feel. I am mostly just excited to prayerfully be getting more answers to my GI woes. I will let you know how it goes.

Perhaps tomorrow (or today?) I will look back on Monday’s eats and mentally enjoy them, just like I hope you will.

For breakfast, I woke up wanting something in pancake form. I opted for a flourless banana pancake with melty pumpkin spice peanut butter. Confession: I planned to use up some vegetables and have a veggie omelet, but I not-so-surprisingly was not wanting vegetables. 

wiam3

Of course, your girl enjoyed a couple cups of black coffee and a piece of the best EVER dark chocolate. 85% chocolate is my jam!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

As I discussed last week, I need a little mid-morning snack to tide me over until lunch. Today was 2 mini apple muffins and frozen green grapes. Confession: I actually had 3 mini muffins, because I can’t pack food without a taking a bite of it. 

wiam4

Lunch was dang delicious. A collection of leftovers on a bed on spinach and chopped carrots. The pasta salad consisted of  whole grain penne, cabbage, peas, onions, and balsamic vinaigrette. I had a shredded chicken breast that I cooked in a ancho chipotle sauce in the crock pot. Confession: I always forget to bring salad dressing. Lucky me, this pasta and saucy chicken were plenty!

wiam5

Snack-sized cookies and cream bar- because Halloweenie of course! These were my favorite candy bars as a kiddo.

wiam6

Later in the afternoon I got a diet coke, because my head was pounding. Confession: I prefer diet coke over ibuprofen to cure a headache. 

Before class I had a simple snack of Triscuits and peanuts. Love this salty + crunchy combo!

wiam7

Dinner was a stir-fry of cabbage, carrots, onions, minced garlic, and lean ground turkey. Plus a side of roasted potatoes. Ketchup and mustard were added post-photo. Here’s a tip- if you are a volume eater like me, slice your potato up into thin, bite-sized pieces before roasting. That pretty-sized pile is just one potato.

wiam9

Confession: I had no clue what I was doing when throwing this “stir-fry” together. I remembered on Chopped the judges often said a dish needed an acidic component, so I threw in some balsalmic vinegar. Good decision.

Post-dinner snacks included homemade crock pot pumpkin applesauce…

wiam2

And hearty whole grain toast with Justin’s chocolate hazelnut spread and almond milk. This was so satisfying!

wiam

I think I am going to repeat that snack tonight before bed.

Have you ever had to be on clear liquid diet? I have, but it was post-surgery.

Favorite night time snack?

35 thoughts on “Confessional (WIAW)

  1. Love your confessions. I am such a nibbler as I pack meals too. And ohhh that evening snack. My faves are pretty much anything with nut butter. Hope the day goes well and that you’re not too distracted by wanting to EAT all day! Fingers crossed that you get some insightful results. Keep us posted!

  2. Yikes about the clear liquid diet and the colonoscopy! Thoughts and prayers your way for answers and to ease the unpleasantness of that all liquid/sugar diet!!
    Confession: I am not a fan of savory breakfasts either, unless I am out to eat at a restaurant. In that case, I always get eggs!
    John loves the cookies and cream bars too!

  3. I have never gone on an all liquid diet but have watched my dad do that for his colonoscopy and it looks terrible. Good luck to you sir!!! My before bedtime snack is a PB& Nutella sandwich 🙂

  4. I’m so sorry girl that you’re struggling with GI issues. I’ll be praying that God will use the colonoscopy to give you some answers. I know how it is to struggle with digestive issues.

    That pumpkin applesauce looks good! I’ve never heard of something like that before, but I might try making some now that you’ve given me the idea.

  5. Good luck in your procedure!! I will keep you in my prayers. That kind of stuff is no fun – but neither is not knowing whats really going on! Hopefully you get some answers to help you out.

  6. I don’t blame you for not wanting veggies in the morning because your banana pancake looks divine! Those mini muffins look delicious as well! For whatever reason miniature food always taste better. Also, I am the same way when I pack my food I have to have a bite of it as well. Fortunately I have never been on a clear liquid diet so I wish you all the luck with that and that you get some answers!

  7. Good luck with your colonosocopy, that is a good health precaution to take! I am obsessed with pumpkin spice drippy peanut butter. What kind do you have?! I have a Nuts N More brand and I literally carry it with me in my purse. I love your tupperware separating the pasta and chicken – brilliant! Have an awesome day 🙂

  8. I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts today! A full day of liquids does not sound fun, but hopefully you’ll get to have a really delicious meal after it’s all over on Thursday. My prayers are with you!

    Favorite night time snack: anything with a spoon! ice cream, oatmeal, pudding, peanut butter. I just like cradling a bowl and lying on the couch. There’s something comforting about it right before bed. 🙂

    1. I appreciate your prayers. The colonoscopy didn’t work out, but I’m trusting God in all of it!

      Spoons do make things feel special! I’d even have a gooey brownie with a spoon!

  9. Your potato idea about chopping it into small pieces is a clever trick! I tend to feel ‘full’ by how much I think I’ve eaten more than anything else so I should give this a go

    1. Now that I have been in the habit to snack at bed time, I don’t know how to get out of it! I think I subconsciously save room for a snack during dinner.
      I need to make some granola!

  10. Yum! Your lunch looks so good, love me some leftovers! Also, if you’re doing an Asian stir fry or fried rice, highly recommend lemon juice or AC vinegar as an acid. Rice wine vinegar is my fave, but i rarely have it on hand 🙂 (obviously, I’ve been making a lot of fried rice and stir fry because pregnancy.)

  11. Keeping my fingers crossed the colonoscopy will shed some more light on your GI woes! Going through the liquid diet for a day shouldn’t be without results.
    Also: yay for another Moser Roth fan! Have you ever seen/tried their mint chocolate bars?

  12. Oh my goodness your lunch looks incredible! I am going to use that as inspiration to pack next week’s lunches. I’m also loving your post-dinner snack – how did I never think of having nut butter toast for a sweet nighttime nibble? LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

