Eats & Reads II

Yesterday morning Terry and I went on a breakfast date and it was deeee-licious. Our place of choice was my very favorite spot in town, The Yolk. They offer really creative dishes that range from healthy to indulgent to traditional to innovative.

IMG_2711(Photo source and more information)

My favorite meal here (and probably in all town), is the Pennell Barn Hash. The hash is a mix of whatever local veggies they have on hand. Today it was golden beets, kale, red kuri squash (my first time trying that one), and fingerling potatoes. The dish is topped two runny yolk eggs and served with hearty toast.
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Terry went the traditional route with the creamiest grits, eggs, bacon, and toast. It was served in the cutest little skillet!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Another delicious meal I had was cooked by me and it was so simple: 1 egg + 1 egg white omelet with sauteed chopped spinach and zucchini. I had a veggie patty on the side. I haven’t bought anything like them in a while, but when I saw Aldi had put out a new kind, I wanted to give it a try! It’s not high in protein (only 5 grams), but it was sure tasty!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I also discovered scorched peanut butter when I toasted this slice of baked pumpkin oatmeal with the peanut butter on top. I actually found the taste rather pleasant and plan to do it again soon!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

A few articles I liked this week:

What I learned from being a Vegas call girl via Christianity Today… Let’s open our ears to the stories of others.

Baking Brownies Just Right: Cakey, Chewy, or Fudgy via Fine Cooking… for all my fellow brownie lovers.

enhanced-buzz-13113-1445619816-9

22 Pictures People Who Aren’t Grad Students Will Never Understand via BuzzFeed

Expert discusses diet as emerging cause, management strategy for GI disease via Healio… boy would I love to be a GI dietitian!

Why The New ‘Feminist’ Rom-Com Is a Lie via Christianity Today… “Messy relationships are unavoidable. Navigating them requires grace for people and faith in something better.”

And that’s it for today. I hope you have a fabulous weekend!

What kind of brownie do you prefer: cakey, chewy, or fudge? Chewy here!

Do you have a go-to breakfast spot?

13 thoughts on “Eats & Reads II

  1. Both your and your husband’s breakfasts look SO good. I honestly think I could eat eggs or something breakfast-y 3 times a day!
    I’ll have to check out some of these links later.

  2. Both of those breakfasts look SO good! When Alex and I first started dating, we went to a new diner every Sunday (we live in NJ so there are a LOT of diners) and we had an all time favorite we went to a lot that had awesome skillets just like that! Sadly, we found out it closed after we moved out of the area, and I still blame myself hahah!

  3. Those eggs on your breakfast hash look perfect! I love poached eggs! The runny yolks make such a good ‘sauce’!
    That article about diet and GI disease is super interesting! If I could go back to school (again!), I would want to be a dietitian. Maybe someday!
    I hope you have a great weekend!

  4. I am always SOOOO envious of your meals! The eggy veggie omelet looks amazing as does the pumpkin oat bake. Loving that last pic, too. Kinda describes my life at the moment, where tons of assignments are nearly due and all I want to do is yoga and blog. 😥

  5. I love when restaurants bring out meals in skillets! I just adds on to the entire experience, especially with such a homestyle meal like grits and eggs. Love it!!

    My brownie of choice is: fudge! The denser the better for me. I’m not a fan of cake brownies but I would gladly also accept a chewy brownie. 🙂

    1. The skillets are really cute! Terry loved how they put the eggs & bacon right on top of the grits.
      I like fudge brownies a lot too. I tried a new recipe this weekend and it ended up being cakey, which was a bummer!

Leave a Reply

