Lickity split desserts

Friday is here!

Thank you guys for your sweet words yesterday. I went to the orthopedic doctor yesterday and learned that LUCKILY my big toe was not broken, but chipped/crushed on the top. So basically I have to give it a few weeks to heal and my nail will likely fall off. Gross, I know. I’m thankful for the pain meds though!

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Last night we hosted prayer meeting in our home and had about 20 people come. Prayer meeting is about sharing our burdens and victories and then spending time in prayer together. It is really a beautiful thing.

I wanted to provide some goodies for everyone to enjoy, but I was pretty short on time between school and work.  So went looking for easy and convenient and I ended up whipping up 5 different things:

Brownie mix + 15 oz can of pumpkin = fudgy brownie!Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Coconut cream pudding mix + premade graham cracker crust = coconut cream pie!

mm

My standby chocolate chip cookies – they’re only 5 ingredients and take 20 minutes to make and bake! (these are Terry’s favorite)

hh

Crock pot apple crisp that baked while I was at school!

unnamed (2)

And finally, yellow squash bread pulled out of the freezer from this summer. I don’t have a recipe, because it was a gift from a friend, but I can assure you it was good.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I was so happy to see that everyone enjoyed the sweets, but mostly loved having my home filled with people I love.

It is really starting to look like fall here and I love it… I snapped this picture at school yesterday since I just couldn’t get over how pretty the leaves were.

I am hoping to enjoy some time outside this weekend since the cold weather is rapidly approaching. I also realllly need to focus on getting some school work done. Wish me luck!

Any plans for the weekend?

Do you have a go to quick dessert?

10 thoughts on “Lickity split desserts

  1. Wow your house must have felt so full of life with that many people gathered around. And everything looks incredible!! Also, just read yesterday’s post. Man, I’m sorry that happened to you… must have been so frustrating and painful. But I love what you got out of it – very inspiring writing that hit home for me so thank you for that. I hope you get TONS done this weekend!

  2. I am so impressed by your ability to plan that many desserts and host that many people, all while your foot is injured! You are Wonder Woman!! I love the brownie mix and pumpkin idea; I used to do that all the time with chocolate cake mix, but I’ve never tried it with a brownie mix before. I will have to give that a try!
    I hope you have a fabulous and restful weekend!!

  3. Ugh I’m obsessed with brownie mix, its a problem!! It’s just so good, I’m not usually one for “store-bought” desserts, I’m all about the homemade. But those brownies mixes, they can be SO good! I didn’t know you could combine it with pumpkin, that must be so good! and it’s totally a way to make yourself feel like it’s healthier when eating it ;p

    1. I so know what you mean. I have never found a brownie recipe that replicates that chewy, but soft, flaky top brownie like the box does. Martha Stewart has a recipe that I love, but it is not even like the box.
      The pumpkin remix is good, but definitely different. It kind of makes it taste like there are marshmallows in them.

Leave a Reply

