All the homegoodies (WIAW)

Yesterday was the final day of my fall break, so I enjoyed all my meals & snacks at home. This was a nice change of pace from eating lunch at my desk at work.

My breakfast included spinach, which is somewhat a rarity for me. Not that I don’t love spinach, I just rarely include vegetables at breakfast time.

Breakfast included 2 slices of wheat toast, 1 egg + 1 egg white with spinach, and dollops of yogurt cream cheese and strawberry preserves.
Coffee x 2 and piece of 85% dark chocolate (of course)
bf
Later a golden delicious apple that I picked from the orchard this past weekend…
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
After an upper body workout at the gym, I came home and experimented with the soy protein powder I recently bought. In went 1/4 c soy protein powder, 1 cup unsweetened almond milk , a few squirts of Dasani pink lemonade flavor enhancer, and a handful of ice.
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
It was pretty tasty- I’d definitely make it again. It was good for a not-so-heavy drink, since I was planning to eat lunch soon after.
Lunch was leftovers from Sunday night- easy vegetarian crock pot chili
and cornbread. Plus a handful of Terry’s krinkle cut fries as he walked by with his plate. Hehe.
fd
This is a pretty unattractive lunch, but I promise it was tasty!
In the afternoon I got a little bored of studying, so I decided to make a batch of apple muffins. While mixing them,  I realized my apple made more than the called for 1 cup, so I ate the rest will putting these together. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
I enjoyed one fresh out of the oven with pumpkin spice peanut butter and a cold glass of almond milk.
Dinner was one of those meals that feels fancy, but it actually super simple. I made us baked potatoes (I enjoyed mine with salsa and Greek yogurt), spinach & feta chicken sausage, and mixed greens (kale, turnips, & collards) sauteed with onions.
din
Later that night I enjoyed a flourless brownie with another glass of almond milk (I’m obsessed). The brownies were yummy & quite fudgey. All you need is cocoa powder, bananas, and nut butter!
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Not only do I love being able to cook all my meals/snacks, I love seeing my groceries being used up! Except my almond milk and eggs, those seem to run out too quickly.
Tell me: what did you have for breakfast today? I mean, it is obviously the best meal of the day, so we should talk about it.
PS: Check out all the other WIAW eats! Here!
24 thoughts on “All the homegoodies (WIAW)

  1. Ahhh a full day of home meals feels so good! 2 things I’m extra jealous of – that yogurt cream cheese you speak of (I’ve never seen it up here) and pumpkin spice peanut butter! Gah I need to make a trip to the states for this alone. This is why I like WIAW – to get little new ideas that I’d never think of… like putting salsa on your baked potater! Genius!

  2. Your dinner does look fancy! I love those easy, but beautiful meals.
    Breakfast IS the best meal of the day! My breakfast is a bit of an experiment: a few tbsp coconut flour, chia seeds, pumpkin, pumpkin spice, topped with cinnamon and coconut oil. Pretty tasty!

  3. You’ve left me craving a massive baked potato!!!!!! Yogurt and salsa is such a good idea- Thanks for that!

    Glad you liked the brownie! 😀 I’ve got a twist on it coming up which we can put your protein powder to good use 😀 (Alexis ate 1/2 the pan :/ )

  4. For breakfast, I had vector cereal haha, not so exciting but it’s so filling! It shocks me every time I eat it. That brownie is calling me.. and those muffins.. and that supper, everything looks amazing! I really wish I could taste that pumpkin spice peanut butter but I don’t think we have it in Canada (I haven’t checked for it though, so really what do I know?)

    1. Vector cereal is something this American has never heard of!
      I actually ordered the pumpkin spice peanut butter online from iherb.com. I saw it on someone else’s blog and had to get some!

      1. No way? It’s just basically loaded with protein and does wonders for keeping me full! I didn’t even hesitate, I was sure it was a popular or known cereal in the States, Oups!

  5. Fresh out of the oven baked goods are the absolute best, especially when nut butter melts on them… oh my. Your eats look scrumptious here, and I am so envious of that chili! I like how you added spinach to your breakfast – not something I usually do, but I totally should. Too bad I love oatmeal so much 😦
    My eggs and almond milk run out so quickly too!

    1. That’s pretty much why I don’t add spinach to my breakfast- I want pancakes or oats or I want my eggs over medium.
      I highly recommend those apple muffins- they are perfectly sweet!

      1. Girl… you understand me.
        Oats. Pancakes. French toast if I feel like something different 🙂
        I want to make them but only have bananas 😥 Which is a good thing, but that means no apple muffins!

Leave a Reply

