Streets of Charleston

Yesterday we had a wonderful time exploring the streets of a place dear to our hearts, Charleston, SC! During our early dating years Terry and I made frequent day trips. At the time we only lived 2 hours away, so it was easy to get in the car & go. Here we are in Charleston 6+ years ago at 18 & 16…

1914921_138843939677_3446489_n

Now we are more like 3 hours away, so we haven’t made the trip in a while. When I found our friend Chris had never been, I felt like it was the perfect opportunity to go!

We left around ten and got in town ready for some lunch. I had done a little Googling to find us a fun place, and after seeing where Guy Fieri visited for his show, Diners, Drive-ins, & Dives, I settled on the Early Bird Diner.

ebd

It was a super cozy/artsy diner on the outskirt of downtown Charleston. The seating was spacious, but intimate enough to have good conversation. I struggled over what to get, because everything looked so good. (They had great breakfast options too!)

unnamed

I ultimately decided on the veggie burger with pepper jack cheese and all the fixings plus fried green tomatoes as my side.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

This was probably the best veggie burger patty I’ve ever had. It was soft and hearty, and the flavor was so good and didn’t have one specific flavor like “black bean” or “mushroom”. I asked the waitress what it was made out of and she told me it was a mix of black beans and black eyed peas plus other vegetables. Now I want to make my own with black eyed peas!

After sufficiently filling our bellies we took the streets of Charleston for some sight seeing and window shopping.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

unnamed (1)

The weather was a bit nippy, but being in the sun was wonderful.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Charleston is a really cool town because it has a great mix of historic buildings/monuments, eclectic stores to walk through, and a super long market where local vendors sell their merchandise.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

nj

kkkkkkkk

The picture above is me by the same fountain I got this picture at a few years ago-

is

I didn’t take that many pictures, because my i-phone camera is really starting to annoy me! I swear the quality has gone down. Grrrrr. Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

It is always nice to be close to the coast- the water was so peaceful. It’s like an immediate sense of calmness overcomes me when I’m standing in front of it.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

I am super grateful I got the day off from school to just be. Also glad to have married an adventurous soul like mine.

Where is your peaceful place?

Have you been to Charleston before?

12 thoughts on “Streets of Charleston

  1. It looks like you guys had such a fun time! I’m jealous! The last time we went to Charleston I was pregnant with Matilda.
    I love that you did the restaurant research! I always try to find the best or the most interesting restaurant if we are going out, especially if we are on a trip.
    I love that picture of the two of you from 6 years ago!

    1. Finding good food is pretty high on my priority list- haha!
      I bet Matilda would enjoy all the open spaces and monuments in Charleston! Maybe when she is able to walk alongside you, you should take her! I say that because the streets are not stroller friendly!

  2. Looks like a great day trip! I’ve never been to Charleston, but as a lover of eclectic southern cities, I’m dying to visit (Savannah, too). My favorite places to explore are Fairhope (small bayside town in AL) and, of course, New Orleans (where the hubs is from).
    Love the 6 year old pic…y’all look like babies (not in a bad way).

    1. I need to make it to Alabama and Louisinana- two places I’ve never been.
      Savannah is a cool town, I’ve been once but would like to go again!
      And yes we do look like such babies!

    1. Thank you- it is no easy task to capture the beauty of a place like that.
      Veggie burgers come in so many different varieties! Some made from soy actually taste like meat and some are made from beans and simply shaped in burger form!

      1. Hmm I think I would like a quinoa and bean veggie burger! Do you have any recipes that are guaranteed to succeed? I want to make them but don’t want to make a single serving nor do I want to make a whole bunch and waste it 😛

      2. Mmmm that looks beautiful! Who knew that the humble lentil could make such lovely burgers? I favourited the recipe and can’t wait to make it this winter 🙂 Looks so good!

Leave a Reply

