Apple pickin’

Hey guys! How was everyone’s weekend? I’m hoping it was a relaxing one!

On Saturday, I joined my mom and her church to go apple picking. I find it hard to believe, but this was my first time going apple picking! We went to Stepp’s apple farm in Hendersonville, N.C.unnamedk

The place was really big with 4 large orchards. We did lots of walking along the rows. The group I traveled with was mostly older adults who opted to “pick” their apples from the bins at the store. Luckily, two younger gals wanted to venture off with me.
unnamedA1OJQ128

Golden delicious was by far the most popular- at least quantity wise. I thought honey crisp was my favorite, but I think these may be a very close contender! Or maybe it just goes to show the flavor really is enhanced when the type is in season?Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The weather was a little chilly at first, but after hiking up and down the orchard hills, we definitely warmed up. A cup of delicious apple cider also helped to warm me. Mmm. My letterman jacket featured in the photo below kept me super warm. Confession: I got the jacket in high school for being in the SAT club. #nerdstatus

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I ended up with a pretty sweet loot- red delicious, jonagold, golden delcious, rome, and granny smith. Some of them will be perfect for snacking, but I am planning to do some baking too. Any suggestions for a great apple recipe (that doesn’t involve me rolling out a crust)?

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

The place also had a pumpkin patch.

unnamed

Once we left, we stopped for lunch in true church group fashion at a buffet. I’m not usually a huge buffet fan, but I have to say I made myself a pretty banging salad: brussel sprouts, broccoli, bell peppers, carrots, sweet potato fries, black-eyed peas, blue cheese, & rotisserie chicken breast.

hh

It was a long day of riding and driving, so when I finally got home around 9 pm, I was not hating the fact that Terry was baking some krinkle cut fries in the oven. Hello easy dinner.

f

On Sunday we went to church, which was really good for my soul. I just love being around my church family. They are all so friendly and loving.

n

After church, I went on a lunch date with this hunk. Terry is growing his hair out and I am swooning every time I see him! Man bun here we come!

hhi

We almost never get Asian food, so we stepped out of the box and went to a hibachi restaurant. We shared a hibachi chicken plate and a hibachi steak plate. The onions were the best part!

bu

There was plenty of sriracha and soy sauce!

That afternoon I hit up Aldi in order to stock our kitchen up.

bb

I am almost always impressed with how cheap Aldi is, but when all of this rang up for just $54.00, I was ecstatic. I was a little nervous, because my hand that likes to grab frivolous things was super active on this trip.

Sunday evening Terry got a little fire going in our backyard. The firepit is a recent addition to our yard and we are loving it!

nn

I made us chili (recipe sans the meat) and cornbread (recipe) that we enjoyed while sitting by the fire. This was perfect, because it was our first really chilly evening.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We finished the evening with some seriously yummy s’mores. I forgot how good these were!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Are you a lightly toasted or burnt marshmallow person? Burnt for me, please!

Lucky for me, I have today & tomorrow off from school and work. Today will be my fun day and tomorrow my head will be in the books.

Here’s hoping everyone gets there week started off right!

18 thoughts on “Apple pickin’

  1. What a fun Fall themed weekend! I have never been apple picking before, but it looks right up my alley! I would make an apple crisp with a few of those apples; apple crisps are my favorite because they are so easy, but so good!
    Burnt marshmallows all the way!

  2. Oh my gosh. I am jealous of absolutely everything! I’m seeing apple picking pop up everywhere in the blog world lately, and I have never been! I’d like to change that. I don’t know where you went for that buffet, but I’ve never made a plate that delicious at any buffet I’ve been to. And a bonfire!? With chili and cornbread and smores? Holy man this weekend rocked. Enjoy your “fun day” ahead!

  3. How have you never gone apple picking before?? It is a fall time must! Looks like you scored a good bunch of apples! When we went it was the beginning of the season and they only had out macintosh apples, but since those are my favorite I wasn’t complaining! You could always make some apple chips with your apples – no pie crust involved!

  4. I absolutely love gooey marshmallows, but I don’t want them super burnt, so I guess I like them in between. O_o And chili sounds really nice right now. Apple picking is FUN! Sometimes I wish we had more apple orchards in Colorado. Lord willing, our apple trees will produce someday soon.

  5. I’m in love with making fires and getting to sit around it, talk and eat! I spied a pumpkin in your grocery cart, are you planning to carve it or actually eat it? Sorry for my curiousness but I have this need to buy pumpkins recently, but I’d have no patience for baking it or carving it haha, so I’m curious to know what you will do with it!

Leave a Reply

