Eats & reads

Hello friends!

The weekend is here! What’s everyone got planned? Tonight at church we are packing crisis care kits for the flood victims in Columbia. The rest of the weekend will be lots of studying, preferably in my sweats. A good weekend is one without make-up or pants. 😀

This week zoomed on by and like always, I’m wondering it where it went!

Terry woke up early with me yesterday and suggested we grab breakfast. I had plans to head to gym, but I never turn down a breakfast date. We tried out a local restaurant, The Varisty,  which was one of those hometown mom & pop type places.Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I kept things simple (and southern) with eggs, grits, and wheat toast. I realized a little too late I should’ve said “light butter”- haha. Terry opted for bacon & french toast. We both agreed the food was cooked well, but no real “wow” factor. The unexpected time together was great though.

I did make some yummy waffles on Sunday that lasted us a few days into the week. I used this recipe but replaced 1/2 the oil with applesauce. Very yummy with melted peanut butter and apples!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

For sweets this week I tried two new-to-me recipes: vegan & gluten free fudgey brownies & flourless pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

The brownies were super dense & fudge-y. I loved the dark chocolate flavor!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

The cookies were pretty good, I just wish that I would have known they wouldn’t spread. That’s probably nit-picky, but I like my cookies too be a little crispy on the edges.

The star recipe of the week was this Turkey and Vegetable Cabbage soup.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I plan to make this recipe SEVERAL more times this winter. The flavor was so good. I made it for our church’s youth fundraiser and it was highly praised. I honestly didn’t expect it be anything special, but man was I pleasantly surprised!

To wrap things up, here are some great reads I came across this week. I’d love to hear your thoughts on any of them.

Why Do Bad Things Happen to Good People? The young adults and I talked through this article when met on Wednesday night. It’s a question we hear a lot and don’t always have a good answer to. This article brought some comfort.

Your Husband Can’t Make You Happy This is some food for thought that I believe can drastically improve your marriage.

Ask Well: Canned vs. Fresh Fish For all my fellow tuna lovers!

How Much Should Scientists Check Other Scientists’ Work? I’d say a study should be repeatable.

How ‘progressive consumers’ are redefining health and wellness… and is fat really back? We are all so trendy (and hopefully for the better).

Have a great weekend 😀 

15 thoughts on “Eats & reads

  1. Delicious meals here as usual, Kate! I’m loving the pumpkin pancakes with melted PB and apples. Why haven’t I thought of that? Definitely a match made in heaven, right?

      1. Okay! I’ve got some speckled brown bananas in the fruit bowl that are dying to become reincarnated into these incredible brownies…
        Only prob is that I’d have to mix these by hand (no electric mixer) 😦

  2. Wow – what really interesting articles! New topics that you don’t find streaming around this part of the blog world – love it – looking forward to reading them. My boyfriend also surprised me to a “let’s go out for breakfast, my treat,” last weekend and we also went to a typical “mom&pop” diner. Food wasn’t that great but like you said, it was the act itself that was so perfect. Brownie points to the men! Have a wonderful weekend!

    1. Yes, anytime breakfast is involved we throw out a ton of brownie points!!
      The articles were really intriguing to me. Sometimes I’m get bored of the same old fitness/health articles. 😀

  3. I love that one about your husband can’t make you happy. It took me a long time to realize that I’m the only person in charge of my happiness.
    Those brownies look amazing!!!
    I hope you have a wonder (and pantsless!) weekend!!

    1. Haha I haven’t stepped into a pair of jeans/slacks so far!
      I’m glad you liked the article. Life can be pretty miserable when you are depending on ONE person for all of your happiness.

Leave a Reply

