Pizza, pizza, read all about it

Last night we celebrated mine and my friend Kelly’s birthday with something I’ve been loving on a lot lately: PIZZA.

After we got out of class, our men joined us at Mellow Mushroom for dinner. Have you ever been to Mellow Mushroom? I absolutely love how they do their pizza crust and they have a lot of fun options to choose from.

Kelly and I split the mega veggie while the guys split the house special.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Our pizza was LOADED with the good stuff: sun-dried tomatoes, spinach, green peppers, mushrooms, onions, black olives, roma tomatoes, broccoli, feta, banana peppers, artichoke hearts and tofu.

Speaking of pizza, I made a delicious spinach & cheese pizza in a cast-iron skillet last week.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This was one of the most successful homemade pizzas I’ve made. I think having the skillet to press the dough into helped a ton.

Moving on from the pies, Emily from Beauty in Christ nominated me for the Liebster Award, so I thought it would be fun to answer her questions.I love Emily’s posts for their positivity and honesty. It is beautiful to see how she’s allowed Christ to change her from the inside out!

1.  What is your favorite book? 
Could there be a more difficult question? Here a few of my all time favorites:
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See
Midwives by Chris Bohjalian

Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt

Blame by Michelle Huneven

2.  Who is your best friend? 
I have a handful of very close friends, but my husband and my girlfriend, Rachel are my top two.
Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
3
3.  What is your favorite sugary food? 
Natural sugars? Watermelon. The more refined stuff? Brownies- the chewy kind.
IMG_4220

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

4.  What is your favorite salty food? 

Fresh tortilla chips and salsa. Unless “cheese” is an acceptable answer.
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
5.  Describe a typical day in your life.
Of course, this changes quite often, but here is the main drift: Wake up, make breakfast, eat while I read blogs and/or study, get ready for school, go to the gym, go to work (I work on campus), attend class, come home and make dinner, maybe an evening walk, work on some homework, watch an episode of something on Netflix (it is currently Chopped) with Terry, get ready for bed, read the bible, and hopefully fall asleep quickly.
6.  What are qualities you look for in a husband or a wife? 
Loyalty, sense of humor, commitment to God. Aka this guy:
unnamed (7)7. Greatest Strength? Greatest weakness? 
Strength: positive outlook
Weakness: almost always running a little late. A little absent minded some would say.
8.  Almond butter or peanut butter cashew butter?  
I love all three, but I eat peanut butter the most often because of the price. Sunflower seed butter is my all time favorite!
9.  Type of travel you prefer (road, car, bus, plane, submarine, ship.) 
I definitely ride in a car the most often, but I love riding a boat out on the lake
10.  Why do you like reading blogs?
Humans are interesting!! Plus, it’s a great way to connect with others who share my interest, be inspired, and grow as I learn to understand people. And it’s my hobby.
11.  What are some foods you didn’t used to like but you like now?   
As a kid I hated cabbage and peas, but now I love them. Still not a fan of smoked sausage or olives.
IMG_1543
mom
Alright, now you guys answer one (or more) of the eleven questions. Like I said, I love getting to know you guys better!
9 thoughts on “Pizza, pizza, read all about it

  1. I’m all about the pizza all the time. I was totally craving brownies last week, but I think that I finally got over the craving… until I just saw your picture this am 🙂

  2. I didn’t know you had your birthday last week! Happy Birthday!! I hope it was amazing, and thank you so much for doing the survey. I love that you included pictures with almost every question. I need to do that for my next survey. I totally agree with why I like to read people’s blogs. Sometimes I think it’s odd, but then I think it’s actually kind of cool, because it gets you outside of your world to see all the neat things that are happening in other people’s lives. And you can learn from other people too!

Leave a Reply

