Particularly good food

Thanks for the link up! 

First, I wanted to share a blog post I wrote last year around this time. It showed up on my Timehop yesterday and reading it was a great reminder of how far I’ve come personally. I think it could be helpful for many of you who may have struggled or are struggling with a perfectionist mentality.

The Power of Gratefulness

Now, onto the food.

Food is good. It is both fun and nourishment for our lives. So above all else when it comes to food, let us remember that is good. It is nothing to be afraid of nor does it possess the power to rule your life. It’s just food and food is good.

My day of eats on Sunday were particularly good. The day was full with church, studying, gym, more studying, more church, and  then couch time with my husband and the Chopped judges.

Breakfast: 2 slices whole wheat toast, a fried egg, yogurt-cream cheese spread, and strawberry preserves. Plus the usual 2 cups of coffee with a square of 85% dark chocolate.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Mid-morning snack: frozen mango [sweet with a texture like fresh out of the freezer ice cream]

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Lunch: Baked spaghetti made with spaghetti squash

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Which inspired the next day’s lunch, a single serving spaghetti pie.

spag 5

Afternoon snack/post-workout: Protein shake made with vanilla protein powder and almond milk. I also added ~1 tsp instant coffee. Topped with Multigrain Cheerios.

I’ve been trying to be good about getting protein in right after weightlifting, and the protein powder I snagged from my little brother makes it a lot easier to do.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetDinner: Split pea soup (taste better than it looks) and 2 rice cakes.

This week was use-up-the-pantry week, so I finally got around to using the bag of dried split peas.

unnamed (4)

Bedtime snack: My favorite marbled banana bread and a glass of almond milk.

unnamed (1)

Go make this bread. Well, once your bananas turn super speckled. Then make the bread.

Tell me, what was your “good food” moment this past week?

28 thoughts on “Particularly good food

  1. I think my good food moment was making a pumpkin bread for Matilda’s breakfasts. It was so good that we’ve been sharing 😉
    I love the ‘use up the food in the pantry day’. It’s like a challenge.
    I’ve never had split pea soup. Is it good?

  2. Frozen mango is the best! And I love that you included chocolate as part of your breakfast.
    I have eaten a bunch of junk this week, but Monday night’s dinner, a burrito bowl from Moe’s, was good. In taste and for the soul. 🙂

  3. Baked spaghetti – minus the meat for me but yes to cheese – are the definition of comfort food. Or family food because pasta casseroles have been a family favourite forever.
    My recent good food moments always centered around perfectly ripe kabocha squash.

  4. That baked spaghetti with the spaghetti squash looks fantastic! I am always so interested in these posts – it fascinates me seeing what other people eat in a day! haha

  5. Hi Kate, I particularly love your comment, “[Food] does not have the power to rule your life.” Amen to that!! Your split pea soup looks amazing… I also do the thing of running down my pantry inventory and it’s always interesting to see what comes out of the kitchen that week! 🙂

  6. Yogurt Cream Cheese!? What is this marvelous sounding thing? And – totally respect your “piece of dark chocolate with breakfast” routine. Chocolate should end every meal, ya? My “good food” moment of the week was making perogies from scratch and having completely Ukrainian meal including sausage and sauerkraut from the farmers market. A first time for me.. and it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

