Single Serving Spaghetti Squash Pie

Sunday after church we had an EPIC baked-spaghetti-squash-baked-spaghetti. I ate it suuuper slow because I just didn’t want it to end. I made it just like I would baked spaghetti, but used spaghetti squash instead. While eating, Terry and I tried to decide if we liked spaghetti squash or zucchini noodles better. The truth is, both or so different! I think spaghetti squash is super absorbent and “sets” better than zoodles.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Because I used a giant spaghetti squash, I had some of the “noodles” leftover. Which brings me to packing lunches. Now, I am always coming up short for packed lunch ideas. I always try to think about what I have on hand and what I’m not planning to use for one our dinners.

However, thanks to having those extra “noodles” on hand, I tried out something new- spaghetti pie for one! 

spag 3

The simplicity of this recipe is to be noted. All you need is 4 ingredients: spaghetti squash noodles, marinara sauce, an egg, and parmesan cheese.

I used one of my glass bowls that came with a lid, so I could create it and pack it all in the same dish. This was definitely a “on the fly” type recipe.

I filled the bowl with my “noodles.”

spag1

Then I whisked together the other ingredients until they were totally blended together. I stirred the sauce into the “noodles.”

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I was a little doubtful it would work out, because it looked a little on the soupy side…

spag2

But after 3 minutes in the microwave it came out perfectly. I popped into the fridge overnight, so it was ready to grab in the morning.

This recipe is simple, delicious, & healthy. It’s pretty low-cal, so for lunchtime I recommend pairing it with buttered whole grain toast. This was perfect for my long Monday, because I like to eat several mini meals throughout the day to sustain me through my evening classes.

Single Serving Spaghetti Squash Pie

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups spaghetti squash “noodles”
1/2 cup marinara sauce
1 egg
1-2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese
Optional: red pepper flakes, oregano, shredded cheese

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, whisk together the marinara sauce, egg, and parmesan cheese until well blended.
  2. In a microwave safe bowl, stir the sauce into the “noodles.”
  3. Microwave for 3 minutes. If pie is not yet “set”, microwave in 30 second intervals until it is.
  4. Let cool for 10 minutes and enjoy immediately OR store in the refrigerator for the next day.

When lunch time finally rolls around, microwave the pie for 1-2 minutes until warm.

spag 4

Dig in & enjoy!

spag 5

Are you a spaghetti squash fan?

Do you struggle with finding creative lunch ideas?

9 thoughts on “Single Serving Spaghetti Squash Pie

  1. Very clever!! I am a huge spaghetti squash fan and I would go so far as to say that I like it better than zoodles.
    I love how quick and easy this recipe is! I am going to have to give it a try the next time we have some spaghetti squash on hand.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Great recipe! The only thing I dislike is… the fact that I didn’t pick up a spaghetti squash at the market this morning! Oh man, I should’ve bought it just to make this! It looks super yummy. I would top it with cheese and broil it!

Leave a Reply

