Food truck eats and puppy snoballs

Good morning!

How’s everyone feeling this Monday morning? Ready to tackle a new week? Yes? (Maybe?)

First I want to say a BIG happy birthday to my big sis, Leigh!

unnamed (1)
She is by far the cooler sister, but I can’t even be mad about it. She’s a wonderful mother, she can make anyone laugh, and she becomes more beautiful everyday. I ❤ you!
Funny story: one time she found out I was dating an older guy that she didn’t like, so she confronted him with her feelings in front of a crowded cafeteria for all to hear. Yup, she’s definitely the older sister.

Terry and I kicked the weekend off at Food Truck Friday. The weather was great, so we enjoyed the outdoor dinning.

Terry and I both agree that the most difficult part of Food Truck Friday is choosing a truck. And then, even if the food I pick if delicious, I wonder if I chose the right thing!

I opted for a fancy grilled cheese: smoked turkey, cranberry chutney, and provolone between two buttery slices of sourdough bread. I chose the edamame salad for my side, but ended up taking it home to eat later.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Terry opted for two buffalo chicken and bacon soft tacos. They were tasty and fun to eat!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

We enjoyed our food while sitting on a stoop and listening to some live music. It was great.

unnamed (8)

On Saturday I enjoyed this stack of coconut flour pancakes. I know they look burnt, but they aren’t, I swear.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I am however fooling you with the photo, because they really looked like this:

f1

I can only make baby pancakes apparently.

Later that day Terry did some yard work and then we both cleaned out our shed. The people who lived here before us left their stuff in the shed and we finally decided it was time to give it new life. It was a bit of a dreaded project, but it felt so good to complete it! It’s a usable shed now!

Check him out, rocking my old safety glasses-

unnamed (2)

That afternoon we went back for more snoballs, because I want to try as many flavors as I can before Pelican’s closes in October. I got mango this time around. The weather was on the warmer side, so they were super refreshing after working outside.

unnamed (1)

Even our Jules got one! A peanut butter “pup cup”.

unnamed (4)

She wasn’t sure what to think of it at first, but managed to clean house after a period of inspection.

unnamed (5)

That night we got Moe’s for the first time in forever, thanks to a coupon I scored. I tried their tofu on top of a salad and it was really good! After a previous more indulgent day of eating, I was digging all the veggies!

unnamed

The rest of the weekend involved studying, mediocre workouts, relaxing on the couch while watching Chopped, food prep, and church.

I also can’t get enough of the new Snapchat update.

unnamed (3)

HAHA. Why is it so fun?!

Anyways, time to get back to work- I hope your Monday is filled with fun!

15 thoughts on “Food truck eats and puppy snoballs

  1. I always have that problem with food trucks! I wish they sold mini portions, that I way I could try some of each! That grilled cheese sandwich looks amazing! I love that it had cranberry chutney! I think that’s one of my favorite fall side dishes.
    I love the coconut flour pancakes picture. The real pictures are always so much better in my opinion. And the baby pancakes are much easier to cook. Whenever I make them too big I can’t flip them and we end up with pancake tacos 🙂
    I hope you have a wonderful Monday!

    1. Mini portions would be an excellent idea. And I love the cranberry and turkey combo.
      I appreciate when bloggers post the “real” picture of their recipes. I think it gives me more realistic expectations.

  2. I’ve never been to a food truck. They seem to be popping up more and more so I’m sure I’ll get the opportunity soon (and I’m sure I’ll share your same struggles haha).
    haha love the picture! I’m feeling thankful that I’m not on Snapchat because I have no doubt that I would have spent most of my weekend playing around with that new update haha!

  3. I love food trucks as well, but I have the exact same problem with them and that I always feel like I made the wrong decision, even if the food is great. The grilled cheese looks amazing though so I think you made a good decision!

  4. Those baby pancakes! OMG. I am in love! I want some baby pancakes… can you make some for me? I can only make massive pancakes because the little ones always stick together in my little nonstick pan because the batter runs. You’ll have to make mini pancakes for me. Baby food is always cute!

Leave a Reply

