Sunday Eats (WIAW)

It’s meal time y’all. In fact, we are talking three square meals, a few snacks, and several nibbles. Check out my day of eats- and eats from others too!

Sometimes when my alarm clock goes off in the morning, I just don’t want to get out of bed. To wake myself up a little, I will oftentimes scroll through Instagram. This was the case last Sunday morning, but this time it produced some results: my breakfast!

Cooking Light posted this easy recipe for single-serving pancakes: 1 egg + 1 small ripe banana + 2 tbsp whole wheat flour. Enjoyed with peanut butter & coffee.

unnamed (14)

These were more pancake-y than a lot of the other single serving recipes I’ve tried. I am thinking even Terry would enjoy them.

I also had 1/2 cup apple juice. I am trying to drink this in the morning to see ifΒ it helps with my digestion, as it has in the past. It’s also a great way to get in lots of vitamin C first thing in the morning, which is especially important for me working in the school’s health center. We already seeing patients with flu-like symptoms!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

All finished with a piece of 85% dark chocolate, because #breakfastdessert.

Lunch was a large pile of zoodles topped with a creamy marinara sauce made of jarred mushroom marinara sauce, ricotta, and shredded chicken. I added red pepper flakes for some heat and Parmesan for extra cheesiness.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Snacks that afternoon included;

Plain Greek yogurt with multi-grain Cheerios

unnamed (3)

Frozen mango

unnamed (1)

And a frappe made with 1 tsp instant coffee, 6 oz unsweetened almond milk, and a little stevia all blended with ice.

Dinner was very simple because I wasn’t feeling very good (my stomach has been out of whack lately). The only thing I could think of that I wanted was roasted potatoes, which ended up being baked sweet potato fries with ketchup. Alongside I had eggs with spinach for some protein power.

unnamed (4)

Late night snack to push me through studying was a toasted pumpkin scone with strawberry preserves allΒ washed down with a glass of almond milk.

unnamed (5)

And this where I tell you I am a total grazer, so I also a had few pieces of Β cantaloupe, some celery while I was chopping it, a handful of chips, and I’m sure a bite of something else.

There you have, a day of eat that I found satisfying and filling. Every day is a little different, depending on if I exercise, how well I slept the night before, or if it’s a special occasion, but overall everything has its way of balancing out.

Are you a grazer too?

What’s your go-to breakfast?

14 thoughts on “Sunday Eats (WIAW)

  1. I think a little extra parmesan is always the way to go.

    You should try warm lemon water in the morning. I’m a fan, and it’s supposed to be great for your immune system along with promoting healthy digestion. Just a thought.

    Happy WIAW and thanks for linking up.

  2. I am a total grazer. I almost always eat a bite or two of whatever I am chopping or cooking (unless it’s onions, because, gross).
    I used to eat zoodles all the time, but I haven’t been making them lately. Thanks for the reminder.
    Have a great Wednesday!

  3. Wow those single serving pancakes are brilliant! Definitely need to give them a try. I’m not necessarily a grazer, but I do a lot of baking and obviously need to taste test my creations one..or two..or three.. times as I make them.

  4. wow, how good does taht ‘pasta look!? I am also guilty of instagram scrolling in the morning to wake me up. I think my eyes are the most tired when i wake up, so the light kind of helps them to get over the sleepy-ness. I don’t even want to know what it’s doing to my retinas though! haha

  5. Oh so with you on the grazing – if I see it, I am probably going to have a bite of it. Also, I’ve been loving your honest recipe reviews; you have a really tactful way of saying when something isn’t your favourite that I really admire (and I appreciate knowing when something isn’t particularly worth making, in your opinion).

    1. Thank you! I feel like saying things are “awesome” all the time really gives me no credibility. I also like to mention if I don’t make the recipe exactly as it is written, because if it sucks, it’s probably my fault.
      And yes to grazing, I want to say I at least tried it πŸ˜‰

  6. I am definitely a grazer … sometimes I try to stop doing it but I think it’s just in my nature πŸ™‚ haha And now I also wish I had a piece of chocolate for dessert!

  7. Pancakes, scones, sweet potato fries and dark chocolate: perfect foods! I love your WIAW because you eat very similar to me and it always makes me so hungry (wonder if that’s a good or bad thing haha). Well anyways, you made me want to try those pancakes! I’m usually disappointed by the healthier versions, but this one does look really good.

Leave a Reply

