Quest abandoned

Yesterday definitely *felt* like a Monday. I was a little sleepy, but I also felt energized by a new week.

My food service class got the opportunity to tour the kitchen of a local hospital. It was very informative and interesting to hear how a kitchen manages to feed 200 patients along with their family members. Most people who go into dietetics aren’t interested in food service, but often times end up going that way because it is where the money is at. I wouldn’t say it is where I see myself, but I do love administrative work, so I am definitely not closing my mind to it.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

We laughed at this picture of us, because it is likely our future look!

Some interesting facts: The hospital has a $1.4 million dollar food budget. They only use cage free eggs. Anytime a patient calls in an order it is made fresh. The dietitian serves as the go between for the kitchen and the patient. The kitchen is peanut free.

After the tour, I headed over to Chick-fil-a where Terry was holding a fundraiser for his youth group. I honestly wasn’t feeling very good and the idea of my usual salad made my stomach hurt. So instead, I went for the classic sandwich, something I haven’t had in years! It was simply tasty. However, it is crazy how salty it tasted! I guess you really do “re-train” your tongue’s sensitivity to salt when you don’t eat a lot of processed food.

unnamed

Speaking of processed food… a few days ago I had my first Quest bar experience.

I’ve been seeing Quest bars all over the interwebs for a while now. I hadn’t tried them before, because I like to choose non-processed food as often as I can and they are far more expensive then most bars. Additionally, I don’t think I actually need 21 g of protein in a bar.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Anyways, I saw one on sale and decided to try it. It was cookies n’ cream which made me think of my childhood candy bar lover, Hershey’s cookies n’ cream. I enjoyed the bar with some coffee following a workout. I liked it- the texture and the little cookie bits.
After I finished it, the wrapper sat on the table while I finished studying. I glanced over at it and the dietary fiber popped out at me- 17 g of fiber??? In a little bar?! I knew I was in trouble. Sure enough later that night my stomach began to ache and I felt like there was a brick in it. A literal brick. I felt like this until the morning during which I finally started to feel a little better.

Needless to say, I will not be partaking in another one.

Now after all this rambling, I am going to get back to studying. I hope you have a great Tuesday!

What’s your take on Quest bars? Do you have a favorite brand of bars?

16 thoughts on “Quest abandoned

  1. Quest bars FREAK me out. I don’t know if it’s the crazy amount of fiber, the weird protein sources, or the fact that such an overly processed item had somehow become a staple in the healthy living world. There’s just a lot about them that I don’t understand haha. I’ve never had one, though, only because of the fiber content. Any bar over 5g leaves my belly whacky. I can’t even imagine what 17g would do!

    1. Haha you are so right!
      This was one of those times I didn’t fully read the label! I kind of already knew they were filled with junk but I didn’t think it would cause such a physical effect! Yes, no thank you!

  2. I completely agree with you about the Quest bars. I will admit to eating one every so often (they are darn tasty!), but every time I do, I end up with a stomach ache and a bloated belly.
    That is really interesting about the hospital. It makes me wonder about our local hospitals here in Knoxville and whether they follow the same principles.
    Have a great Tuesday!

    1. I was really impressed with the hospital’s operational system. So much dedication goes into making everything work.
      I don’t blame you for enjoying a Quest bar every so often, they are yummy! I just think my first experience did me in for good, haha!

  3. We visited a hospitals kitchen as well last year in the dietetics program, it was super interesting! They are so efficiently organized to feed all the patients, it was really shocking. I must agree, quest bars really do have alot of protein, doesn’t seem that necessary! I’ve never had one before, but I must admit cookies n cream bar does sound quite good. Have a great week 🙂

  4. I really really love Quest bars because they have a great balance of macros. BUT I will say that I do also experience the “brick” feeling in my stomach after eating them. I usually will only eat them if I am on the go and don’t have a better snacking option, or if I finish a long run and need a substantial way to refuel quickly as I have little to no appetite.

  5. Aww that’s too bad that you had to spend your evening feeling like that 😦 Glad you were feeling better this morning. I really enjoyed my first Hospital Food Service visit too. I left with such an appreciation for the those employees who have to try to please and nurture such a huge and varied group of people; not an easy task!

  6. I have never had a QUEST bar before in my life, because they contain WHEY protein… And um 17 grams of fiber in a processed little bar would KILL ME TOO!!! My stomach has a hard time with fiber in general, so YIKES – I can only imagine the pain you were in! UGH.

    As for Chick-Fil-A… UGH! ha ha ha! I mean, I guess it’s one of the healthier fast foods out there BUT… Man friend is just SOOOO DANG obsessed, lol! And I look at the ingredients and just wish a few would be NIXED from the menu!

Leave a Reply

