Books of Summer

My intentions this summer were to read a book a week, which would have been about 15 books total. I love to read and even feel a little depressed when I go into the library and realize how many books I will never get to read. (Does this bring sorrow to anyone else?) Unfortunately, life got in the way a little and kept me from reading as much I’d hoped. I did get some good reads in though, so I’d thought I share them with you.

“Jamesland” by Michelle Huneven

unnamed (1)

I love this woman’s writing style! I read her 3 other books during the previous summer and I am really wanting her to turn out some more! This author has the skill of writing up the kind of novels that you just can’t put down. I found the characters intriguing and so real- you see their good, but you also see their bad. Having flawed characters, even the “good” characters, makes a book seem way more realistic and relatable. Alice & Pete, the two main characters, are the type to avoid all things spiritual, but continue to run straight into experiences that require much introspection and the help of their friend, Helen, Universalist Unitarian minister. Huneven’s got a knack for strong character development which explains why I love her. 5/5 stars– meaning to me very much so worth the read.

“The Husband’s Secret” by Liane Moriarity

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

This book was a fun one! It was easy and enjoyable with an interesting story line. I feel certain this book would make a great movie. The book is told from the point of views of different women, but all the stories are somehow connected. The main theme, as evidenced by the title, is about how husbands & wives keep things from each other to allow life to go on as normal. Yet, all secrets will come out eventually. I’d give this book 3.5/5 stars– it’s a great summer read, but nothing life changing.

“A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” by Bette Smith

51RRKMW0QNL

This is one of those books that makes your heart feel good and reminds you of your eternal connection with all humankind. The genre is historical fiction, which I love because it puts your right into the story but also provides a rich description of how life was in the past. My favorite quote from the book:

“People always think that happiness is a far away thing… something complicated and hard to get. Yet, what little things can make it up, a place of shelter when it rains, a cigarette for contentment; a book to read when you’re alone- just to be with someone you love. Those things make happiness.”

I give the book 4/5 stars. It is definitely worth reading, but I feel it dragged in a lot of parts. It’s one of the reasons I didn’t read as many books as I’d hoped, because it took me a while to get through.

“Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes

unnamed (3)

This book certainly made me think. The author’s writing style made it an easy read and since the book was set in our time, many of the situations and dilemmas were easy to relate to. Still, however light-hearted the book may seem at times, it is a book about the value of one’s life. How much do we allow people to control their own lives? How far will we go when it comes to trusting a loved one’s judgement? I don’t know if I necessarily loved the way the book panned out, but I am glad it allowed me to see a glimpse into a family making a very difficult decision. I give the book 4.5/5 stars– it was meaningful and well-thought out, but at some points a little unrealistic.

“It Was Me All Along” by Andie Mitchell

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

This book warranted to a full post from me, so you know I thought it was good. I read it in a day, so I’d say it was an easy/addictive read. Mitchell pours out her heart, leaves everything on the table, and presents a raw, enticing memoir. If you’ve ever struggled with food addiction/restriction or loved someone who did or want to understand it better, read this. 4.5/5 stars.  

“The Tyrant’s Daughter” by J.C. Carleson 

unnamed (5)

I found this book lying around my parent’s house when I went to visit. My mom is an literacy coach, so she gets all the new reads. I decided to give it a try, since I knew the ride to Toledo would require some entertainment. The story is told from the point of view of a girl who is forced to flee her country due to war. Her father was the country’s leader and after his assassination her family is no longer safe living there. The book centers around her attempt to acclimate into American high school culture while she also begins to discover the truth about her father’s reign. The story is captivating- it takes you on an adventure. However, it will certainly remind you of your “first world problems” and how incredibly good we’ve got it here in the US. I give the book 5/5 stars. I think it’s a book that should be a part of a high schooler’s summer reading list.

_____

So you may have noticed that I didn’t rate any of the books lower than a 3.5. It’s not because I am overly nice, it’s because I will stop reading a book if I’m not interested. I used to think I needed to finish every book I started, but now I realize life’s too short for that!

I probably could have fit more books into the end of the summer, but then I decided to begin an old adventure…

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetWhat was the best book you read this summer? 

Favorite book of all time? 

12 thoughts on “Books of Summer

  1. This is a really good idea to be rating and reviewing books! Ill be liking this post to make sure I remember to refer back to it whenever it comes to buying new books :). I don’t blame you for starting the Harry Potter series, those are definitely my favorite books of all time.

  2. I always want to read more than I do! Even is you didn’t quite read a book a week, you did at least get to read some good ones! I loved The Husband’s Secret and Me Before You. I’ve heard so many good things about It was Me All Along; I really need to read that! I love reading book reviews; thanks for posting this!
    I never keep reading a book if I don’t like it either. Life is too short to read uninteresting things!

    1. The library is seriously a gem. All those books (and movies) for free! Since they began loaning books electronically, it is hard for me to believe they haven’t put Kindle out of business!

  3. You read a lot! I’ve been wanting to read a good book “recreationally” for a while now but I keep pushing it back because other seemingly more-important things get in the way. Thanks for reminding me that a great book IS one of those important things!

Leave a Reply

