Labor day dining in (WIAW)

HALLELUJAH FOR A FOUR DAY WEEK. I just don’t know why we can’t split up every week this way. Why does work have to be so greedy?

I am typing this What I Ate Wednesday post in between typing up key terms related to diabetes and cardiovascular disease. SO MANY KEY TERMS. I feel really lucky to have spent a week diabetes camp this summer, not only because I had an AMAZING time (read about it here), but also because I am pretty familiar with the disease. Hands on > typing key terms.

Anyways, on to the food.

For breakfast, I had pumpkin protein pancakes plus 2x cups of coffee and a coconut oil-cocoa bite.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

When I went to my parent’s this past weekend I snatched my little bro’s protein powder (he left it when he went to college), so I could try it out before investing in some of my own. These pancakes were delicious. Silver dollar pancakes are cuter and way easier to make than those “regular” pancakes.

I was at home all day, thanks to Labor day, so I enjoyed a few morning bites. Anyone else way more “snack-y” when they’re at home? This is why I should study in a coffee shop where I have to pay for the snacks…

Snacks included a frozen chopped peach and a couple chocolate peanut butter brownie bites.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Since it was Labor day and all, we decided to bust out the grill for lunch. Hawaiian chicken, grilled pineapple, and rice with mixed vegetables were on the menu. For the rice/veggie mix, I steamed a bag of frozen veggies and then tossed in some already cooked brown rice. For flavor, I poured the rest of marinade from the chicken in and mixed it all together. Surprisingly good!

unnamed (3)
For dessert, I had two of these cheesecake bites (crust + filling). They were yummy, but a tad overcooked.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

While studying through the afternoon, I needed some caffeine so I enjoyed a homemade almond milk latte plus a few popcorn chips.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Terry and I took a nice run later in the afternoon, which was great for counteracting the sitting I did all day for studying.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

It’s such a beautiful time of year! I am a September girl to the core.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
For dinner I was craving something salty (but quick), so I sauteed chopped onion, bell peppe, and ground turkey, added some spices, and finished it with squirt of mustard and ketchup. On the side were two of very my favorites: blue corn tortilla chips and baked carrot fries. Sour cream for dipping.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
For an evening snack, I had some pumpkin fudge with almond milk.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

This is a yummy treat, but I think “fudge” may be a stretch. Though if you can appreciate pumpkin-y goodness, you will like this! Not to mention, I whipped it up in 3 minutes flat.

This was a yummy day of eats thanks to an all access kitchen 😉

Tell me…

Any awesome labor day eats?

Does being a home all day lead to more snacking?

23 thoughts on “Labor day dining in (WIAW)

  1. Yay for all things pumpkin! I love how we often have the same dessert ideas.
    I love fall, but I think I love October more than September. It’s usually cooler and that’s when the leaves are really beautiful in East Tennessee. I need to try that pumpkin protein pancake!
    I am definitely more snackey at home. All day access to the kitchen!
    I hope you have a great Wednesday!

    1. October is nice too, but I am just not a lover of the cold! East Tennessee is a beautiful area in general, I love driving through it on the way to see my friends in Nashville!
      Try the protein pancake- it doesn’t disappoint.

  2. Nice eats! I definitely feel more snacky than usual at home. I love that I can make whatever I want instead of what I shoved in my lunch box. Options!
    I’m loving September too. That trail you were on is so beautiful and serene. I’d like to teleport to it right now instead of driving to work. 🙂
    Hope you have a fantastic day!

    1. It did have the dense-ness of fudge and I even cut it like fudge!
      I am planning to make your 3 ingredient pumpkin cookies tonight! Thanks for making recipes that are delicious but also simple!

  3. I’m definitely more snackity at home… especially when I’m hanging out in the kitchen. All that yummy food just calling to me! Your pumpkin pancakes look awesome, gonna have to give them a try. I love September too… even in Philippines! 😉

  4. Man oh man I need to get myself some pumpkin pancakes. Or pumpkin anything for that matter. And that dinner… that looks like a strangely amazing combination actually. I think I’m going to have to give it a copy!

  5. This looks like my kind of way to eat, everything looked absolutely delicious! I love that pumpkin is coming back into our diets, weird how we only seem to get obsessed with it during the fall. I also have to agree with the snacking, especially if I’m home all day studying! My snacks always seem to get more and more complicated to make as the semester goes on, most probably for procrastination reasons… Oh well, snacking is great :).

    1. Somehow studying requires a steady stream of fuel! Our brains have to be well-nourished, right?
      I had the pleasure of having pumpkin year around, because my local grocery store put the cans of sell for 25 cent a piece at then end of February! I stocked up big time! Haha.

Leave a Reply

