Friday Night Nachos Recipe

Happy Labor day y’all! If you have the day off, I hope you’re getting some rest and relaxation. I’m planning on getting school work done, organizing myself, and doing some food prep. And of course hanging out with Terry!

So this past Friday I got home from interning at the long-term care facility and I was pooped. The first full week of classes took me for a wild ride- things are truly full speed ahead.

The prescription for a tiring, hard working week? Nachos!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

These were dang delicious! Out of compulsion and compassion, I am sharing the recipe with you at the end of this post.

Saturday was a family-filled day. Terry and I did a bit of traveling…

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetFirst stop, our church’s annual picnic. I enjoyed a plateful of sides and it was surprisingly satisfying! See that relish at the bottom right? It stole the show. My church family rocks. We had a great time sitting outside in the sun chatting.

unnamed (7)
Then we took the trip down to my parent’s house, where I got to see my sweet nephew. He’s in a real lovey-dovey stage and I just want to soak it all in!

unnamed (1)

The quality time with my parents was much appreciated and I wish I lived closer to them. I know I am where I am supposed to be right now, but I can’t help but want them closer! I think I’m going to frame this picture.

unnamed (5)After visiting with my parents, we got to see Terry’s mom and niece. This a true perk of marrying my high school sweetheart- our families live in the same area so we can see everyone in one trip! We stole my niece and took her and my nephew to our friend’s child’s birthday party.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

They had a blast.


Sunday evening we had an easy dinner of chicken sausage (spinach & feta variety) sauteed with spinach and sweet peppers with quick mashed potatoes on the side. To make the mashed potatoes, I boiled a few russet potatoes, poured a little unsweetened almond milk in, a dollop of Greek yogurt, about a tablespoon of olive oil, lots of salt, garlic powder, and paprika. Delish!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetAnd now… I must share with you this recipe for these nachos.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Turkey & Veggie Nachos

Ingredients:
~30 blue corn tortilla chips
1 cup shredded cheese (I used a mix of cheddar/mozzarella)
1/3 lb lean ground turkey
2 cups raw spinach, torn into smaller pieces by hand
1/2 small onion, chopped
1 tsp minced garlic (or one minced garlic clove)
1 cup raw sweet peppers, chopped
1 tsp chili powder
1 tbsp paprika
dash of salt/pepper
2 tsp oregano
Directions:
Preheat oven to 400ºF. Spread chips into a single layer on a baking sheet. Top with 3/4 of the cheese. Bake in oven for 5 minutes.
Throw the onion, peppers, and garlic in a large pan that is sprayed with non-stick spray. Sauté vegetables for a few minutes until soft. Add the turkey. Use spatula to break the turkey up (the more finely ground the more the meat can be spread)  and incorporate it with the vegetables. Add in spinach and spices and mix until well combined.
Spread turkey-veggie mixture evenly over chips. Top with the remaining cheese.
Bake for another 5 minutes then broil for an additional minute.
Serve with salsa & sour cream, as desired.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

DIG IN!

unnamed

How are you spending labor day?

What are you favorite nacho toppings?

22 thoughts on “Friday Night Nachos Recipe

  1. What a fun weekend! I’m glad you had so much family time. Times like that are good for the soul! Your niece and nephew are so cute. I bet they think you are the coolest aunt ever!
    Those nachos look delicious! I have never thought to add spinach to nachos before. Very creative!
    I hope you enjoy your Labor Day!

    1. I love them and it is especially fun when I can have them both together!
      We always have spinach on hand so I threw some in as an afterthought and really loved the flavor it gave.
      Enjoy the extra day with your hubby!

  2. Hahaha – favorite line: “Out of compulsion and compassion….” Nachos will always be one of my absolutely favorite meals. You can really do anything with them, they can be stocked full of veggies, and they are just soooo dang easy! The perfect meal. Your weekend sounds so lovely. My labour day sounds very similar to yours – homework, house cleaning, food prepping, organizing etc etc. Enjoy!!

    1. Hey, when it is good you just have to share! 😉
      So true about nachos- they can really be a semi-healthy meal. Not to mention they are super yummy and fun to eat!!
      Enjoy your extra day- it is truly a special gift.

  3. Sounds like a great weekend; quality time with family is always nice!
    Those nachos look so good! I need to use blue corn tortillas more; they’re fun. 🙂
    Our Labor Day was supposed to be spent relaxing, but now we’ve got a sick baby and are taking him to the doc. 😦

  4. I am seeeeriously craving nachos these days! My college town has a place that makes the best nachos and the portions are huge (the. best.) and I haven’t gotten my fix or the entire summer. And so glad you got to spend some time with the fam! My boyfriend of almost 5 years is my high school sweetheart as well and I never thought of that perk of having both families so close. Such a blessing!

  5. Oh man – yum! If/when I get a chance to make this I’ll sub black beans for the turkey but change nothing else. I’m spending the day getting ready for my first day of classes tomorrow! Hope you’ve been enjoying the long-term care facility despite the craziness.

    1. Thank you! I think the meat is what really ups the savory element here.I try to stretch our meat, so I’ve found that crumbling well the ground turkey really helps to make it more meat-y!

  6. YUM! Great recipe, Kate! My family and I used to make nachos on the weekend all the time. I think the last time I had a them was a random super bowl party years ago. I need to change that asap! I hope you had a fabulous day off and kick butt at school this week!

  7. Nachos! Yum. We do refried beans, cheese, black olives, tomatoes, jalopeno, and gotta have avocado and sour cream on top!
    I live in the same town and my parents and my in-laws – It makes holidays (and everydays) SO convenient.

    1. I love refried beans! I will have to try that for our next nacho night!
      It’s funny because when I was younger I didn’t think about being close to my parents, but now it is a huge factor in future living arrangements!

  8. Ah, yum. I love nachos. Most recently, my husband tried to make nachos in the oven with beanitos chips and they burned instantly… it was pretty sad haha. I need to get him more blue corn chips 😉 I’d have to say my favorite toppings are baked beans and sour cream. Yum!

Leave a Reply

