This weekend I + single serving oatmeal pancake

This weekend I…

…Made Kim’s Craving “Easy Peasy Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies“- that’s a mouthfull. I’ve made these cookies before, and once again I remembered exactly how irresistible they are. I used rolled oats instead of quick oats and only a 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips. I honestly don’t know if any more chips would’ve fit!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
…Attempted dark chocolate coins. I did a coconut oil / cocoa powder / stevia thing based off a recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie. Here is where I tell you I do not love these and I am wondering if I will make myself “enjoy” all 12 simply because I hate food waste.
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset…Walked the dog- or maybe I should say she walked me?
…Went on a double date with my good friend Kelly and her boyfriend. It is so good to hang with other couples our age!
…Put in some time at the gym. Getting to the gym on the weekends is hard for me. I go to my school’s gym on the week days no problem, but driving there just to go to the gym is harder. Yet, I know I will get a such better work out in than if I just “did something at home”.
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset…Went to church and then ate lunch at O’Charley’s with a very special family in our church. I had the California chicken salad. The salad was great (currently have a thing for blue cheese) and the company was better.
unnamed (17)….Food prepped- I am doing a post tomorrow on how food prep went last week. In short, I found that it was totally worth it. However, not having a dish washer is a huge drawback here. So many dishes.
unnamed (15)Watched our teens “take over” the Sunday night service. I am so proud of our youth group and I know my husband’s heart was beaming as his kids took turns leading worship- they sang, played instruments, performed a skit, and preached. Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset… Completed lots of homework… got to stay on top of things!
… Ate this delicious single serving oatmeal pancake. It is one of my very favorite go-to breakfasts thanks to its simplicity and its ability to keep me full. Mix together well 1 egg + 1 egg white + 1/3 cup rolled oats + lots of cinnamon. Cook on medium heat for ~2 minutes, flip it, cook for ~1 minute and wah-lah. Pancake.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Now, tell me-

What did you do this past weekend? Best thing you ate? Best thing you saw? Best thing you heard?

20 thoughts on “This weekend I + single serving oatmeal pancake

  1. Those cookies look amazing! I make coconut oil chocolate from time to time and it really is not the same as dark chocolate (it’s just not as good!). I hate waste too and would totally eat all 12 in order to not throw them away. Double dates are the best; John and I don’t get to have them very often but it is so fun to find another couple that you “mesh” with. That salad from O’Charley’s looks amazing!!!! I always love to hear the youth leading the music portion of the church service. Our youth group is so happy and enthusiastic and it is so fun to watch. I was on a single serving pancake kick for most of the winter – they are so good!! And food prep keeps me sane and keeps me from eating smoothies for every meal.
    I am glad you had such a good weekend!! I hope the rest of your Monday is wonderful!!

    1. They were dang good cookies!
      I agree, it is so hard to find a couple that we mesh with… after hanging with each other so long it is difficult to feel comfortable with others sometimes.

  2. I’ve made the same chocolate recipe and wondered if it was me. I didn’t love them either, but I ate the bar I made, because you know, chocolate. I will have to try your oatmeal pancake. YUM! Thanks for sharing.
    The best thing I ate was a sea of vegan queso and chips. mmm.

  3. I hate wasting food – I would remelt them down! Put half in an ice cube tray, plop in a teaspoon of sweetened PB or AB in, then cover with the rest of the “chocolate”. I didn’t dig coconut oil chocolate when I made, but I love these weird peanut butter cups!

  4. I totally need to try that oatmeal pancake. I need to write down some of these recipes because I always want to try one in the morning but am usually pressed for time so I don’t end up making what looks like one of the most delicious pancakes in the world! Haha.

  5. Hey, Kate! I’ve been reading your blog for a while and have never commented but I just wanted to let you know how much I love reading! I love that you keep your faith in God the center of your blog. Have you ever tried mashing a banana with 2 eggs and then cooking it as a pancake? Super yummy!

    1. This makes me so happy! Sometimes I worry that by being so outspoken about my faith, I turn a lot of people away. However, it is the most important part of my life, so I can’t help but allow it to pour over into my blogging. I am glad that you appreciate it!
      I have tried that pancake recipe. I like adding a tablespoon of ground flax or 2 tbsp of flour!

Leave a Reply

