Thoughts on the mountain

Friday was my last official weekday of summer before the school year began. I knew I wanted to spend it outdoors, since my day job and life as student hunched over the computer brings days of indoor lock downs.

We decided to go hiking at a nearby mountain. I fueled us up with spinach & gouda omelets and cantaloupe. Asiago cheese bagel for him, almond flour bread for me.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I tried my milk frother out for the first time. I love the foam, but am I supposed to heat the milk first? Or heat the whole drink after frothing? #QTA

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After a quick crisis of *where the heck are my wedding rings* we hit the road to Crowder’s Mountain State Park in Kings Mountain, NC. The beauty of living in the Carolinas- we’ve got the beach and the mountains in our backyard.

The hike is considered “strenuous”, 2.8 miles up and then back down. It took us a little under three hours to complete.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThis day out in the the wild was exactly what my soul needed. You see, lately I’ve been thinking a lot about the brevity of life. Maybe it’s watching too much House, MD on Netflix or maybe it’s hearing my dad say he is feeling “old”.
Nonetheless, my mind has been a little preoccupied thinking about life and death and how unpredictable it is. This sounds very depressing and if you’re like my husband you’ll probably say, “not going to talk about it.”
Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Yet I don’t mean to be a downer, because even if it is anxiety-provoking, I’ve noticed that thinking about it has affected the way I’ve been living lately.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

On this particular trip I thought about how amazing our God is- to give us not only life, but to give us mountains, a beautiful sky, family, and the little things like music and juicy grapes to refresh us after a long hike.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Lately, I’ve been wanting to linger a little more over telephone conversations with my family and friends, spend a little more time chatting with my husband before falling asleep. I’ve been listening a little more intently when a stranger decides to speak to me. I’ve been smiling when I briefly make I contact with someone across the room.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I’ve been whispering prayers as I go throughout my day, sometimes asking for peace and sometimes thanking God for His provision. My perspective has shifted from “ohmygoodness I need to get a dietetic internship” to “I’ll be alive and well either way.”

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetI soaked up every sweaty step as my husband and I ventured to the very top back down to the very bottom, tired and hungry.
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Lately I’ve been waking up with gratitude in my heart that I’ve been given the opportunity to live another day. I’ve been wanting to let people know how much love I have for them and how much the Creator cares for them.

Lately, I’ve been living a little more intentionally.

15 thoughts on “Thoughts on the mountain

  1. I don’t think you are being morbid or crazy for thinking about our fleeting presence here on earth. I think about that kind of stuff all the time and have since I was a kid. It does help to make us appreciate the beauty of the world around us and the wonderful people we get to share it with. I’m glad that you and your husband had such a wonderful day of hiking on your last day of “freedom” for a while. John and I used to go hiking all time before Matilda was born. I miss it!

    1. Soon enough your little Matilda will be trotting along right there with y’all.
      I guess some of us are just born “deep thinkers” and are destined to fall in periods of deep introspection. I’ve been like this since I was a kid also.

  2. I’m so glad you were able to enjoy a day out in the wild. It’s grounding to be with natureand a perfect time for contemplation. I’ve been having similar thoughts lately. Perhaps it’s the end of the season that brings them up. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Gosh I wish I lived closer to the mountains!
    I don’t think you’re being morbid or depressing at all. After my mom recently broke her ankle (badly), I started taking along the same lines. She’s fine but reality of her (& my) aging hit when I realized how tough her recovery is going to be.
    Regardless of motivation, we ALL need to live more intentionally. With a kid now, I’m trying to do this more!

  4. I love your blog! And great post. I often have those kinds of anxiety-provoking thoughts like “I need to do X, Y and, Z” and I feel like if I don’t complete these things, it’s going to be so terrible etc etc. But in reality, like you said, I’ll be alive and well either way. 🙂

  5. God is good. It’s not uncommon to go through times in your life with negative thoughts. But it does seem like you’ve crawled your way out & are living the life to the fullest that God has given you. Cherish these moments and like you already do – be grateful for what you do have ❤

    1. I hope you have a great school year. Let us focus on being present and soaking up all the new information. For some reason it seems like us RDs to be tend to be the anxious type!

Leave a Reply

