Low-FODMAP update + week highlights

TGIF, y’all. This week was filled with lots of relaxing. Lack of plans made for the perfect “rest” week before the madness of grad school begins!

I have some highlights to share with you from the week, but first I wanted to give you a quick update on my journey to heal my IBS-C.

Low-FODMAP update: I’ve reached a verdict regarding my low-FODMAP diet experience. My body feels much better when eating low-FODMAP style. I realized this after a day or two of eating more high-FODMAP foods, such as gluten, garlic, watermelon, and hummus. However, my chronic constipation did not significantly improve. Thus, the symptoms improved, but the condition remained. Therefore, I will continue to eat mostly low-FODMAP foods, but I will not be super strict about it (i.e. I will enjoy a bagel with cream cheese from time to time). I have not yet tried to eat beans/lentils or apples, because I know from past experience they don’t make me feel good. I’ve also continued to not chew gum, mostly because it was an addictive habit I am glad I broke. My body responds best to a diet rich in FODMAP-free proteins and fats along with low-FODMAP starches, fruits, and veggies.
I am not going to give up on curing my IBS-C. I am going to talk to my physician about possible options, including the possibility of having pelvic floor dysfunction.
From this experience I have learned that it so important to TAKE control of your own health. Don’t just stay suffering, work to find out what can help.

Now, onto some highlights from my week:

This past Tuesday we had some of the young adults in our church meet at our house for a meal and time to hang out. For dinner, I made a big salad, baked spaghetti, and garlic bread.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Terry was ecstatic when he saw that I would be using TWO blocks of cheeses for the baked spaghetti. I told him I wasn’t trying to save anyone’s life tonight. 😉 I did add a little spinach though, because I just can’t help myself.

unnamed (16)

It was quite beautiful once out of the oven. #cheeseloverforlife

unnamed (14)

Everyone seemed to really enjoy their dinner- which made my heart smile.

unnamed (12)

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

For dessert I made a family favorite, peach cobbler (thanks, Mom for the peaches!). Served a la mode.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

It was a fun night of joking around and sharing about our lives. The young adult crowd is one that gets forgotten about in churches often times, so we are trying to combat that by building community.

Other highlights from the week-

This oatmeal cooked in plain kefir.

unnamed (17)

The was surprisingly very yummy. I cooked 1/3 cup oats in 1 cup plain kefir, stirring until it reached a consistency I liked. I didn’t think about it til afterwards, but I totally killed all the helpful probiotics by cooking the kefir. Oops. At least it was still protein and calcium packed!

This flour-less brownie via Running With Spoons 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

It was my favorite kind of brownie: super chocolate-y and chewy. You know the kind of baked good that makes your mouth water as your chewing it? Yep, this is it.

Lunch date with my girlfriend, Kelly.
unnamed (19)I enjoyed a spicy tuna roll with miso soup while we chatted. She is in my grad program, and we both agree summer flew by a little too fast. However, we are both so ready to continue on the road of reaching our ultimate goal of becoming an RD.

This rainbow, because seeing a rainbow is always a blessing. Thank you God, for reminding me of the nearness of Your presence.
unnamed (20)

Finally, this is for all my fellow Parks and Rec fans. Please join me in laughter as you follow this link.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend- soak up every minute with the loves in your life.

Are you a Parks and Rec fan? If so, who was your favorite character?

What is your favorite meal to cook for a group? I’d love some ideas for future gatherings.

4 thoughts on “Low-FODMAP update + week highlights

  1. I LOVE Andy! Did you know that he was originally not supposed to be a recurring character, but after the first few episodes, they kept rewriting the script to keep him in it!
    Good for you for listening to your body and trying to find out what works best for you! There ARE certain foods that are totally worth some repercussions in my opinion, like chocolate frozen yogurt.
    I love that rainbow picture!

  2. I love parks and rec!! I never really gave it a chance before but my boyfriend and I started watching it on Netflix and now we are in the middle of the season 3. I adore April, probably because I wish I had even an eighth of the amount of carelessness as her!

Leave a Reply

