All my kitchen (WIAW)

Welp, here we are in the middle of the week- my last week of freedom before I return for my second year of graduate school. I am excited to get back to learning, but will miss the slower days of summer.

Today I present to you three at home meals that I may miss a little as life gets more hectic. I am still trying to convince Terry to tune up his cooking skills if he wants dinner before 8 pm. 😉

Thank you, Jenn for hosting WIAW!

Breakfast: two fried eggs, rice cakes, blob of peanut butter, and black coffee. Finished off by a piece of dark chocolate, obviously.

aug2s4
On this morning, I was heading to my internship at a long term care facility, so I made a quick breakfast to enjoy. I love fried eggs with runny yolks, but I’ve found I don’t really enjoy them unless I have something to absorb the yolk with, like bread or some other kind of carb. In this case, rice cakes.

Snack: pumpkin granola bar

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI don’t always snack in the morning, but I try to be prepared in order to prevent the hangry monster. Homemade granola bar to the rescue.

Lunch: leftover ground turkey (from our zucchini lasagna), side salad (spinach, tomatoes, feta, bell pepper, and dijon mustard) and blue corn tortilla chips

aug2sl

This is one of those times when staring into the fridge hoping for inspiration turned out delicious. I love have something warm and soupy-like to go along with a salad. It’s like dressing isn’t even necessary.

Snack: frozen grapes, homemade frappe, and un-pictured crackers

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Things like open bags of crackers and grapes are my kryptonite… I keep going back for just a “little more.”

Dinner: baked salmon with dill, baked potato with a bit of butter, and zucchini with tomatoes.

unnamedThis dinner was a “okay, I feel pretty fancy” dinner. I tried very hard this time to not over cook the salmon like I usually do. Alas, I think I missed the mark by less than a minute. Terry still liked it though!

Snack: plain kefir, blueberries, and half a warm pumpkin granola bar

aug2s
I love the way a warm baked good taste on a cold yogurt/kefir. This was enjoyed while watching House, MD. At the moment, we are nearing the end of season 7. I’ve enjoyed it- but I am starting to feel a little weighed down by all the heaviness… I’m thinking a sitcom is in order for our next Netflix pick.

There ya have it- a full day of eats. Now, you tell me-

What’s your favorite food to pair with runny yolks?

Do you have light-hearted recommendation for our next Netflix pick? 

21 thoughts on “All my kitchen (WIAW)

  1. I totally agree with you about the runny yolk needing SOMETHING to absorb it. It is really good over breakfast potatoes, by the way. We still haven’t watched House but my cousin keeps talking about how great it is. I am more the comedy type of person, especially at the end of the day.

  2. Mmmm those pumpkin granola bars look fabulous!
    I recommend Mindy Project or New Girl for light-hearted shows. Both make me cry of laughter!!

  3. Yum! Did you make those pumpkin granola bars? Those look delicious! And I love kefir – I have just been avoiding dairy recently. I know that it’s 99% lactose free, but it still kind of messes with my system. One day again!

    1. I am going to share the recipe for the bars soon! I just re-made them to make sure it wasn’t a luck thing, haha!
      I like the kefir b/c it is basically lactose-free (thus low-FODMAP), but I understand wanting to avoid it. Better safe than in pain later.

Leave a Reply

