Post-vacation eats (WIAW)

These eats are from Tuesday, my first day back from vacation. If you missed my Toledo recap, read about it here. Thanks for the link-up, Jenn and Meghan!

After eating lots of fries, buckeyes, potato chips, and cheese galore, I was ready to get some vegetables and other nutrient-dense foods inside of me! That’s the cool thing about our bodies- when you listen to them, they know what you need. I am so glad I enjoyed my vacation and ate what I wanted, but now I am back to craving wholesome goodness.

Luckily, my weekday daytime job is done for the summer and I’ll return once the school year starts again. I woke up at a leisurely 8:00 am and made breakfast for myself.

Breakfast: Pancake made from 1/2 a mashed banana, 2 eggs, and 2 tablespoon flax meal. Blob of peanut butter. Two cups black coffee.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I’ve found that there a lot of single serve pancake recipes out there and many of them are easy to modify. I used Fannetastic Food’s flourless pancake recipe and halved the banana and added more flax. The result was less sweet and more nutty, which I really liked.

Of course, breakfast was finished with a piece of 70% dark chocolate. This was from Aldi’s Moser Roth line. For $1.99, I’d say it was quite the deal!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Later in the morning I did some recipe testing for some pumpkin granola bars. Taste testing was necessary. I think they are a winner, so I will share the recipe sometime soon!

bfg

After an amazing Zumba work out, I came home and fixed some lunch for Terry and I.

Lunch: Huge salad consisting of iceberg, spinach, tomatoes, mini bell peppers, carrots, sprinkle of Parmesan cheese, and a big scoop of salmon salad.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

After lunch, I saw someone share a recipe for a homemade frappe, so I decided to whip up a version myself. In went 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 4 drops of vanilla extract, 1 tsp cocoa powder, 1 1/2 tsp instant coffee granules, stevia, and a big handful of ice.

bff

It was quite good! One of the reasons I am not a fan of Starbuck’s version is I think it tastes watered-down. For a coffee lover, that’s a no-no. My version had a very strong coffee flavor.

I had to go into work at 5:00 pm, so I ate a smaller dinner before going in.

Dinner: White cheddar rice pasta (from Aldi’s LiveGfree line, basically a knock-off Annie’s) with green beans, parsley, red pepper flakes, and Parmesan cheese.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

This dinner was sadly disappointing. I’ve had this pasta before and enjoyed it, but I think mixing in the green beans made the cheese sauce even more scarce.

At work I had another one of my pumpkin granola bars to hold me over until closing time.

Snack: Plain kefir, blueberries, and cornflakes. I missed my kefir while on vacation. I really do think it makes a difference in how I feel, gut-wise.

bf3It was a pretty awesome day of eats (minus dinner). Plus, finding blueberry pints on sale at BiLo for freaking $2.00 was really enough to make it a great day.

Happy Wednesday everyone! Enjoy every bite today 😀

How do you spice-up boxed mac n’ cheese?

Have you tried kefir? How do you enjoy it?

24 thoughts on “Post-vacation eats (WIAW)

    1. Tomato sauce… that sounds good! I don’t “love” mac n’ cheese, but it can be an easy go-to dinner for sure!
      The frappe was delish, but I had to eat with a spoon since I added so much ice.

  1. I’ve never tried kefir, but I’ve heard a lot about all of its digestive benefits! One of my friends buys pints of frozen kefir all of the time and really enjoys it since she can’t have ice cream!

    1. Well, I don’t know if I’d say it compares to ice cream (the holy grail of desserts), but I do really enjoy it as a snack at night! 😉 I never thought to freeze it, but I like the idea!

  2. I love that brand of dark chocolate at Aldi. Actually, I love Aldi in general! It is where I do most of my shopping. Did you know that they are owned by the same company as Trader Joes?
    I am sorry that you dinner was disappointing. At least there was a coffee frappe and pumpkin granola bars to make up for it!

    1. Aldi is my jam! I am in love with it. I wish we had a TJs closer, but it is always a special trip when I can go.
      The rest of day’s eats definitely made up for the lackluster dinner.

  3. I personally like kefir, but sometimes the tartness bothers me. I am not sure how I am supposed to eat/drink it exactly!
    Huge score on the blueberries- nothing beats finding berries on sale :)!

Leave a Reply

