Thoughts at week 3 of low-FODMAP eating

So it’s now been about 3 weeks since I started the low-FODMAP diet in hopes of healing my IBS-C. I shared a little about my experiences in this post. Here’s a little update:

PS: if the intricate details of digestion aren’t your thing, you might want to come back tomorrow. However, I am sharing this because I know so many others suffer from IBS and chronic constipation. Let’s normalize poop talk! 😉

How am I feeling? For the most part, lighter! Less full all the time. However, my period happened to fall in the middle of the three weeks and that put all progress to a stop, bringing all symptom improvements to a screeching halt. My “regularity” is sporadic, but apart from the week on my cycle, no long stretches without a bowel movement. Still, I wouldn’t say I feel “relieved.”

Positives: The gas/bloating have gone down quite a bit! It’s pretty awesome. I don’t feel “overly full” too often either. My energy has been good too.

Negatives: I’m still not “going” a normal amount. My hunger levels are pretty inconsistent- for example, I will be hungry but then a few chips will make me feel full. That’s frustrating.

How is the eating going? I’ve successfully cut out gluten, high-lactose dairy, legumes, high-FODMAP fruits/vegetables, honey, high fructose corn syrup, chewing gum and other sugar alcohols, and any intentional garlic/onion (I say intentional, because eating out makes that a little more difficult when it comes to how food is seasoned).

I’ve reintroduced beef into my diet after 7 years without and I haven’t suffered any ill effects from it. I’ve only actually had it 4 times in the past month, keeping with my once per week goal. Yet, I wonder if to see any benefits, I will need to consume it more? Overall, I have been eating a lot of more meat, because legumes are no longer an option (and protein is important!) Another reason I reintroduced beef is because I didn’t want to feel like I was on a restrictive diet if I didn’t have to.

unnamed (3)

The hardest aspect is portion control. Oats are approved, but only a 1/4 cup. Blueberries are approved, but only 20. This gets tricky and a little confusing. And sad because I could eat 100 blueberries (but I know that would make me ill.)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Eating out can be really difficult too, because the ingredients aren’t always available. Still, I don’t want to stress out too much about it, because stress is often a major contributor IBS symtpoms.

I think once I return to grad school in the fall the routine of life will make it easier to control my diet. Summer is so unpredictable and my work schedule can be random.

If you have any questions, I’d love to talk with you more about it. I am writing about my experience, because it’s blogs/updates like this that I was looking for when I began the journey. I’m still reading up on the best ways to handle the diet and trying to find an eating pattern that makes me feel my best.

Here are some resources I’ve appreciated:

Frequently Asked Low FODMAP Diet Questions

FODMAPs Basics

Still Backed Up? 5 Underlying Causes Of Constipation

Has changing your diet offered your true relief from your symptoms?

14 thoughts on “Thoughts at week 3 of low-FODMAP eating

  1. I did a (fairly miserable) low-FODMAP diet for 3-4 weeks last year in hopes it would help my IBS-C. It didn’t, but I am SO glad you’re seeing results. It’s not fun, it does feel restrictive, and the portion control feels ridiculous, but it’s so worth it if it makes you feel better!

    1. Aw, I am sorry it was a bad experience for you! Fortunately I haven’t felt too restricted, but eating out is very difficult. But I agree, if I can be regular it is so worth it!

  2. I follow a low FODMAP vegan diet (with the exception of eating lots of eggs). I noticed diary and a very significant effect on my Crohn’s as well as high carbohydrate meals. I switched to more sprouted grains bread and have cut out most excess sugar. I still consume honey as a sweetener, but am trying to decrease my daily intake. Great update and I’m so glad this is working for you!

    1. I salute you for dealing with Crohn’s- I know that is no joke! I’d think low-fodmap vegan style would be very hard! What do you do for your protein? (Sorry, I know that’s a vegetarian/vegan’s least favorite question). Prior to beginning the diet, I would eat a ton of beans/lentils in place of meat, but now those aren’t allowed. So now, eggs and meat it is. Thank you for sharing your experience!

      1. Haha no worries! I eggs in two of my meals. I do use a lot of protein supplements (vega protein mostly) and a lot of nuts. If you focus on including some source of protein in every meal I usually can intake about 50g a day which is more than enough for me! 🙂 and sometimes I just eat beans and deal with the consequences haha

      2. Thank you for this! I could totally eat eggs twice a day, sometimes I do. I may look into adding a protein supplement, because I do get tired of meat after a while!

  3. I was diagnosed with IBS-C a few years ago. I did so much research and became convinced that eating a lowFODMAP diet + eating more paleo would relieve my symptoms. Oh, boy was I ever wrong! I know this sounds crazy, but it made it so much worse for me!! Like I went from using the bathroom every few days to maybe once a week.
    What works best for me is similar to what Jaime mentioned above. I eat a mainly vegan diet with the exception of eggs and fish occasionally.
    I think you are doing an awesome job of trying to figure out what works best for you!

    1. Thank you for sharing your experience. Prior to beginning the diet I at very “healthy” with very little meat. I am trying to make big changes, because I want to see results! I prefer eating more vegan style, but I don’t think my body likes it as much. It’s crazy how differently our bodies respond to things.

  4. Oh my goodness I hear everything you’re saying about the low-FODMAP diet. It’s tough–really tough–and yes, the portion size thing drives me crazy! Also trying to eat out at restaurants : P I’m re-introducing things, but I find it’s super-slow going. For me it’s worth it–my IBS and constipation was a major reason I developed an eating disorder–but I don’t think it’s for everyone either. Hope you’re able to find something that works for you!

Leave a Reply

