Eat and experience (WIAW)

I am writing this on Monday evening and I am feeling at ease while also feeling slightly overfull. It was a good day of food and family. Following work, I came to spend the night with my parents who live a few towns away. I am very close to my family, so I love having the opportunity to hang out with them.

Now, on to the eats from the day. Like the day, they left me feeling satisfied. Check out other’s WIAWs here.

Breakfast: modified protein pancake (half mashed banana, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 tbsp flax meal), rice cake, and peanut butter. Washed down with iced cold water and black coffee x 2. I may have overcooked the pancake a tad.

unnamed (6) As always, followed by a squareΒ of Lindt 70% dark chocolate.unnamed (7) Mid-morning thirst quencher: Arizona Arnold Palmer (my husband is obsessed with these)

unnamed (10) Lunch: crock pot chicken and brown rice (an extremely easy recipe to come soon) and leftover tossed salad with dressing (1 tbsp Dijon mustard,Β  1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1 tsp olive oil). I was so dang hungry once it as time for lunch, my stomach felt like it was eating itself. Note to self: always pack a “just in case snack”.

unnamed (9) Snack: 2 rice cakes with mashed avocado and a sprinkle of salt. Garlic powder is so good on this, but garlic is a no-go on the low-FODMAP diet. One-fourth of an avocado is considered low-FODMAP, so that’s about what I used.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Dinner: Hamburger steak with provolone cheese, green beans, and collard greens. This is like, my parent’s dream come true. After 7+ years of not eating beef, they were very excited to know I was including it in my diet again.Β They associate my non-beef eating ways with my eating disorder years, even though I continued the practice post-recovery. Still, I think it was a small victory for them to see me eat beef. Oh, parents. πŸ˜‰

unnamed

I loved getting to see my family, including my sister, Leigh. My family is so special to me.

unnamed (1)
Snack: Frozen yogurt (strawberries n’ cream and chocolate) from TCBY. This was not low-FODMAP ,unfortunately. After dinner, fro yo was calling my name and I thought they might have a soy version, sinceΒ the TCBY near me does. When they didn’t, I found it too difficult to resist. Yogurt has never been something I’ve felt was a problem food, but we will see. Part of me is annoyed I interrupted the elimination phase, but another part enjoyed it too much to care.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Un-pictured: handful of blueberries before going to work and a handful of tortilla chips after work.

Overall, a great day of delicious food. A little lacking in the fruit department, but tomorrow is a new day to remember that. This day was a great reminder that food is a part of the experience of being with others and it should be enjoyed while taking it all in. Food isn’t just fuel, it’s an experience!

What’s a delicious thing you ate yesterday?

What’s a food you enjoy more when shared with others?

20 thoughts on “Eat and experience (WIAW)

  1. My husband used to love those Arnold Palmer beverages as well. Can’t recall the last time he had one though. Hmm.. now I’m wondering why? Haha!

    Best thing i had yesterday was my overnight oats. So good.

  2. I love going out to a big dinner and sharing appetizers and a bread basket! I tend to be possessive about my food, but when theres is plenty to go around its fun to eat with others:) I love TCBY- I used to go there all the time with my friends when I was in high school!

  3. I love that you have chocolate with breakfast! I always have to have chocolate in some form multiple times a day.
    I love that dinner (maybe minus the beef). It looks like a Southern feast! I think collards are seriously underrated.
    I hope the froyo didn’t hurt your tummy. It looked delicious!

    1. Oh, yeah- give me all the southern veggies! Eating beef is still weird for me, but I am coming around to it. Eating dark chocolate with breakfast is a tradition I started a few years ago and have proudly kept it going!

  4. What a great day of eats, especially the chocolate and avocado rice cakes! So smart. As for sharing food, pizza is one of those meals that’s always more fun with lots of people! It creates a party atmosphere no matter what the occasion.

Leave a Reply

