Too many random thoughts

Today I just have a handful of random thoughts to share. Thoughts that don’t necessarily deserve a whole post, but they’ve been going through my head. Luckily, this is perfect for Thinking Out Loud Thursday!

1. Have you ever read articles titled “the perfect skin care routine” or “my secret skin routine”? Confession: I have no “skin care” routine. Are girls supposed to have “skin care routines”? I wash my face and that’s pretty much it. Over the years I’ve used prescription creams for acne, and if it gets really bad I will use it again, but I am so bad about remembering to put it on.

2. I have no desire to run 10 miles or spend more than an hour in the gym. I like the release exercise gives me and the time to myself it provides. I do not, however, want my life to revolve around it. I am pretty good about exercising 5 times a week for 30-60 minutes, and I think I’m okay with that.

3. This photo made me laugh really hard!

pot

This photo is the epitomy of the comment section on any BuzzFeed article. Sometimes it seems like no one can let things be fun and everything must be criticized. I imagine being a columnist is rather exhausted.

4. My husband is way better at housework that I am. He has the ability of making our house look immaculate! I love him for that. He is always the sweetest for cleaning my car. Without him, my car may just be caked in mud.Β See how happy he looks washing my car?Β 

wash

5. I’ve recently discovered the surge of “pro-recovery” accounts on Instagram. Typically they belong to girls in their early teens posting pictures of their food and talking about where they are at mentally. Now, there are some that I think are super helpful and very positive. Most of them however, seem like a serious trigger zone and a community that encourages people to claim their eating disorder as their identity. Even though the message appears to be “let’s recover together” it seems more to me to be a “you guys understand, so I can stay here a little longer.” When I was younger and in the recovery stage, I tried to stay away from these types of things because they were SO triggering and only led to comparison. This is a bit of rant, but it is seriously concerning to me.

6. I never knew I could go so long without chewing gum.Β Because it contains sugar alcohols, it is on the “no” list for the low-FODMAP diet. Prior to beginning the diet, I was an avid chewer, like 4 pieces a day. I don’t necessarily miss it now that I am used to not chewing it, but it’s just so weird to see how easily I gave it up. By the way, I owe you a post on how the diet is going, so expect an update next week.

7. This week we our keeping my niece so that she can attend VBS (and because we love her) and I have to say, little kids are pretty strange. The things they say are enough to entertain me for ages. I just love picking her brain and having her follow me around.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

8. I had a day at the gym this past week where I felt really strong. I’ve been regularly weight lifting for about 3 months now and I am starting to see and feel the benefits even more so. Even if now one else notices, I do!

unnamed (11)

9. And lastly, let’s take a moment to consider why this deserved to be a sign. I guess we truly are *pinching pennies*.

unnamed (10)

It’s pretty incredible all the thoughts that go running through our heads. So tell me-

Do you have a skin care routine? If so, what am I missing out on?

Is your counterpart the better cleaner between the two of you?

What’s a random thought running through your head?

14 thoughts on “Too many random thoughts

  1. I so wish my husband was better at housecleaninig than me. I so do not enjoy it (and frankly do not enjoy cleaning up after him, something I haven’t missed for the 2 1/2 weeks he’s been away, although I do miss him).

    But my car would never be cleaned if he didn’t do it, either, and I am grateful for that. πŸ™‚

  2. πŸ˜† Omg that sale sign — dying. Maybe they’re hoping that people won’t read the fine print πŸ˜› And I’m honestly not sure about the whole skincare routine thing. I watch some YouTube videos of girls who are crazy into the complicated ones, but I honestly can’t be bothered. That and I feel like the more I mess with my face, the more upset with me it becomes. There’s beauty in simplicity πŸ™‚

  3. I am cracking up about that potato..that is hilarious and so true. People can find anything to be offensive! I have worked on my “skin care routine” for the past few years because my skin has been so bad. I finally have a good one- remove make up with mineral oil, wash face with CeraVe foaming, put on an AHA cream for exfoliation and then moisturize. I learned a lot by following Skin Care Addiction on reddit! Changed my face completely!

  4. Hahaha! I love the potato one and it is so true! Everything offends SOMEONE. And I also love that last one (is it from Aldi? Because our store had something similar last week).
    No skin care routine here- just soap and a wash cloth.

Leave a Reply

