Yes to chocolate (WIAW)

It’s Wednesday aka hump day aka we are halfway there! This week is vacation bible school at my church, so we are staying extra busy. I do my best to remember how much I loved VBS as a kid and it powers me through the evening.

This day of eats is from Monday. Mondays are usually good days, but I cannot deny the dragging feeling that comes along with them. Almost always I am craving chocolate and caffeine. Lately, there’s been an emphasis on the chocolate. No worries, this Monday I definitely filled my need for chocolate.

Thanks for the link-up, Jenn!

Breakfast: Coconut flour pancakes with peanut butter and coffee. I tried this recipe and really enjoyed them! The banana flavor was strong and they were very light and fluffy.

unnamed

Finished by a square of Lindt 70% chocolate. (Chocolate round 1)

unnamed (1)

Lunch: Egg salad (1 egg + 1 egg white, 2 tsp dijon, 1-2 tbsp mayo made with olive oil, 1/4 of chopped cucumber, plus dill/pepper), sea salt gluten free crackers, and an especially fragrant orange

unnamed (3)

Snack: pre-workout rice cake with sunbutter and 1/2 a banana (this was good, but cinnamon would’ve brought it over the top!)

unnamed (4)

Sips of this chocolate almond milk I saw on sale at Big Lots (love that store!). I kind of think it tastes like Yoo-hoo, a childhood favorite. (Chocolate round 2)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Blueberries after grocery shopping, I couldn’t resist digging into this pint.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Dinner: crockpot tomato and squash sauce with shredded mozzarella, rotisserie chicken from the freezer, and a baked Yukon potato.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I had some fresh tomatoes given to me from a family in my church and they were super duper ripe. I knew they wouldn’t last long, so I threw them and a small squash in the crockpot with a little bit of olive olive and spices and let them cook on low all day. When I got home I put all of it in the food processor to make a (low-FODMAP) sauce. Delicious.

Snack: Truffle date (chocolate round 3) + kefir with blueberries and cornflakes

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

unnamed (7)What’s a truffle date you may ask? It’s a date that’s planned after taking a trip to the Lindor store and acquiring 10 truffles in a variety of flavors. We decided to enjoy one together for the next five days. My favorite so far is the dark chocolate-orange, one of my all time favorite dessert combinations. I will be sad when these “dates” are over.

Overall, it was a yummy day of eats. I felt pretty tired throughout the day, so good fuel was necessary. You know what I mean?

Tell me-
Are you a chocolate lover? Will you choose chocolate over other desserts (like me!)?
Anyone else thinks chocolate almond milk kind of tastes like Yoo-hoo?

24 thoughts on “Yes to chocolate (WIAW)

  1. Light and fluffy pancakes is where it’s at! They look delicious! I’m not a huge chocolate fan – well unless were talking about any chocolate flavor Quest bar… or m&ms. Hmm.. maybe I am a chocolate fan after all? 🙂

  2. Chocolate will be my dessert of choice over cakes, cookies or the likes any day. Lately, I’ve been going through whole bars in no matter of time … it’s an expensive habit ;). And yay to finding a fellow Lindt fiend. I’m a picky chocolate eater hardly ever deviating from theirs. The red Lindor is the chocolate of my childhood because my grandma used to send me one on my birthday every year.

      1. Me, too. While never on sale in any stores over here, Lindt itself brings out bars at -25% price about once or twice a year. I’m stocking up BIG time whenever they do.

  3. so jealous at how cheap that chocolate bar and almond milk was!! its easily double the price here… sigh.
    i love myself some dark chocolate – milk chocolate almost NEVER enters my mouth if i can help it haha

    1. Haha! Dark chocolate is definitely king in my book. I found both of those things as at an overstock outlet, so those prices don’t reflect our prices here. They were steals!

  4. I feel like dark chocolate and caffeine are ALWAYS necessities! I love coconut flour pancakes- I will have to check out that recipe.

Leave a Reply

