Five Domestikated Dinners

Everyday at work, I look forward to coming home and cooking dinner for Terry and I. It’s my time to use my creativity to whip up something for us to enjoy. I love plating thing for us in away that is both appetizing and pretty. It’s my way of saying to Terry, “I appreciate you and your worth it.” It’s also my way of making healthy food have less of a negative connotation.

Oddly, oftentimes whenever I tell people I’m in grad school studying to become a dietitian, they say things like “your poor husband” or “I bet she makes you eat healthy all the time”. Little do they know that it’s not “poor husband” but “husband who gets to eat new things in new ways and he pretty much always loves it.” (Unless I make things to spicy, I’m slowly learning too add the chili powder just to my food!)

Thus, I want to share five of our dinners from the past week. The other two nights consisted of dining out and eating leftovers. I really enjoyed putting these together, so I think I will be sharing them more often. If you have any “must make” ideas, I’d love to hear them!

Monday: Squash baked and stuffed with salmon salad plus golden potatoes cut and baked as fries. The salmon salad was simply canned salmon mixed with dijon mustard, olive-oil based mayo, pepper/salt, and dill.

stuff sq

Tuesday: Turkey burgers with tomatoes, carrot fries, and gluten-free pasta salad. The pasta was made with 100% corn pasta tossed with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt/pepper, and paprika. I really love pasta salad warm.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Wednesday: LiveGfree white cheddar rice pasta plus a spinach salad with tomatoes, carrots, and a boiled egg (This was actually my favorite!). Terry and I agreed that the boiled egg was the perfect finishing touch.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Thursday: bell peppers (one yellow and one orange) stuffed with ground turkey, diced carrots, canned diced tomatoes, and topped with mozzarella cheese plus rice/quinoa blend (Terry’s favorite). I sauteed the turkey/tomatoes/carrot until the carrots were mostly soft. The rice/quinoa blend was seasoned with cumin, salt/pepper, and paprika.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Friday: Baked Paleo Chicken Tenders (recipe) and spinach salad with tomatoes, cucumbers, and diced carrots. I dressed my salad with dijon mustard and olive oil.

unnamed (1)

All of the dinners were low-FODMAP, however I am still not sure if I am getting the portion sizes right when it comes to vegetables. It’s definitely a learning process.

So you tell me:

What is your go to dinner?

9 thoughts on “Five Domestikated Dinners

  1. Wow! Every single one of these meals looks amazing. I’m really loving the variety in taste, colours, textures, and of course, nutrients! Your boiled egg on a salad is making me crave eggs… and salad! I have a {silly} question, though – how long do you bake your squash? Do you pop it back into the oven after adding the salmon salad?

    1. Thank you! That’s not a silly question at all. I’ve done it both ways. Honestly though, it takes a pretty long time in the oven to get to a place where we feel like it is soft enough. Now I cut in half and then microwave it (steam it) for about 6 minutes, fill it with stuffing, then place in the oven for about 5 minutes then on broil for about 1.

  2. I just looked at this post again – I know I already have – and you gave me inspiration for next week’s meal plan. 🙂 Salmon salad, salad with egg, and fries are on the menu! Thanks Kate.

Leave a Reply

